We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Star River Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Star River Hotel to your Saves list
Chateau Star River Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Panyu Road North, Panyu District, Guangzhou 511430, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 2,830 Hotels in Guangzhou
Shanghai, China
1 review
“Good Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

It’s good for me that this hotel has indoor and outdoor swimming pool and other fitness facilities. I seldom have meals in hotel, so no idea about the restaurants, but looks like great. It is not bad to have a walk on the river bank. The front desk staff always remembers my name. They are friends more than staff. It’s an outstanding 5 star hotel.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    66
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
2
5
4
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

It’s an amazing experience for me! I like the beds and the spas, very relaxing and comfortable. Next time, I want to try sauna. Come here for business trip with 3 days stay. Tasting almost everything in the hotel, the restaurants, the cake shop, coffee in the lobby bar, excellent experience for me. And it a short distance to the amusement park. Could enjoy the happy time out of business.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Six days on business, the hotel offers all the services you would expect, all provided with a smile. Rooms are spacious and well maintained. River view is recommended. Food offering is above average, with good variety and three restaurants available. Concierge desk is very helpful with guidance from American supervisor.
Beware of the change of floor levels at the entrance and in the Level 1 restaurant, saw some nasty spills during my stay.
River location allows for some good walking along the promenades.
Would definelty stay here again.

Room Tip: River view upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights while in Guangzhou for the Canton Fair. The hotel was new, rooms were large and comfortable. Bathroom fittings were also nice. Breakfast spread was excellent, with lots of variety. Main issue, was that the staff was not conversant in English. Free shuttle and fair registration at the hotel was also quite good. Important to note that this hotel is about an hour drive from the airport. I will book this hotel again for the fair, its also a lot cheaper than the Westin.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

As a business trip and somehow that's the only one choice we could choose, we booked many rooms (please forgive me can't tell you how many because some reasons), but the bill was big enough. RMB 1480++, enough to stay at the world's top brands hotels in the downtown. Here should not be your choice at this rate.

Firstly, mind the hotel's karaoke. In fact, it's a typical chinese nightclub. At night, don't be surprise to see a beautiful lady accompany with a drunk gentleman in the hotel.

In terms of the location, it's actually a suburban of Guangzhou, far away to the city center. Very far away to get to the nearest metro station on foot, no any convenient/public facilities near the hotel. The location was just "Bad" if you want to get to the downtown.

The entrance was quite small, not grand, easy to skip it if you drive yourself. The lobby was typical five stars style. However, the corridor through to rooms and elevator lobby were dark, there were plenty of lights to make the environment better.

My room was only BIG, besides, nothing was positively remarkable. Over the whole room, there were only few of lights, it's okay in the daytime, but never at night. Especially for the working table, if you insist to work at that level of lighting at night, it's gonna to hurt your eyes! The balcony was useless, because the door was locked. Furthermore, I found one lady's hair on my bed~~~~

The room equipped a coffee machine, sounds good? Haha, so what! I prefer they gave me back the water boiler instead of. The pencil's condition they provided for clients to write quick notes was disappointed, only two papers were provided.....The cushion on the sofa were covered by plastic, feeling very bad.

The breakfast buffet was totally not recommended, RMB 128++/per person. Definitely unreasonable, the foods' quality, taste and service, HORRIBLE. Even for Chinese traditional dishes.

The staffs were know nothing, never met someone could tell you a certain answer for your inquires. Only keep telling you to how much will be charge for this service, what's the restriction, or even directly ask you to give them a tip when you paying the bill. It's really really crazy!!!!

Room Tip: High floor with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

I was in Guangzhou as part of the Asian Paralympic Committee delegate for the Guangzhou Para Games held in December 2010. I was truly impressed by the world class service and facilities. The small touches such as lovely daily greeting notes and chocolates were absolutely delightful! Notwithstanding the fact that it was winter then, I felt warm from within and close to home. It was one of my best experience ever!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Be prepared to be treated badly here! And do not expect 5 star rooms or treatment even if you've booked them!
Booked this hotel on Expedia where it it explicitly described as 5 Star.
Upon arrival at the hotel reception I was told my room was elsewhere, and after waiting 20 minutes my colleague and I were loaded in a mini van and driven 5 minutes away where we were dropped off in an underground car park of what seemed to be a residential area.
The room was expremely shabby, with peeling wallpaper, stained carpet and furniture, chipped paint in the bathroom, poor quality products in dispensers, no safe, no bath/ bathrobes / mini bar / LCD TV, and a view and noise of a 20 lane tollway below.

Contacted Expedia and they said they use information provided by the hotel. After 2 hours of trying to explain to various staff members at the hotel that we did not get what we expected they all came to the same conclusion "It wasn't their fault and they would give a better room if we paid more"

Finally the next morning we found lovely American staff member who took us to breakfast, apologized profusely and took notes on the whole ordeal. He was there for a short time to explain international hotel standards, unfortunately he wasn't there long enough.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkyChan, Manager at Chateau Star River Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2010
Dear Sir,
We feel sorry for your unhappy experience during the staying of our hotel. Anyway, we thank you for your comments and will make any possible improvement to our service.
The Apartment Room is managed by but different from the hotel. And it is built with 3 star standard. We have descibed clearly on Expedia. And the price should also indicate something.
Of course, we are improving the service and set-up of the Apartment Room. However, please understand the stand of the Apartment.
And paying price difference for changing a room is reasonable. So we feel it was a pity that you didn't try our hotel amenity and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Star River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Star River Hotel

Address: No.1 Panyu Road North, Panyu District, Guangzhou 511430, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 2,830 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Star River Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chateau Star River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Star River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.