We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good executive rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dongfang Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Dongfang Hotel to your Saves list
Dongfang Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.120 liuhua Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510016, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 2,821 Hotels in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 630 Reviews
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good executive rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The executive room that I was supposed to have was unavailable when I arrived, so I stayed in a deluxe (standard) room for one night. Even though the whole hotel is supposed to be non-smoking, there was cigarette smell in the room, probably because some guests smoked in violation of hotel rules. When I moved to an executive room on the 10th floor the next day, I found it to meet the standards of a 5-star hotel. So, I sense a correspondence among the quality of rooms, the quality of guests, and the quality of one experience. The breakfast buffet was quite good, and one of the restaurants serves excellent Cantonese food. My experience at the hotel was overall very good.

Room Tip: Choose the executive room if you want true 5-star experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    365
    65
    21
    7
See reviews for
24
24
16
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I was a little bit surprised by how nice this old government-run hotel was. The garden in the middle is beautiful. The rooms are nicely-done. The service was good. The only issue is that the food was so-so. But, in general, my standards for Guangzhou are now relatively low, and this place far exceeds them.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter too much when it comes to rooms. So get best deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DongFangHotel_GZ, Public Relations Manager at Dongfang Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Dong Fang Hotel for your recent stay in Guangzhou, and share your stay experience with us.

We are honored to get your praise and support. We as always will provide the high quality service for our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Dong Fang hotel is probably the worst 5 star hotel in the province / world... 45 mins to check in at 2030; room then not ready. Weak / non existent English; air con not working; plumbing leaking; black stains on tiling; hard beds; attached restaurant presented raw prawns & fought not to do anything about this. £20 breakfast; £10 umbrella deposit; £13 per hour for internet; sauna not working - if it had been it would have cost £10 extra. Staff really couldn't be bothered even to help people with luggage, when it was a 300yd walk from your room to the entrance this was pretty poor.

Room Tip: You may have to walk up to 300 / 400 yards from the main entrance to your room - this place is massi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DongFangHotel_GZ, Public Relations Manager at Dongfang Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Dong Fang Hotel for your recent stay in Guangzhou, and share your stay experience with us.

We are honored to get your praise and support. We as always will provide the high quality service for our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I think it's worth pointing out that many of the negative reviews of this hotel are quite old. The service was excellent, the room huge and well appointed, and the location is great for the main park and for the subway (which is very easy to use even if you don't speak Chinese). There's a Starbucks a block away and a McDonalds next to the hotel (although after dark you do rather have to run the gauntlet of offers of "massage".

The hotel is very secure, and the staff are very helpful. Breakfast is served on the ground floor with a view of the lovely peaceful gardens in the centre.

I really can't fault it and I look forward to staying again,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DongFangHotel_GZ, Public Relations Manager at Dongfang Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Dong Fang Hotel for your recent stay in Guangzhou, and share your stay experience with us.

We are honored to get your praise and support. We as always will provide the high quality service for our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

best part of hotel was they have english speaking receptonist. everything in hotel i found perfect.cleanininess of hotel should be appriciable. its a big hotel with nice location. if you are staying in guangzhou i will definately reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DongFangHotel_GZ, Public Relations Manager at Dongfang Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Dong Fang Hotel for your recent stay in Guangzhou, and share your stay experience with us.

We are honored to get your praise and support. We as always will provide the high quality service for our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed here for business so the pool area was a great bonus. Truly fantastic. The room was very comfortable. The only thing that I didn't like so much was the breakfast as they ran out of bread very often and by the time you would gather one breakfast item, they were out of something else. Allow time for breakfast if you are having it there. Around the corner from the hotel is one of the highlights of my trip, the han emperors tomb. Really worth the hour or so it takes to see. You can go right into the tomb which was only discovered in 1986.

Also on the street near the tomb is a great little griddle stand that makes great kind of tortilla things for 5 yuan or you could get a Starbucks coffee near there for 20 yuan!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DongFangHotel_GZ, Public Relations Manager at Dongfang Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Dong Fang Hotel for your recent stay in Guangzhou, and share your stay experience with us.

We are honored to get your praise and support. We as always will provide the high quality service for our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bratislava
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The pool is truly fantastic. It has rock islands, palm islands and waterfalls. No chlorine smell as they use ionisation to clean the water. It is a walk-in pool. .And very few people use it.
Room was big, clean and well furnished with all one could need. Reception and concierge desk staff have excellent English and helped me with finding local addresses, writing down instructions for taxi drivers, explaining how to use public transport, calling the airlines for me. Lovely staff and very helpful.
Location: 2 mins walk from metro that is easy to use (signs and ticket machines also in English). Inside the metro hall you will find 7Eleven shop where you can buy drinking water and other small bits.
A good and reasonably priced restaurant called Macau Street is right next door to the hotel. Turn left from the hotel entrance, turn left when you reach the street and about 20 metres along is the restaurant. Manu has English subtitles and waiters speak English. Across the street is an entrance into a large park with lakes - a popular relaxation spot.
It is a popular hotel. I prepaid 3 days thinking I would extend my stay if the hotel was good. Well, they were fully booked and so I had to move to another hotel.

Room Tip: The place is enormous and so if you have troubles walking or have small children ask for a room near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DongFangHotel_GZ, Guest Relations Manager at Dongfang Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Dong Fang Hotel for your recent stay in Guangzhou, and share your stay experience with us.

We are honored to get your praise and support. We as always will provide the high quality service for our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dongfang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dongfang Hotel

Address: No.120 liuhua Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510016, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#37 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#72 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dongfang Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 679
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dongfang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dongfang Hotel Guangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dongfang Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.