We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pack your swimmers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dongfang Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dongfang Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dongfang Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.120 liuhua Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510016, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 2,562 hotels in Guangzhou
bratislava
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“pack your swimmers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The pool is truly fantastic. It has rock islands, palm islands and waterfalls. No chlorine smell as they use ionisation to clean the water. It is a walk-in pool. .And very few people use it.
Room was big, clean and well furnished with all one could need. Reception and concierge desk staff have excellent English and helped me with finding local addresses, writing down instructions for taxi drivers, explaining how to use public transport, calling the airlines for me. Lovely staff and very helpful.
Location: 2 mins walk from metro that is easy to use (signs and ticket machines also in English). Inside the metro hall you will find 7Eleven shop where you can buy drinking water and other small bits.
A good and reasonably priced restaurant called Macau Street is right next door to the hotel. Turn left from the hotel entrance, turn left when you reach the street and about 20 metres along is the restaurant. Manu has English subtitles and waiters speak English. Across the street is an entrance into a large park with lakes - a popular relaxation spot.
It is a popular hotel. I prepaid 3 days thinking I would extend my stay if the hotel was good. Well, they were fully booked and so I had to move to another hotel.

Room Tip: The place is enormous and so if you have troubles walking or have small children ask for a room near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DongFangHotel_GZ, Guest Relations Manager at Dongfang Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Dong Fang Hotel for your recent stay in Guangzhou, and share your stay experience with us.

We are honored to get your praise and support. We as always will provide the high quality service for our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    357
    57
    21
    7
See reviews for
19
22
15
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I had a last minute trip that i had to make last year and the only hotel available was the Dong Fang. Whilst it is not a bad hotel there is something missing.The rooms (i was upgraded to a suite) are in need of an upgrade although the bathrooms are fantastic and the towels are very soft and the beds are way to firm for my liking. The buffet breakfast was not as good as the Marriot next door but the grounds are well looked after.Old style televisions not flat screens are a very dated.The China Hotel is my always my first choice and not much more expensive.

Room Tip: Worth a try if you can get an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DongFangHotel_GZ, Guest Relations Manager at Dongfang Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Dong Fang Hotel for your recent stay in Guangzhou, and share your stay experience with us.

We are delighted to learn your valuable suggestion for our services/facilities, and thank you to help us to get it improved.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Although my room is not too big and breakfast is not included...but fair enough...high security level in swimming pool...The hotel is beautiful and convenient location with very good services.

I really appriceate the FREE shuttle bus transfer from GZ East train station towards hotel. They have another routes towards the airport too~

staffs are helpful...free bottled Watson's water are provided in bathroom...you may call room service to ask for more if u need (i asked for 4 more=P)... as fresh running water is not drinkable in GZ...even the local households are ordering water from bottled co.

It cost only 500 sth RMB for our room...it is quite cheap...We would like to try the Macau Street Restaurant and stay in this hotel if we will come next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DongFangHotel_GZ, Guest Relations Manager at Dongfang Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Dong Fang Hotel for your recent stay in Guangzhou, and share your stay experience with us.

We are honored to get your praise and support. We as always will provide the high quality service for our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I recently stayed at the hotel for one night in July 2012. I have booked and paid for a Deluxe Room and was later upgraded to a Business Room after calls from your reservations asking me to pay extra which I refused to pay. I believe that the deluxe rooms were overbooked. Upon checking in I was given the last Business Room and facing some buildings right at the end of the block and that is after walking a long distance from the hotel lobby. On passing the business rooms a few times I realised most of the Business Rooms nearer to the lifts area facing the swimming pool or buildings were empty and could not understand why I was not given a room nearer to the lifts area or facing swimming pool. Otherwise it was a pleasant stay and would stay in this hotel if travelling go Guangzhou.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DongFangHotel_GZ, Deputy Manager at Dongfang Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Dong Fang Hotel, Guangzhou.

In regard to your comment, we have addressed your experience with the manager and improvement action has bee taken.

We appreciate that you informed us on our shortcomings. It is always through constructive comments from guests like you that enable us to correct ourselves from mistakes. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Dong Fang Hotel, Guangzhou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I booked this hotel through expedia. On reaching, they made us wait for good half an hour, the worst part is there is no sitting arrangement at reception area. After a tiring journey , when they make you stand in a queue and wait for your turn, u wonder , is this a five star hotel???? No welcome drink, no sitting, just waiting for your turn. After check in , we were given key yo our room and the lady at reception told us to reach B block and search for room. Imagine, no curtosy to drop guests to their room.
The last day , the worst experience happened. We we left with 200 yuan so, We went at the reception and asked if we could exchange money. Gladly, a lady at the reception took 200 australian dollars and gave us some 1200 yuan. We left for last minute shopping in a taxi. When we gave 100 yuan, the driver said, the money was fake. We took out the next currency note for which he said, it was fake again. For all the notes, but for two notes, he said, it was fake.
We couldnot believe as the money was exchanged by the hotel that is supposed to be a 5star hotel. On returning , i asked the reception girl about the money, she point blankly refused to change it, saying once you leave the counter, we have no responsibility. On trying to explain that i did not have any money left and had to reach the airport too, she, showed no sign of reaction, just called the duty manager who didnot even listen to the things , rather said, you may call police, we will not help you.
This is for the first time , i had such a terrible experience with a so called five star hotel. I will RECOMMEND everyone who visit this hotel, never exchange money from there, they duped us, God knows how mwny more people will get duped by them. I was planning to send my 40 students to guangzhou and make them stay at Dong fang, but not anymore, never ever again. Very very bitter experience with this property. And specially the front office staff . God will definitely punish such people.

Room Tip: Never exchange money from them, they dupe people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DongFangHotel_GZ, Deputy Manager at Dongfang Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing Dong Fang Hotel for your recent stay.

We do apologize for the inconvenience caused with regards to the long wait at the time of your check-in and no bell service after check-in, rest assured these have been addressed with our team. We will ensure at all times that there would be sufficient manpower at the front desk. For the money exchange, we checked with our associate and the surveillance record, our receptionist put the money through the money validator before passing money to you.

Once again we apologize that genuine service was not extended to you. We assure you the best of our attention to the guests need is what we always focused on and hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back at which time we will redeem our high standard of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights as a guest of a chinese company. As the hotel had booked the rooms, but was full I was upgraded to a "really big sized room".. A very beautiful hotel....the location is very central.. next to the metro station, and conveniently connected to all areas.....

The room was big.... and the bathroom was majestic....really huge....I am feeling sorry that I could not utilise the facilities available to the fullest extent.........

Great Hotel and Great Stay

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DongFangHotel_GZ, Deputy Mannager at Dongfang Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you very much for taking your time to fill out the Guest Comment following your recent visit at Dong Fang Hotel.

We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your comment has been shared with the team who contributed to making your stay memorable. We will be happy to know that our efforts do not go unnoticed.

Once again, we thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This experience is for the adventurer that would like to experience the old world Chinese Aristocratic life Style. I am told this Hotel is over 60 years old, very Chinese and traditional old world decor, This is the real thing not a Disney recreation, I can imagine the guest in the 19 20 ad 30 parading in traditional cloths up and down the corridors, very large internal gardens, Pool and plenty of facilities for meeting , Weddings and conventions... Mostly Chinese food in there restaurants and a large mixed foods breakfast buffet. I bit on the expensive side for normal mainland China prices, but a real treat for history buffs and real old word experienced travelers... Courteous Staff, very helpful and convenient to mayor city Shopping and business... Free WIFI, hugh rooms that feel and look like Junior suites, all the necessary goodies of a 4 stare hotel… Not mucho for the younger crowd, or kids…. Only the outdoor pool and excellent exercise Gym…

Room Tip: King Size Bed room is really fit for a King!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DongFangHotel_GZ, Deputy Manager at Dongfang Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you very much for taking your time to fill out the Guest Comment following your recent visit at Dong Fang Hotel.

We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your comment has been shared with the team who contributed to making your stay memorable. We will be happy to know that our efforts do not go unnoticed.

Once again, we thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dongfang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dongfang Hotel

Address: No.120 liuhua Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510016, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#35 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#40 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#40 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#40 Casino Hotel in Guangzhou
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Guangzhou
#70 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dongfang Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your Dongfang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dongfang Hotel Guangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dongfang Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.