We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very courteous staff very nice hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.988 Guangzhou Avenue Middle, Guangzhou 510620, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 2,780 hotels in Guangzhou
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very courteous staff very nice hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed at this property and really liked it. When arrived at the reception. I was greeted by the English speaking French team who recognised that I would be entitled to an upgrade and promptly did so. Well done. Shortly after i arrives in my room. A welcome drink and snack was delivered to me. Very impressed. I really love the fact that there is a team of French staff at the hotel . Let's be honest, there is still room for improvement in china in regards to customers service, sometimes their English may not be the best.

The room itself is big, nicely decorated as you would expect in the Sofitel style. Large LCD TV. Free coffee, tea and water.

It's situated close to the Guangzhou East station. Just a 5 minutes taxi ride.

Breakfast has a large selection of pastries, cakes, fruits and the usual stuff you will find in a European hotel. There' are 3 sections of different types of breakfast. Continental, Chinese and mixture of South East Asian food. The European style food was fine but that is a big BUT, the Chinese food was very disappointing. If it has been the other way round I would not have been so disappointed. After all, we are in China. One would expect the Chinese food would be a lot better. They need to improve that and I passed the comments into them.

All in all, wouldn't hesitate to stay there again and hope the food would be better the next time.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management S, Manager at Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We really appreciate your feedback and have shared it with the team. Our Cantonese Master Chef if one of Guangzhou’s best and we were disappointed that the Chinese food was not up to your expectation during his leaves. We acknowledge that we should do a better job even when key personnel are away and will certainly improve in this area.
The Sofitel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    370
    179
    49
    18
    7
See reviews for
59
108
44
308
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich is a great Hotel
location in downtown, approx 45 minute to Guangzhou airport
very satisfied service, for all service
great architecture in lobby, room and restaurant
very great hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management S, Manager at Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We would like to thank you very much for your encouraging comments. It will be our privilege to welcome you again in a near future. The Sofitel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I had to write this review after staying at the Sofitel for 3 nights. It has to be one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in for service, quality of rooms and value. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, check in was quick and efficient for a Chinese hotel where they have to photocopy passports and fill out all sorts of forms. I have always rated the Shangri-la in Makati, Manila as having the best service, but this one tops that, the Shang is great, but the staff here have been extremely well trained, they all know their job.

The room was fantastic, great shower, bathroom and comfortable bed and plenty of western TV channels to watch. Breakfast is amazing, one of the biggest buffets I have ever seen. I didn't have any other meals there so can't comment on that, apart from saying they look great. I didn't meet one member of staff who wasn't fluent in English.

During my stay I had a birthday, and when I got to my room that night, there was a delicious mango mouse cake on my desk, with a handwritten birthday card, nice touch.
Location is good right in the heart of Tianhe.

If you are coming to Guangzhou, do yourself a favour and stay here, it's no wonder it is rated the no 1 out of about 3,000 hotels in GZ, on Trip Advisor. I paid around $130 per night, excl breakfast, so it cartainly passes the value for money test.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management S, Manager at Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We have shared them with the team and you can rest assured that it will be a pleasure to welcome you back in a near future. The Sofitel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich for 3 nights and were glad that we upgraded to the luxury room and had a clear view of Canton Tower & Tianhe skyline. The room was very spacious. We were given complimentary upgrade with access to Club Millesime on our last night. Enjoyed the complimentary evening spread of snacks & drinks. The reception staff were very friendly and pleasant and checkin was a breeze. The consierge was very friendly and provided us very valauble advice on the mode of transportation as we were proceeding to Macau for another 3 nights before returing to Guangzhou. The staff at 2 on 988 were friendly and our plates were cleared rapidly. Enjoyed the spread of buffet breakfast as well as the buffet dinner. well worth the money as we got 50% off with the Accor card. Will definitely stay here on our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management S, Manager at Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We would like to thank you very much for your encouraging comments. It will be our privilege to welcome you again in a near future. The Sofitel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Our 3 nights at the Sofitel Guanghzou were amazing. Our room was superb. It had absolutely everything anyone could want. The foyer, the restaurants, the lounge, the pool, the spa, the decor were all first rate. I truly think I will never be able to find a place with such luxury at such an affordable price again. The staff were all so helpful especially Franziska at the front desk and Sam Ding in the buffet restaurant on the second floor. One thing to look out for is definitely on arrival. We came in by train from HongKong and got scammed by a man pretending to be a taxi driver. It cost us a lot of money and made us very nervous about moving around Guanghzou. We since leaned that taxis must have a meter and these illegal cars scam tourists all the time! Next time I would pre-book transport to the Sofitel to prevent this happening. Overall Guanghzou was an amazing place to visit ... But I wouldn't want to live there!

Room Tip: Aim to get a room on a high floor. Interestingly you can hear the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management S, Manager at Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. It will be an honour to welcome you again. The Sofitel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich

Address: No.988 Guangzhou Avenue Middle, Guangzhou 510620, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#5 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#6 Casino Hotel in Guangzhou
#6 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#6 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#6 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#92 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in Tianhe, the most dynamic financial and commercial district of Guangzhou, the hotel is less than a kilometre away from city landmark CITIC Square and a five minutes drive from Guangzhou East Railway Station, the transportation hub connecting Guangzhou, Dongguan, Shenzhen and Hong Kong. Facilities include 493 spectacular Paris style décor rooms and suites, all overlooking TianHe trendy skyline, 5 innovative bars and restaurants,extensive recreational facilities from SoSpa, SoFit 24-hour fitness centre to an indoor pool enjoying a panoramic view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich Hotel Guangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.