We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing rooms, amazing location...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe to your Saves list
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.228 Tianhe Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #16 of 2,820 Hotels in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 stars 178 Reviews
Gandhidham, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Amazing rooms, amazing location...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights during canton fair... The hotel is above a shopping mall and all around you is just shopping and shopping.... There are more than 4-5 malls on walking distance... Hotel provides shuttle service for canton fair and most staff speaks English... Breakfast is good and good restaurants near by... Worth staying.

Room Tip: Rooms on highest floor have good city view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    65
    19
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
16
8
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed one night at Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe on 22 March 2014.

The Hotel is less than 5 minutes’ walk from the Sport Road West Metro Station. That metro station is only two stops from the Guangzhou East Railway Station. Adjacent to the Hotel are two big shopping malls, the Grand View Mall and the Tee Mall, where there are many shops and restaurants. There were plenty of taxis waiting at the front of the Hotel. This Hotel (and the nearby Sheraton) enjoys the most convenient hotel location in Guangzhou.

The reception staff checking me in asked me to wait a few minutes because the room was not ready (despite the fact that I arrived at the Hotel at about 5:00 p.m.). That was not a problem but I did feel strange that that reception staff had to go up to the room himself to find out whether it was ready before he could release the room key card to me.

I mentioned in my J.W. Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square review that its lobby was noisy and crowded. It seems that this Hotel has the same problem. The Hotel room was, however, clean, quiet and the bed comfortable. There were two bottles of drinking water in the room but I was not sure whether they were complimentary. In any event the two bottles looked like they were there for a long time so I did not bother to open them.

I had the buffet dinner and breakfast at the City Bistro in the Hotel. It was a very busy restaurant in the evening, so make sure you have reserved a table. While the choice of food and the quality of them was good (much better than many other hotels in China), it seemed that the restaurant staff may require more training because some of them looked inexperienced. This Hotel is in the heart of one of the biggest cities in China, the guests would certainly expect a higher level of service be provided.

I mentioned the aforesaid staff issue in the hotel survey and received a mail from the Hotel manager thereafter, promising that he will look into the matter. I really appreciate the management’s response as it showed that they did read the survey and care to improve.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The location is very convenient and easy to get to the airport. The hotel is in good condition, and the staff there were very polite and friendly. I sometimes felt that the hotel was a bit impersonal though but it was busy so maybe everyone was stress. Breakfast was very good as expected, but I agree with another reviewer that said the buffet was a bit disappointing. It wasn't bad but given the price, I expected a bit more. Overall though a good location and very nice hotel to stay at in Guangzhou.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Were there for 3 days of business trip .. had initial hiccups in check-in and subsequent room change and was told some misleading information too...

The good points first: the location was excellent.. right in the center of the shopping street of Tianhe road. Room was fantastic, clean and modern. Breakfast quality can be improved but evening food at executive lounge was very good. We've made use of the business meeting room too, which was very nice and comfortable as well.

The hiccup now: Be warn... below is a long paragraph of the hiccup.. but I would like to compliment both Julie Zhang for taking the initiative for informing the duty manager Sam Xu and Sam Xu for promptly apologising for the hiccup when he came to look for us in the executive lounge. He was at least honest to clarify that the room given was a deluxe room and not the executive rooms as those rooms are full and charge us only the deluxe room rate. If not for Julie Zhang for her initiative in informing Sam and Sam immediate action to get us a new set of room cards (and he mentioned he personally check them to make sure it has the right room, wifi access and executive lounge access) and came to us personally to clarify and apologise, I will probably give this hotel a 3 star rating for such absurd hiccups.

The hiccups happen during our check-in, my colleague and me were supposed to be checked into executive rooms but were told there were full. Thus we were given deluxe room but still with breakfast and executive lounge access. We were told we can change to the executive rooms the next day and all we need to do were to leave our luggage packed and inform the front desk when we leave for work the next morning. Next morning, I did that and inform the front desk about my colleague name so that her room can get changed as well. However, the front desk took a pretty long time to check their system and the front desk woman was giving me an "are you sure?" look. Anyway I left my card and left. When we came back to the hotel during noon time, we headed to the lounge and told the front desk to send the keys to us. The keys took quite a long while to reach us and I clearly told the person who sent the key to me to make sure they have given me the right keys and switched the right luggage (and not get mixed up with my colleague's room & luggage). We head out to work again and came back in the evening. To my disappointment, the room key was wrong! I have to head down to the front desk to get them to change.. when I head back up again, the luggage in the room was wrong! So I headed down as I wanted to pass my colleague luggage to them (as I have no idea of my colleague's room number). After I pass the luggage to them and told them the hiccup, they mentioned they will promptly switch the luggage and send it up. I waited for more then 20minutes and luggage still did not appear!! So I called the front desk to enquire and they seem confused, anyway I decided to head for the lounge... only to my disappointment that the card didn't allow me lounge access! I have to head to the front desk again!! I've not mentioned the wifi access was not enabled and I have to key my previous night room number to get through. When I headed down to the front desk, I saw my luggage there waiting and I have to tell them that's mine! To make matter worst, the room that was given was on the 10th floor, clearly not the executive rooms on the 19-21 floor (as indicated in the lift), but the front desk insist these are executive rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and it was good. I regularly stayed in nearby sheraton tianhe and now I probably will switch here due to better overall experience.
The location is just next to a big shopping mall. The service from reception to waitress at restaurant was excellent.
We dined every morning and buffet at city bistro during our stay. The buffet was nothing to shout about,it just okay in terms of food quality and varieties.
The indoor pool and facilities were top notch.
Things to improve are :
*Shower pressure was weak (room 1415) or may be all rooms were the same
*Beds were too soft and not really top quality beds were used (its pity because otherwise Marriott Tianhe is a perfect hotel in GZ )
*More Pillow menu and higher quality pillows will be good because their neck supporting pillow were not as good quality as the one offered in sheraton dongguan i stayed earlier ( We are in interior and mattrass industry so we know the quality for these items )
If above 3 issues can be sorted,then I woould give full 5 stars rating on the stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

As a Hyatt Diamond member I was pleasantly surprised by the top notch product and service I received from Marriott GZ Tian He.

Centralized downtown location, easy access to the airport, ample space and new accommodations make this a great value.

Service was superb. Everyone from maintenance to GM was gracious, friendly and smiling. Staff was top notch.

The property was very clean, rich and modern. Nearby construction could be heard from my 20th floor, yet if a/c was on it would drown out the noise. Pool area was fantastic.

Executive lounge was spacious, well staffed by Mia, Henry and all. The team was excellent. Top tier service.

Food was great, well prepared and inviting to most tastes. Well balanced western and Asian tastes.

I highly recommend one stay here when in the GZ Area.


Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 5 days on business and am pleased as this was my first time in Guangzhou. The hotel is quite new and clean. It is centrally located and is close to major shopping centres, transport and restaurants.Staff are very helpful and gym and pool facilities are great. Breakfast offers a variety and i especially like the omelette section where you can choose your ingredients and they make it for you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe

Address: No.228 Tianhe Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 2,820 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe 4.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Marriott, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.