We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by breakfast and food in restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Winton Hotel to your Saves list
Winton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Hualun 1st Road, Yonghe Avenue, Luogang District, Guangzhou 511356, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 2,882 Hotels in Guangzhou
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Let down by breakfast and food in restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Large room with lot of space walkin closet and very large bathroom. Breakfast has very limited choises and not many cantonese dim sum. Chinese restaurant average quality. Room service food less than average. They charge 10 rmb for printouts which is robbery. Location is not that great as there are mainly factories in area.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hojkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

It was very quiet at the hotel, not many guests.
This is really a pity because if there are more guests it would be a very nice please to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I have been staying many times at the Winton, and it is one of my favorite hotels. The rooms are very nice, as are the facilities.

Last time, it seemed like some of the restaurants were closed, and I don't know if that's a permanent issue.

This hotel has the largest bathroom I have ever seen in the standard rooms - the bathtub is enormous.

Overall, it's always a pleasure to come to Winton, and to me, this feels like a true oasis, in what can sometimes seem like chaotic china.

One note though - i come to the area for business, and it may not be suitable if you don't have business in the area - it's pretty far from the centre of Guangzhou.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisskou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
83 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Like "kirsty7005" I can tell you: "stay here - worth paying the taxi!"

My business partner booked a room for me in this hotel and I was completely satisfied.
"Deluxe kingsize room" it cost only 690 RMB but I recieved a big room with a wonderful double bathtub where you can lay out (there is also a wall speaker where you can listen relaxing music).
100% reccommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank padawan_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Went there for a 1 day business trip and I'm very satisfied with their room. Their bath tub is spacious and tempting. I used up all their bath salt and bubble foam that night eventhough it's already quite late but it's really satisfying. Comfortable pillow and had a very good sleep that night.

Tried their buffet, cost USD50 but there are a lot to choose. I liked their lobsters and desserts the most.

Would like to mention one staff over there, Yoyo, is very friendly and helpful when my friend request her to put ice pack in their fridge. Even though there is a slight communication barrier but thumbs up for her effort in trying to help my friend. She also gave additional ice cube for my friend the next morning.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twinsburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I was on business and my buisness partners suggested this hotel for my stay. Wow! It is amazing and inviting. If you are staying in this area of China then I highly suggest staying here for you visit. It is across from a middle school and tucked away on a very quite street. I went for a walk in the morning and it is completely safe. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveljava57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Room: The room was large and the bed was very comfortable by UK standards, never mind Chinese! As were the pillows. The bathroom is large and nicely laid out. The double bath is big enough to lie out in.

Facilities: The hotel was built 2009 and is incredibly clean. There is a nice bar with reasonably priced drinks, the breakfast choice covered Western and Chinese and was very good. We did not try the restaurant in the evening, but if breakfast was anything to go by, it would be good. There is an outdoor swimming pool which is a fountain when not being used and a very good gym. The gardens are very pretty, well landscaped with interesting art and water features. Only downside is no free Wi-fi in the room, you have to sit in the bar.

Location: This hotel is not situated in central Guangzhou but in a more business/industrial area of the City. It is approximately 30 mins to the City Centre and 45mins to the Airport. It is absolutely worth the cost of taxis. Just make sure you either have a map or the hotel phone number as some taxis did not seem to know where it is.

Basically this hotel is luxurious and incredibly well designed and coupled with the staff who are very helpful and can speak English, we cannot recommend this highly enough.

Even better news is that they are building a more central hotel. I hope it is as good.

We will return here for a weekend away whenever we can.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty7005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
19.7 mi away
Dongfang Hotel
Dongfang Hotel
#51 of 2,882 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 707 reviews
21.4 mi away
Royal Marina Plaza
Royal Marina Plaza
#90 of 2,882 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
15.5 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#4 of 2,882 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Langham Place Guangzhou
Langham Place Guangzhou
#10 of 2,882 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
4.4 mi away
Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou
Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou
#72 of 2,882 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
15.2 mi away
Overseas Chinese Friendship Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winton Hotel

Address: No.1 Hualun 1st Road, Yonghe Avenue, Luogang District, Guangzhou 511356, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 2,882 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Winton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Winton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing