We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful indoor pool. Perfect for Winter.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe to your Saves list
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.228 Tianhe Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #16 of 2,821 Hotels in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 stars 179 Reviews
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful indoor pool. Perfect for Winter.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Hotel sent a nice person to meet us at Guangzhou East Train Station. Hotel location is right in the middle of action. Hugh shopping mall adjacent to hotel with good choice of food and shops. Surrounding night market adds character to the environment. Very professional staff. Busy lobby on 5/F.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alex l, Manager at Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Warm greetings from Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe !
Thank you for your valuable time in providing such valuable comments

Please allow me to extend my sincerest appreciation for choosing Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe for your recent trip to Guangzhou.
Hope you will choose Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe next time.

Sincerely,
Alex Liang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    66
    19
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
17
8
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

During my Guangzhou visit, i got a chance to stay only one day in this hotel. This hotel is in the Center of the city, lot of malls, lot of show rooms, you can enjoy the real Guangzhou city from here....

Good rooms, specially the Lobby is great,

Book the complimentary breakfast..its nice... lot of options...

I didn't spent much time in the hotel, So can't say much about the services. For safer side just call the hotel before you reaching there, Sometimes rooms are not free, and you have to wait there ...

Room Tip: Book the rooms facing towards the city and the highway, in the night the city looks amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alex l, Manager at Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Warm greetings from Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe !
Thank you for your valuable time in providing such valuable comments to us upon your check-out.
Please allow me to extend my sincerest appreciation for choosing Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe for your recent trip to Guangzhou.

Hope you will choose Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe again.

Sincerely,
Alex Liang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Bordered between a 4 to 5 stars standard. The physical property starting to date but still well maintained, clean and fully functional. The location is excellent for those who need to visit the Tian He area. The category that needs the most attention was the service team. It was a mixed of few outstanding service professional with largely not too competent team members. A dinner at Man Ho restaurant was an organizing disaster, There was a large service team at hand, however, service was slow and disjointed. It was upheld by only 10% of the team who were handling everything from seating, order taking, serving and payment. The rest of the 90% had no idea what was going on and can't even answer some very basic question about menu or the daily promotion. Similar situation was found at the concierge and front desk. I may return if there was no other better option in Guangzhou which is not likely.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is my second visit to this hotel, the hotel is still very nice, room very clean but service needs to be better for the price.

The issues on this trip:

- Check in was slow

- I asked for late check out because I had to rush off to a meeting in the morning (2 pm). At 1:50 pm they called the room and lady on the phone said.... if you don't leave the room in the next 10 minutes you will be charged for extra night. I travel in Asia for business a lot and most hotels don't really have an issue with late check out and if they do they will usually tell you a head of time. Personally the hotel service needs a personal touch.

- I came down to 1st floor and realize it was raining. I asked if I can borrow an umbrella and was told that there is one provided in the room. I ask is it possible to just borrow one from 1st floor because I am in a rush to get to meeting. They said this is not possible. The down side of this is because the way hotel is lay out, you need to switch elevator on lobby (5th floor) to get to your room.

For the price I think the service needs to be better and more personal. My Girl friend that traveled with me use the spa and she said it was overpriced (as expected) but below average.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

great location, good food in the restaurant. Swimming pool didn't check, but have heard good things from the business partner. Breakfast area was big, but a little crowded...business is runing< good for the Hotel, buit not for the guests. At the sign-out I have got a gift for the valuable guest :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

5* in most areas, in particular the swimming pool.
3* lobby. Very small and lack of design.
One staff is inexperienced. Others good!
Buffet breakfast good but not the top.
Location great. Very near to metro.

Room Tip: If you want King Size bed, you need to book it earlier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panaji, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Location is fantastic, rooms are brand new with state of the art decor and mattress quality. It has marble installed with fantastic artifiacts on the walls. Easily accessible and several indian restaurants close by.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe

Address: No.228 Tianhe Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 2,821 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe 4.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.