We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for business or leisure traveller” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yingcheng Hotel Guangzhou Vili International Apartment

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Yingcheng Hotel Guangzhou Vili International Apartment to your Saves list
Yingcheng Hotel Guangzhou Vili International Apartment
Room1702 Vili International Apartment, No.167 Linhe West Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 233000, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #497 of 2,830 Hotels in Guangzhou
Pune
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Hotel for business or leisure traveller”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The best thing is location. Take exit no 7 from Guangzhou east railway station and just cross the road to enter the hotel lobby. This station is connected with direct train to Hong Kong. Metro Line 1 & 3 is 2 minutes walk from the hotel. Room tariff is affordable. Value for money. Rooms are clean and well maintained. AC is chilling. Rooms have desktop computer with free internet. Wifi free and has good speed. Bathrooms are clean and spacious. Lot of food joints and cafes at walking distance. Bank ATM and Currency exchange just in the adjacent building. Hotel staff polite and helpful. Room service and house keeping excellent. I definitely recommend this hotel for stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
1
1
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio De Janeiro
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I go to Guangzhou twice a year, always for the same hotel, but now wanted to try something new and different location. Villi Hotel has a good location accross the train station and close to MTR.

Problems started at check in. I booked one executive room non-smoking. They sent me to a smoking room. That's after flying 30 hours from home to China. Nobody in the reception understand a word in English, only the manager Mrs. May who can speak a little. She offered a non-smoking but standard room, cheaper and worse than the one I booked and paid. After almost one hour, my executive room non-smoking appeared from nothing.

The room itself is ok, 4 star standard. The next morning, due to the jet lag I woke up at 5 in the morning and waited until 6 to go to gym. Surprise!!! Fitness center opens at 10:00!!! It took me 15 minutes to understand that, as in the morning shift nobody speaks a word of English either. Considering that 99% of travellers to Guangzhou are there for business, a fitness center that opens at 10 is a waist!

Breakfast is Ok, Chinese hotel standard. Lobby looks like an office building entrance, as it's a two in one building. No sitting areas for a coffee or something.

Check out: Chaos again. We left our luggage at the concierge room in the morning, as we went to the Canton Fair. Coming back at 6PM to take the 7:20PM train to HK, it took them 35 minutes to bring our luggages.

End of story: If you find a similar rate in another hotel, don't think twice. Run away from Villi. I don't undestand how hotel owners spend so much money in their enterprise but don't invest at all in staff training.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

First class hotel, no complaints. The room was first quality. I did not check out the fitness center. The building has offices in the side of the building facing the railway station, the hotel rooms are on the other side, so walking from the registration desk, you get to the office elevators first, keep walking to the back of the building for the hotel elevators.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel during the trade fair period which is usually a high season and the rates at that time more than triples. We paid 1380 RMB per night which is still value for money compared to other hotels offering at the same period.
The is facing east railway station exit which is very convenient for travellers coming from Hong Kong or other cities in China. The metro station is 20m away connecting you to various lines.
Across the street there is a huge commercial center which hosts a hypermarket calked Jusco in addition to a variety of international outlets and fast food chains.
The rooms are spacious, comfortable and well furnished.
The housekeeping service is excellent as they make up the rooms twice a day and are ready to for any demands.
The higher the rooms the better the view as there are two old buildings on the side. Room numbers ending with 01 to 09 have the best views.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson AZ
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

As others have mentioned, it is extremely well located. As someone who travels extensively, I can only surmise that the negative reviews were from when the hotel first opened and, perhaps, the staff was not well trained. My stay was very nice, the staff were very accommodating and the stay was pleasant.

The room itself was very well appointed with what are, for many Asian hotels, luxury items. The bathroom (see pictures) has a full compliment of personal items nicely laid out and even has a scale. It also had a 3-D picture of a bunny, a very Asian touch. Bunny picture aside, the bathroom was very comfortable. The shower is glass enclosed and, of course, there is a privacy screen to pull down if someone is sharing your room.

The room has a hospitality setup of teapot and teas and a full mini bar (reasonably priced). It also has other personal items for sale on the mini bar. The cups and utensils were clean and nicely stored. The closet had a safe and 2 robes for your comfort.

The lobby areas were very nice. I am not certain if the floor which I was on was special but there was a nice sitting area outside of my room (see picture) and the waiting area by the elevators were also comfortable and neat.

Breakfast was a full Asian and western affair, with a chef making omelets. Besides the relatively small western breakfast selection (cereals, toasts, yogurt, etc.) there were at least 8 steam trays of Chinese foods including noodle dishes, vegetable dishes and congee (porridge). As in most Chinese hotels, breakfast foods are more typical of a western lunch or dinner. You won't leave hungry.

The room itself was large, the beds were comfortable and the desk / work area was ample.

About the only issue I had was the the wi-fi did not work in my room, it did work in the room of my colleague, just one door down from me. It was not that important to me so I cannot tell you how they would have resolved it, as I did not complain.

The room rates, as listed are 1080 RMB (currently about $171 US) 1280 RMB for a business room (currently about $200 US) up to 2380 RMB ($377) for a Deluxe Suite (with 3 options in between) and the VILI suite for 6800 RMB, over $1,000. I'm not sure what that is but given what I got for what I paid, I can only guess it would be amazing.

However, my Chinese colleague who arranged for this room got us 2 business rooms for 800 RMB total! That is $126 US for 2 rooms, or about $63 / night per room. As you can see by the attached pictures, that is quite a good value. Note that their rate card says "All rates not valid during trade fair period, April 14 - May 5 and October 14 - November 5. We stayed just before the October trade fair period.

They also accept all major credit cards including American Express which is also not common in many Chinese hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for business with another colleague and found the location very convenient. The hotel room itself and lobby is very decent, the hallway is kind of strange since there is little lightning and the hotel is shared with some office complex. The beds are super hard but overall the place was quiet and spacious. For $400 hkd a night during exhibitions, I think it's a steal.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Located accross the road from Guangzhou East Railway Station is convenient to get around. The hotel has rooms through the hotel or apartments to lease independently, which we used. The cost was less than $40 AUD a night. The water pressure in the shower was not very strong and the bed was very hard. Good value for longer stays as the apartment is fully furnished with microwave, washing machine etc. I'm a fussy sleeper so would not stay again as it was like sleeping on an ironing board.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yingcheng Hotel Guangzhou Vili International Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yingcheng Hotel Guangzhou Vili International Apartment

Address: Room1702 Vili International Apartment, No.167 Linhe West Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 233000, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #497 of 2,830 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Yingcheng Hotel Guangzhou Vili International Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yingcheng Hotel Guangzhou Vili International Apartment, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.