We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel great service great facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Guangzhou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Guangzhou to your Saves list
The Westin Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.6 Linhe Middle Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510620, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 2,830 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel great service great facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel knowshow to treat their guest.The service provided is excellent. I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights during Canton fare. Price was quite high so my expectations were also. I can say they have met my expectations. Rooms are spacious, with great views, high quality levels, beautiful bathroom etc! Swimming pool inside and outside are great as well. Bar with DJ also perfect. I could not think of any improvements. I have never seen a breakfast buffet like this , so many choice. If you can afford to stay in this hotel you won't be dissappointed at all. I can strongly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    403
    61
    13
    8
See reviews for
34
54
43
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I've stayed here annually for at least the past 6 years, and it is consistently clean, comfortable, and a good value. Nothing more needs said - the place is rock solid. And you can't beat the Italian restaurant upstairs when you want to avoid the city and have a little comfort

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGuangzhou, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Guangzhou, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your wonderful experience during your recent stay at The Westin Guangzhou! We truly appreciate and value you as our repeat guest, thank you for your compliments and it is always a pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

I have been to the Westin Guangzhou many times, and have never been disappointed. It is excellent in all respects, with well appointed and inviting rooms, a great breakfast buffet, a very good Italian restaurant on the top floor with excellent city views, and an always friendly and helpful staff. One tip is that I always use the hotel pick up and drop off service for the airport, and it has never failed me. It's so nice to know after a long flight to Guangzhou that a private driver is there to pick you up and take you to the hotel. Going back to the airport, you don't have to leave from the hotel but rather the driver will pick you up at your place of business in the city and take you to the airport.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGuangzhou, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Guangzhou, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback during your recent stay The Westin Guangzhou. We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were impressed with our rooms, facilities, location, and the friendliness of our team.

Thank you once again for your compliments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
306 helpful votes 306 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have to say I'm a regular visitor to GZ and this Westin - 1-2 stays per month. Very convenient to the Guangzhou East train station, Subway entrance across the street, Mall and Ikea within walking distance.

Good food options within short walk, plus one of the better Guangzhou- Italian restaurants on the top floor.

Service is good.

Breakfast buffet needs a new menu. For this price level, variety should be mixed up more. Service isn't very good in the 2nd floor cafe/buffet.

I have one complaint during the Canton fair is that most of the hotels increase their rates to ridiculous prices. Some hotels are 2-4 x's more expensive during this peak period. For a frequent visitor to Westin, I wish they would have some sense of customer service and loyalty - and set aside some rooms at a more realistic price. Maybe I'm naive, but I would hope someone is corporate Starwood can see the logic. I show loyalty to hotels that truly value my business.

A western brand, local competitor of Westin GZ sent out emails offering good rates during the Canton Fair. Higher than the normal rate, but a lot less than the super charged rates of 2-4X. Newer hotel, nice facilities, equally convenient. Guess where I stayed - NOT at the Westin. And I wasn't even there for the Canton Fair!

Well back to the review. Good hotel. Good service. Good Italian Restaurant. OK Cantonese Restaurant. Poor Cafe restaurant.

But there are a couple other good hotels with similar rates in the area that will be getting more business in the future.

Room Tip: West facing rooms have a good view of the park. South facing rooms have a good view of the TianHe S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGuangzhou, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Guangzhou, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your wonderful experience during your recent stay at The Westin Guangzhou! We truly appreciate and value you as our repeat guest, and it is always a pleasure to welcome you back.

Your comments concerning your breakfast experience are appreciated and you are welcome to provide specific comments to us directly if you wish. It is feedback such as yours that helps us to continually improve.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Guangzhou in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

All my experiences with this hotel have been fantastic.

I made contact with the hotel a few days before arrival to find out the approximate costs for a taxi to the hotel from Guangzhou east station (have been ripped off in the past). I received an immediate response and the hotel sent a shuttle to collect me.

A few suppliers sent parcels to the hotel for me before I arrived, everything was handled perfectly and without hassles.

This hotel is run by a really professional team.

My room on the 37th floor is on a corner with great views over the city and the room is really great.

The lounge on the 39th floor is perfect for meetings and a few drinks to end the day.

Will definitely make this my base for future trips to Guangzhou.

Room Tip: 3713 is a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGuangzhou, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Guangzhou, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your stay experience with us. We are delighted to read that you have been satisfied with the quality of our hotel and service. At The Westin Guangzhou we are committed to service excellence and to ensure we provide a renewing experience to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Guangzhou in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

this review is about "UPLIFTING EXHILARATION " package i avail of for march 31,2013.

the package offer:

- Guest room with free upgrade

- RMB500 Food & Beverage and spa spending credits per room per night (non-cumulative)

- Kids under 12 eat for free (up to two)

- Kids welcome gift package

- Free internet access, etc.......

We booked the renewal deluxe room and the hotel won't give us the free room upgrade (to executive deluxe room). The reason is the room is already upgraded. They won't even give us the executive lounge benefit.

So, if they won't give the free room upgrade, why is it included in the offer?

the "uplifting exhilaration" offer is still on-going. travelers expecting the room upgrade should double check first with the reservation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGuangzhou, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Guangzhou, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and service lapse that you received during your stay. We shall investigate your feedback to our relevant Department Heads and appropriate action has been taken accordingly. It is feedback such as yours that helps us to continually improve.

Once again, please accept our sincere apologies and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Guangzhou in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We only stayed here 2 nights but would have loved to stay longer! We were upgraded to an executive suite and so we had a lovely large room looking towards the Canton Tower. The rooom had everything we could have wanted including a massage chair! We were able to use the executive lounge on the 39th floor which had superb views. We had breakfast up there and there was plenty of choice: continental, chinese english etc. In the main dining area there is even more choice! The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Lots of hotels offer free wifi in all rooms and it was a pity that this is not so here. Even so we would recommend it as a great place ot stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGuangzhou, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Guangzhou, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking time to share your stay experience with us. We are delighted to read that you have been satisfied with the quality of our hotel and service. At The Westin Guangzhou we are committed to service excellence and to ensure we provide a renewing experience to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Guangzhou in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Guangzhou

Address: No.6 Linhe Middle Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510620, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#10 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#11 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#13 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#18 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#83 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to Shopping Malls & Restaurants Our hotel is adjacent to the CITIC Plaza, which is home to Fortune 500 companies, brand shops and many popular restaurants; a 5-minute walk distance from many other shopping/commercial malls and boutiques, such as Tai Koo Hui, Teemall, Grandview and Onelink.Transportation5 minute walking distance to the Guangzhou East Train Station-the southern gateway to Hong Kong; 45-minute travel from the International Baiyun Airport; modern subway system connects the hotel to all parts of the city, two direct subway lines to the airport. Room - Heavenly Spa, Heavenly Bath & ShowerOur Westin rooms which are 50sqm in size offer you the ultimate in comfort and technology including Westin's signature Heavenly Bed(R), invigorating shower and bath, wireless high speed internet access, flat screen television and IP Phones with cordless handset. Or choose our new WestinWORKOUT(R) Room to maintain your wellness routine and fitness regime in the privacy of your room. Bathrooms feature separate bathtubs and showers and makeup/shaving mirrors.Eat and drink well at Hotel - Five restaurants and two barsOur five restaurants and bars include an all-day dining venue, a Chinese restaurant offering the finest Cantonese specialties, a lobby lounge, a Latin American restaurant with live entertainment and a Cuban Cigar Lounge, and an upscale rooftop Italian restaurant and lounge boasting stunning city views. Spa and fitnessHeavenly Spa is a sophisticated urban sanctuary featuring a series of therapies and treatments, with the sole purpose of restoring your body's harmony and balance while shedding fatigue and stress.GeneralIn addition to a full-service spa, The Westin Guangzhou features an indoor pool, outdoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, hot & cold plunge pool, and 24-hrs fitness facility. Dining is available at one of the hotel's 5 restaurants. A bar/lounge is on site where guests can unwind with a drink. Public areas are equipped with complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. Business amenities at this 5-star property consist of a business center, a technology helpdesk, and limo/town car service. Event facilities include conference/meeting rooms, small meeting rooms, and a ballroom. This luxury hotel also offers executive floors, and a concierge desk. Onsite parking is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Guangzhou Hotel Guangzhou
Westin Guangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Guangzhou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.