We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou to your Saves list
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.122 Liuhua Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510015, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #26 of 2,820 Hotels in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 1,373 Reviews
Salem, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at the China hotel for 10-days in August. We were traveling with two children and three adults and booked two rooms; one was a suite and the other a standard adjoining room. We splurged on the "executive privilege" package because or our with child status to make meals easier and are so glad we did.

Our family has higher than average customer service expectations and this hotel in every moment of our 10-day trip went above and beyond to exceed our expectations. From the bathroom attendants to the concierge, each and every staff person was phenomenal. I didn't want to go home because they made the travel so wonderful. If every Marriott were like this Marriott I would be a customer for life.

The location is also wonderful as its next to two of the most beautiful parks in the world and easy access to anything you would need to find in Guangzhou. I also felt the prices were extremely reasonable for the feeling of luxury you have while in this hotel. We also used the fitness center and pool which were also top notch. I just simply can't say enough good things! They took all the stress out of traveling in another country.

Room Tip: Spring for a suite - it's well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    720
    137
    26
    14
See reviews for
75
42
37
339
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

It might not be the newest hotel in GZ but since the refurb i think its the nicest. The rooms are fantastic and i usually get a room upgrade which is always nice. The exec lounge could do with a facelift but this property really scores high because of its staff, they are all fantastic. I have been visiting there for a while so its always nice to be welcomed personally.

Room Tip: High floor and studio 55 room type
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I stayed there a couple nights and we really liked it, the hotel is very classic and very nice their staff is friendly and the rooms are excellent, the prices is fair for what the hotel have and I will be bcd there in a couple weeks.

I recommend this place

Room Tip: Room in the north tower are great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio, texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Nice place, still back in the 80's but very good rooms, excellent service, nice bar area, prices a little too high at their bars and restaurants, huge hotel near a metro station, closed to expo center and shopping areas, hard to find good and affordable western food outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Bring a dictionary if you are going outside the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed there for a week. The location is really good, the metro station is just outside the hotel. The hotel itself is huge the room size is very nice. The hotel lobby has this smell if Chinese perfume either you will like it or hate it, but you will get used to it after couple of days. The Japanese resurant is amazing also the 7/11 store is quite convenient which is in the shops strip inside the hotel. The hotel stuff speak English but is more of Chinese English, so it's difficult sometimes to understand them. I think it's very good value for money, you would pay double the money and half the room size in Europe . I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Rooms are amazing. Probably the most comfortable bed I ever slept in. If you are staying make sure you choose room on executive floor, where you get free drinks and coffee all day and night. All the restaurants and bars in hotel are very good with professional staff and amazing cuisine.
Check the lounge bar with has fab jazz band and martinis.

Room Tip: Rooms on executive floor are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmen,
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed here for two nights. Upgraded to business suite room no 1469. I have nothing to add to the minimum requirements that count for me. Sleeping quality bed OK. Internet speed OK. Breakfast wide assorted western and asian. The only remark to the interior could be that is is somewhat outdated...but.. who cares? The hotel is very close to Yuexiu Park MRT station-Line 2. From this MRT station you can go explore the city: try to visit TV-tower (Chigang pagoda MRT-line3 station)., by taking line2-line8-line3; after visiting the Tower, take APM-line to opera APM-station, and explore beautifull scenery from there. As I found out later, you can also easy take MRT line 3 from the airport and switch to line 2 for reaching the hotel on arrival by plane.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou

Address: No.122 Liuhua Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510015, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#11 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#25 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#25 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#94 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 850
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, is one of Marriott International's flagship hotels in the Asia-Pacific region. The hotel enjoys a prime location in the heart of Guangzhou, with easy access to Pazhou CIEF Complex and Guangzhou East Railway Station by Metro, and only thirty-five minutes drive from Baiyun International Airport. It is the closest international five-star rated hotel to the new airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China Hotel Marriott
Marriott Guangzhou
Guangzhou Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.