We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CANTON FAIR WHICH HOTEL TO CHOOSE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oakwood Premier Guangzhou

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oakwood Premier Guangzhou to your Saves list
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.28 Tiyu East Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510620, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 2,830 Hotels in Guangzhou
french west indies
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“CANTON FAIR WHICH HOTEL TO CHOOSE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This time i'm writing my review pretty late (i've been traveling in october 2012) but it still can be helpful to all of you who don't know which hotel to choose in this big city called Guangzhou.

Positive Points: very clean, apartment suite style room (you have a kitchen and a washer and a dryer), next to TEE MALL and another one (forgot his name), you'll find plenty of stores and restaurant (with US chain burger king, pizza hut...), in one word the location is just perfect, you have a wonderful SPA (independent from the hotel but still inside the hotel), food is correct, the breakfast (complimentary) is pretty good, the staff is nice.

Negative Points: the cleaning lady come once per day and usually very late, the pool is not warmed (so pretty cold during the fall period), the staff is nice but could do some effort, the concierge don't help that much.

what you need to know:
the taxi don't speak a word of english and won't make any any effort to understand you (make the doorman of your hotel talked to him before you leave).
if you want to see the canton tower (equivalent to the eiffel tower for them) go directly to the brand new four seasons hotel in the city centre of guangzhou, they have a bay at the top floor with fantastic and uniq due of the city. they have as well a great italian restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane L, Manager at Oakwood Premier Guangzhou, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Mercedesk,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay with us during canton fair.

I am of course very happy to hear that you enjoyed our location,style of the apartment and our spa.

Since your stay, we have improved our breakfast buffet quality, selection and set-up and I am postive you will be impressed.

I am sorry to hear that the cleaning lady came too late , you found our pool not warm to your liking and our concierge team were not helpful. I have addressed this to the concerned area, and ensure this will not happen again.

Once again thank you for your feedback, without this feedback we are unable improve our product and service. I look forward to welcoming you back to Oakwood Premier Guangzhou in the near future.

Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    52
    15
    0
    2
See reviews for
43
18
7
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel after checking Trip Advisor. We were pleasantly surprised. These are actually fully furnished units. We were particularly impressed with the Manager and the catering manager who were always there to somehow greet us.
The Lobby staff were excellent and any problem was solved. In our case English was spoken. The Hotel was very good value for money.
Do not cut your stay short because Guangzhou has a lot to offer. There are many tourist places to visit and for a very comfortable stay this Hotel was excellent.
Well done to Management team and courteous staff

Room Tip: Close to lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane L, Manager at Oakwood Premier Guangzhou, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear RDicks,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback here regarding your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that the lobby staff provided excellent service and were able to solve any problems you encountered, I will pass this feedback back to the team.

I am particular happy that you recommend Guangzhou a city to visit and you had a very comfortable stay "this hotel was excellent"

So thanks again for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It's always good to know when we manage to create such experiences for our guests and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great hotel! We stayed in a studio apartment for 4 nights and wish it had been longer. The apartment is roomy with great showers, kitchen facilities, comfortable king size bed, great views, modern decor including a TV in the bathroom disguised as a mirror. Shane, the a/manager checked each day to ensure that our needs were being met; James, the chef always visited the dining table briefly to check that our meals were okay and many of the cheerful staff spoke English. The buffet breakfast was one of the best - food from many different cultutres - not to be missed. The wine list included well priced Australian wines and the meals were outstanding. Oscar was always at the front door with a huge smile to wish us a great day or welcome us back! Always leave the hotel with a taxi card with the destination written in Chinese. Could not fault the Oakwood Premier!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane L, Manager at Oakwood Premier Guangzhou, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear SusaninPerth,

Thank you for such an "amazing" review! I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts...and your pictures.

I am delighted to hear that our staff went the extra step on so many occasions. It really is one of our goals to achieve this level of service consistently, thank you for highlighting Oscar ( front door) and I will be sure to recognise this with him personally.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed our breakfast buffet saying " it was of the best", this is an area we have been focusing on to improve.

So I hope it wont be too long before we can welcome you back, In the meantime, thanks again for your glowing comments

Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Asssitant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Oakwood was the best hotel I have stayed in Guangzhou. I booked a 2 br room with kitchen facilities - perfect for a family wanting to visit GZ for several days or longer. The staff were excellent and I could not fault the facilities including a steamroom in the bathroom! My new preferred choice when in GZ. Soft beds which was a bonus!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane L, Manager at Oakwood Premier Guangzhou, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear GlennK550,

What a wonderful review to share...thank you!

Its great to hear that you found Oakwood the best hotel you have stayed in Guangzhou and is now your preferred choice.

I am particulary delighted to read your postive feedback on the staff, finding them " Excellent" and you could not fault the facilities including the steamroom in the bathroom which you took advantange off.

Thanks again for sharing your feedback and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Warm wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here for a night with a group of friends. Helpful staff and relaxing environment. Despite being massive, this hotel has a boutique feel with quirky sculpture throughout. The pool and fitness facilities are fantastic. 35th floor offered the best views of Guangzhou you could possibly ask for. The apartment style rooms were fully kitted out, with everything including the kitchen sink. Awesome staff, great location, fully recommended. Was sad to be getting on the bus home. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Coffee in the lobby is highly recommended!
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane L, Manager at Oakwood Premier Guangzhou, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear PhilStorm,

Thank you for your "Fantastic" review I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts.

I am delighted to hear our staff were "awesome" you liked our location , will recommend the property and be back.

Its great to see you that you enjoyed everything from the views of Guangzhou from your apartment to the pool and fitness facilities.

So thank you again for your review. I certainly hope we will welcome you back in the future and hope to hear from you then.

Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great deal for the price you pay. Will stay there again in the future. The apartments are roomy and have great natural light, all the staff i've talked to could speak English, the breakfast buffet was really good. The apartments are fully equipped so if you plan on a long stay, you will feel at home. I stayed in a single bedroom but the two bedroom apartment are great also. Definitely a must in GZ!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane L, Manager at Oakwood Premier Guangzhou, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Vask0nian,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Guangzhou and for taking the time to share your comments with us and fellow travelers.

I am delighted to hear that you found our rooms spacious, well equipped and with natural light. Over the last month our new Executive Chef has been working on improving our quality and presentation of our brekfast buffet, therefore I am very happy to hear your postive comment on our breakfast.

Thank you for your postive feedback and great to hear you would return in the future.

Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our first time staying at this hotel and we will certainly be back!

We were a group of around 30 staying for a Saturday night Jan 2013. Not 1 complaint from anyone. From the free tea and coffee in the lobby, easy and hassle free check-in and out, to personally for me one of the best Asian Hotel breakfast buffet's I have had, all great and exceeding our expectations.

The rooms are all fitted to the highest standard and a lot of our group were talking about how good the rain showers were when we all met in the hotel bar.

Shane Langdon the manager at the hotel made a personal effort to make us all feel very welcome and really helped us out on our weekend in the city.

A true 5* experience and would recommend as your first choice on any trip to Guangzhou!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane L, Manager at Oakwood Premier Guangzhou, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Dave,

What a wonderful review to share...thank you!.

I am delighted to hear that you " Couldn't have asked for more" and it was pleasure to welcome and to provide personal assistance to your group.

I am very happy to hear that you loved the rooms, breakfast buffet and the easy hassle free check in and check out.

Again, thank you for sharing your feedback, It was great to hear that you would recommend our property as your first choice on any trip to Guangzhou.Please reach out to me direclty if you require any future hotel resevervation.

Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon
Exectutive Assistant Manager
shane.langdon@oakwoodasia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Oakwood Premier Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Premier Guangzhou

Address: No.28 Tiyu East Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510620, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 2,830 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oakwood Premier Guangzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Tianhe Commercial Business District and adjacent to the Pearl River New City CBD, Oakwood Premier Guangzhou, the first Oakwood Premier brand in China is 40-minutes ride from th Baiyun International Airport and an easy access to the East Railway Station which provides express train service to Hong Kong.Oakwood Premier Guangzhou offers 225 bright and spacious apartments ranging from Studio to one, two, three and four bedroom units. All of our apartments are elegantly furnished and fully equipped with linen and kitchenware. You can simply move in and start living in luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Oakwood Premier Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakwood Premier Guangzhou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.