We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel far from the city.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Winton Hotel to your Saves list
Winton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Hualun 1st Road, Yonghe Avenue, Luogang District, Guangzhou 511356, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 2,830 Hotels in Guangzhou
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very good hotel far from the city.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

If this hotel would be in the middle of the city of Guangzhou it would get five stars without any hesitation. The hotel consists of 4 building blocks with hotel rooms. There are 3 restaurants (Chinese, buffet style and Japanese) however the Japanese restaurant was closed during our stay. The hotel general areas and rooms are very spacious. The rooms are fitted with a large bathroom and an enormous bathtub. Staff is very friendly however this hotel is the middle "nowhere" and all activities outside the hotel starts first with a car or bus trip.
On a administrate note, the hotel now operates under a new name: Weldon Hotel. Evidence of the previous name can be found throughout the hotel and locals refer to it under the old name.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

NIce hotel with large room and nice amenities. Food was good, not great but well put together. Staff is very attentive and was very helpful. Had an evening flight back to the US and was able to stay at hotel all day on day of flight an only charged me for 1/2 day stay.

Room Tip: I had a deluxe king bedroom and it was huge for 1 person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Large room with lot of space walkin closet and very large bathroom. Breakfast has very limited choises and not many cantonese dim sum. Chinese restaurant average quality. Room service food less than average. They charge 10 rmb for printouts which is robbery. Location is not that great as there are mainly factories in area.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

It was very quiet at the hotel, not many guests.
This is really a pity because if there are more guests it would be a very nice please to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I have been staying many times at the Winton, and it is one of my favorite hotels. The rooms are very nice, as are the facilities.

Last time, it seemed like some of the restaurants were closed, and I don't know if that's a permanent issue.

This hotel has the largest bathroom I have ever seen in the standard rooms - the bathtub is enormous.

Overall, it's always a pleasure to come to Winton, and to me, this feels like a true oasis, in what can sometimes seem like chaotic china.

One note though - i come to the area for business, and it may not be suitable if you don't have business in the area - it's pretty far from the centre of Guangzhou.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Like "kirsty7005" I can tell you: "stay here - worth paying the taxi!"

My business partner booked a room for me in this hotel and I was completely satisfied.
"Deluxe kingsize room" it cost only 690 RMB but I recieved a big room with a wonderful double bathtub where you can lay out (there is also a wall speaker where you can listen relaxing music).
100% reccommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Went there for a 1 day business trip and I'm very satisfied with their room. Their bath tub is spacious and tempting. I used up all their bath salt and bubble foam that night eventhough it's already quite late but it's really satisfying. Comfortable pillow and had a very good sleep that night.

Tried their buffet, cost USD50 but there are a lot to choose. I liked their lobsters and desserts the most.

Would like to mention one staff over there, Yoyo, is very friendly and helpful when my friend request her to put ice pack in their fridge. Even though there is a slight communication barrier but thumbs up for her effort in trying to help my friend. She also gave additional ice cube for my friend the next morning.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winton Hotel

Address: No.1 Hualun 1st Road, Yonghe Avenue, Luogang District, Guangzhou 511356, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 2,830 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Winton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Winton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.