We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PengMan Apartment (j.living)

PengMan Apartment (j.living)
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added PengMan Apartment (j.living) to your Saves list
PengMan Apartment (j.living)
4.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   Room1512. J.living D building, No.16 Xiancun Road,Guangzhou Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510623, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #925 of 2,830 Hotels in Guangzhou
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The rooms are really good and clean but the staff is bit unfriendly. Being a hotel apartment one expects tea and spoons in the room, but they were absent, had to remind the reception everyday.
What i liked about this place is the location, 5 mins walking distance from 24 supermarkets, subways, a couple of pubs and multicultural restaurants. Also a 10 min cab ride to the canton fair complex.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
2
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The location of this apartment is prefer for both business and leisure stay, as the room is big and equip with cooking facilities. You can easier find the restaurants any time of the day till midnight. And there are many pubs nearby which you can enjoy your food and beer at the same time. It not difficult to get a taxi and the Leide MRT station just about 8 to 10 mins walk from the apartment (turn left, walk straight for 5 mins cross the traffic light, and you are 3 mins away from the station). If possible try using MTR instead of take the taxi as the traffic jam in the city was horrible especially during at the peak hour, a 10 mins journey you may you end-up with1 hour!
Most of the staff are friendly and helpful but some of them are inexperience which may upset you on your request; for example you may find very difficult to request the staff to open your room if you forgot to bring you key with you when you left the room.
The apartment do not provide room service for food but the staff can assist you to call for food delivery.
In short I don't mind to stay here again on my next trip to Guangzhou!

Room Tip: Request for room with nicer night seem instead of facing the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

PengMan Apartment (j.living) is Excellent for stay when ever if in Guangzhou are Many 1.Walking distance from Lei do Metro station, 2.This place is Away from crowds 3. posh Area 4.assessable All means of transport such as Taxi, Metro & Bus etc. This Property is Excellent for Stay for any kind of persons & purpose of stay just go and stay and enjoy your stay

Room Tip: where Ever is is Good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Based on the reviews I read here, I booked the aprtmnt for 5 nites.
It's location is fantastic, right in downtown, new area of Gz, hence the surrounding are hi rise buildings still under construction, if u dont mind drilling and other sounds at 3am in the morning.
Metro station Leide is 2 blocks away 5-8 minutes walk. I can see IFC tower changing nite lights from my window. Ah yes, the bed is abit hard ( cheap?), good n bad for the tired body.

This is NOT a hotel in the normal sense, w a lobby and swimming pool. Its justs an aprtment buikding leased out to 3-4 different operators ( the room next to mine is by a different operator). The lobby is at 23rd floor, my room at 19th. Your breakfast every morning is delivered to the door, buts its only coffee n egg sandwich from MacDonalds. You cant call the Reception, theres no inhouse phone, u call them thro yr cellphone.

The rate was abit pricey, but cooking facilities and wash machine r all there for us. We cooked our meals. I had to call them twice to teach me how to use the TV and microwave was added after my request.
I guess overall value is okay but if ever i come to Gz again, i might wanna try a different hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Pengman Apartment was very well located especially for my trip where my plan was to visit places like Canton Tower, Chim long International Circus and a trip to Jiangmen departing by train from Guangdong East Railway Station.

Had no problem looking for the apartment especially after I read all the reviews from all previous holiday goers who gave their feedback here. I have decided to include the pictures I have taken at the entrance of the apartment to help others who may like to reside here.

Besides its location, the staff Ms Micky was cheerful, polite and helpful in ensuring my prior requests for high floor and good facing were all met. The room was relatively clean.. I spent 3 nites with my family at Pengman and we rested well as the beds and pillow were just right for me.

Wifi Internet n. Cable TV was also available in the room, I was glad that we managed to catch the Champions League match betwn Man U and Real Madrid during the trip.

Cleaniness on the marble and parquet flooring can be improved. However, was not a major issue as slippers were provided and the the room was cleaned daily.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Pengman apartments are a good value for the money but as other reviews have stated, it is rather hard to find the apartment building itself. Cab drivers won't be able to find it easily. What this "hotel" is, is simply a number of apartments that this company has purchased and rents out. Your apartment will be next to regular residents and other guests of the hotel. Currently the reception desk is located in room 2306 and while the staff is helpful, this is not a hotel experience.

My room was perfectly clean so I'm not sure if they have improved that since the previous reviews, and the kitchen was stocked with some cutlery and a frying pan as well as a pot for boiling water.

The internet is barely usable for anything other than checking email. When my girlfriend asked the staff about this, they shrugged and complained about their wifi in the office. Our television set stopped working half-way through our stay.

The location is very convenient to the Metro (about a city-block away) and is walking distance from Zhujiang New Town - a very modern, and interesting part of Guangzhou. Currently there is a great deal of construction happening in the neighborhood but this did not interfere with sleeping. If you are a very light sleeper, you might want to wait about a six months until the new construction is finished. The bed is VERY hard - standard fare for Chinese but for westerners, be forewarned.

The hot water heater is located above the frig and you have to reset it after you take a shower - I am told this is standard in a Chinese apartment but for a hotel guest it is a bit irregular. Took us about two days to realize what was going on.

Lastly, if you don't speak Chinese this will be a tough place to stay. My girlfriend is a Chinese national so she was able to do all the talking. I would have been at a loss. Overall, I think this is a good choice for Chinese people staying in Guangzhou. As an American, I will likely choose a more conventional hotel next time. I highly recommend the location, however.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

i stayed dec/2011 for a night.
when i made the reservation, i expected a WOW 5star apartment experience and do cooking some dishes. but my expectation was crushed when i came to entrance of the building, i could not cook dishes because few cookware.
i do NOT recommend you to stay here, quality of the hotel is equal to 3 star hotel or below.
really dirty, and inconvenient for transportation, eating, everything.

room;
spacious. there are 2rooms+kitchen+bathroom, maybe 40+ sq. meter.
that's the only one positive thing.
really dusty room, i got a sore throat in a few hours after into the room.
useless free wifi, i confirmed the password with a receptionist again and again, but i could not log in.
bed was so hard, linen was dusty as well as room.

bathroom;
quite normal, nothing special.
amenities are available.

reception;
reception of the hotel is located another floor of the apartment, it was not like a reception, just like a warehouse.
two girls supported my checkin. they were helpful. but you may be required to speak chinese to communicate with them. (i didnt communicate in english)

location;
there are nothing around here, distanced from station, no one know this hotel. if you need to come here by taxi, say "Zhu mei la gong yu (jumeila apartment)" and say street name to a taxi driver.
plus, no any signs outside, be aware.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to PengMan Apartment (j.living)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PengMan Apartment (j.living)

Address: Room1512. J.living D building, No.16 Xiancun Road,Guangzhou Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510623, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #925 of 2,830 Hotels in Guangzhou
Hotel Class:4 star — PengMan Apartment (j.living) 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your PengMan Apartment (j.living) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PengMan Apartment (j.living), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.