We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in guang zhou” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe to your Saves list
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.228 Tianhe Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #15 of 2,821 Hotels in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 stars 180 Reviews
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best hotel in guang zhou”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Cant say anymore words. ..This is one of the best hotels i ever stay...traveling for many years and very recommended hotel...hope Marriott can keep up to this services forever.this hotel is very clean and the view is very beautiful.i like the living room too

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    67
    19
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
17
8
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed here twice in May. Both times I did request a king size bed and I didn't get it on both occasions! Also on my first check-in I had to wait ages to check-in. Only two staff were at the counter but a number of people were waiting to be served. Also I had a problem with my keycard to my room. I went down to get my keycard sorted out and again had to wait a long time to be served. I also overheard a lady before me also had the same problem with their keycard!

Finally I got to my room, after about half an hour, and it was impressive. The room was large and had a light beige wood theme. The room was modern and clean. The impression I got was that this must be a new hotel. The bathroom was large and housed a bathtub and a shower. Both times I was given a twin room rather than a king bed. The bed was comfortable. Unfortunately, wi-fi is not included in the price. Both times my room overlooked the unexciting Tianhe Road. The nearest metro station is Tianhe Sports Centre and the hotel is next to a very large shopping mall

For dining, I went to City Bistro for breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was included for me. I would say both breakfast and dinner was very good. A lot of international choices and not just Chinese. For drinks, I went to The Lounge. It's not a large bar but they do have live performances. The service at City Bistro and The Lounge was very good. I also tried Java+ but was disappointed that they didn't serve sandwiches. They had salads and pastries

If you don't speak Mandarin or Cantonese you will find it tough in Guangzhou. Hotel staff spoke good English but outside the hotel you will struggle to find English speakers. The metro and train stations are all signed in Chinese and English. Taxi drivers usually only speak in Mandarin (not Cantonese or English). Best to write down address in Chinese and ask hotel staff how much roughly it will cost to get there. Taxis, at the end of the journey, automatically give you a receipt. If you're not happy with your fare suggest you take this receipt and make sure you have the taxi license number

I would say I did enjoy the hotel despite the check-in issues and I couldn't get a king bed twice. I probably try a different hotel in Guangzhou so I compare it with the Marriott. A good solid choice from the Marriott name though

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a very good business oriented hotel downtown Guangzhou. The hotel is new and the rooms are big and nicely decorated with music pod station for iphone and a kit of cables to connect any device to a big flat Tv screen. The main western restaurant serve good breakfast and decent meals.
The gym is good and there is also a swimming pool. If you want go local on shopping , outside the hotel there is a big shopping center where they sell everything from cloths to small electronic devices.
The hotel is downtown but be aware that Guangzhou has more than one downtown .
One thing I didn't like was the attitude of the girl at the front desk. When I arrived for check in she tried with an excuse ( no standard non- smoking room available ) to sell me the room upgrade. Of course my room was available and I had to push a bit to get it. I understand that negotiation is the core of Chinese commerce but in a Marriott hotel is a bit too much.

Last but not least, If you are light sleeper make sure your room do not face the very large construction site adjacent to the hotel. In China they work 24/7.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Everything about this hotel is good. Rooms, Breakfast, Executive services, conceirge, staff...
The only thing that was negative for me is the location. Despite being situated at the heart of the modern district Tianhe, I found it not convenience for my trip purpose.
This my second business trip to Guangzhou.
The neighborhood is great but it didn't serve my personal needs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Great location and easy access to get around. Next door to a mall so if you want to shop you do not have far to go. Walking distance to many attractions and restaurants.
Hotel rooms were great, and staff was decent. Main buffet restaurant could probably use a few more staff at peak periods as you could see people getting impatient for coffee refills and some attention.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Recently attended Canton Fair Phase 3, and stumbled upon this great hotel. Nice staff, especially Jeremy in the Executive lounge! Mostly English speaking, hotel is right next to a shopping mall!

Ate at the Buffet one evening, a bit expensive, but the quality of the food warrants it. Meal also came with free beer, which was nice. Also had the all you can eat Dim Sum at Man Ho, which was great!

Rooms are nice, new . . . great showers!

Right on a main drag, so easy in and out, plus a free shuttle to both the fair, and the train to HK!

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Unacceptable . Despite a written confirmation no room was available for me when I arrive . I have been waiting for a transfer at a 'sister' hotel more than 30 minutes . Did not know tags Marriott was doing such overbooking . Will not try it again for sure !

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe

Address: No.228 Tianhe Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 2,821 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe 4.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Marriott, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.