We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Guangzhou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Westin Guangzhou to your Saves list
The Westin Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.6 Linhe Middle Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510620, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
UP TO 30% OFF CANTONFAIR
Ranked #10 of 2,814 Hotels in Guangzhou
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Comfort and convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

You know you are in Westin as you walked into the hotel. The smells, flower arrangement and the architecture design. Associate which checked me in is curteous and polite and inform me my benefits entitlement which I think is very important.
I am very pleased with the room allocated for me. The room is spacious, clean and well equipt will all the necessary amenities.
Breakfast is quite expensive with the selection given. Prego the Italian Restaurant is huge with a spectacular view from the 40th floor. I have one of my night at Taste for ala carte menu but the taste of the dish is too oily and I could not finish it. The associate at the restaurant did asked me for my feedback and apologize for my experience. I think even I do not have a good dining experience but the attitude of the associates did make the difference which compromise the whole situation. The banquet associate Michelle also make a difference in our meeting. I notice she is very attentive and very observant with the whole environment. She did take the time to explained to me on the type of tea and flavour served when she noticed me reading on the tea ingredients. I thought this is a great deal of associate behaviour interation with guest.
Overall, my almost a week experience in this hotel is wonderful and satisfied.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGuangzhou, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Guangzhou, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. It is a pleasure to learn of your satisfaction with the hotel service, food and facilities. We were delighted to receive such recognition. All Team Members at The Westin Guangzhou are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    376
    55
    11
    7
See reviews for
30
45
39
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Went for a quick shopping trip in Guangzhou, checked into this hotel, nice spacious very comfortable room size

Near to the East train station that you can catch a train to Shenzhen in 1hrs15 mins.
1 shopping mall near by
Not too far from Teemall, which is the main shopping area, taking a cab is about RMB10.
So if you don't mind that is a good place to stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGuangzhou, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Guangzhou, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write the review and we are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at The Westin Guangzhou. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genf
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Best in this hotel are certainly the rooms, which are huge and perfectly equipped with a large bathroom with both shower and bathtube. The breakfast choice is huge and of good quality. Amenitites include a well equipped gym and spa, overall a very pleasant experience.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGuangzhou, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Guangzhou, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write the review and we are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at The Westin Guangzhou.

We are very glad to know you have enjoyed your stay and next time you stay here, welcome to explore more in our hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed here for a week for business. This was my first time to China. The hotel was very nice. The rooms were large and clean. The bathroom was decked out in granite? everywhere. We usually had the breakfast buffet in the morning which had everything you could ask for. We were not too adventurous for dinner and ate at the Italian place in the hotel. The food was excellent. I can't say much for the surrounding GZ area. For me it was hotel to work and back. I did notice the pollution which made it very hazy there. I would definitely recommend this hotel for business travelers depending on your needs. We had a driver take us here from Hong Kong which was about a 3-4 hour drive including going through the border checkpoint.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGuangzhou, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Guangzhou, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write the review and we are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at The Westin Guangzhou.

We are very glad to know you have enjoyed your stay and next time you stay here, welcome to explore more in our hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed in Westin GZ from Oct 29 till Nov 1. This is my regular hotel for the last 3 years and the stays have been consistently positive.

Price is reasonable for a Westin property, rooms are large and well furnished, clean and new. bathroom with shower, bath and toilet are very clean, and modern. Room has a nice sofa set that can sit 3 persons very comfortably. This is a hotel that you will feel very comfortable the moment you walked into the lobby all the way to the room.

The pool is impressive with both outdoor and indoor. The outdoor pool is long and large. Overall property is new and well maintained. Staff are always helpful and ready to help.

Breakfast is not cheap but is the normal buffet price levels of other 5 star hotel. Selection is good with both western and asian options.

Location is very central in terms of CBD area, walking distance to Ikea and shopping malls. Traffic is quite heavy during rush hours, but GZ is always a traffic problem..

Rooms are generally similar except for one of the rooms, This is a larger room with a really large shower area. These rooms are normally numbers XX15 or 16 on each level.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGuangzhou, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Guangzhou, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback during your stay The Westin Guangzhou.

Your comments will give us the inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards which you have experienced during your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I was pleased that as a SPG Plat, upon check-in I was upgraded to Renewal Suite without having to ask and beg.

The room was HUGE with a nice massage chair and Executive Club access.

I also used the pool and gym which were nice. All the staff I interacted with were exceptionally courteous, especially the Executive Club staff.

Executive club cocktail spread was fantastic. Sandwiches, french sparkling wine, pastas, finger foods, all delicious!

Thanks for a great stay Westin Guangzhou. I wish all SPG properties were like this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGuangzhou, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Guangzhou, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guset,

Thank you for taking your time to share your wonderful experience during your stay at The Westin Guangzhou!

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were impressed with our room, club lounge, swimming pool, service and facilities.

Your compliments will serve as an added motivation to our team to carry on the service that you have experienced. We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Fantastic service - from doormen to front desk to concierge. Manager greeted us upon arrival, arranged for an upgrade to an incredible suite, and escorted us to our room. In addition, my mom needed an urgent dental appointment on a Sunday, and the concierge immediately arranged for a same-day appointment. Also, excellent Executive Club lounge with great food and amazing views of the city. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGuangzhou, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Guangzhou, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback during your recent stay The Westin Guangzhou. We are delighted to read that you have been overall impressed with the quality of our hotel and service. Your comments will give us the inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards which you have experienced during your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Guangzhou

Address: No.6 Linhe Middle Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510620, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#9 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#9 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#11 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#15 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#108 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to Shopping Malls & Restaurants Our hotel is adjacent to the CITIC Plaza, which is home to Fortune 500 companies, brand shops and many popular restaurants; a 5-minute walk distance from many other shopping/commercial malls and boutiques, such as Tai Koo Hui, Teemall, Grandview and Onelink.Transportation5 minute walking distance to the Guangzhou East Train Station-the southern gateway to Hong Kong; 45-minute travel from the International Baiyun Airport; modern subway system connects the hotel to all parts of the city, two direct subway lines to the airport. Room - Heavenly Spa, Heavenly Bath & ShowerOur Westin rooms which are 50sqm in size offer you the ultimate in comfort and technology including Westin's signature Heavenly Bed(R), invigorating shower and bath, wireless high speed internet access, flat screen television and IP Phones with cordless handset. Or choose our new WestinWORKOUT(R) Room to maintain your wellness routine and fitness regime in the privacy of your room. Bathrooms feature separate bathtubs and showers and makeup/shaving mirrors.Eat and drink well at Hotel - Five restaurants and two barsOur five restaurants and bars include an all-day dining venue, a Chinese restaurant offering the finest Cantonese specialties, a lobby lounge, a Latin American restaurant with live entertainment and a Cuban Cigar Lounge, and an upscale rooftop Italian restaurant and lounge boasting stunning city views. Spa and fitnessHeavenly Spa is a sophisticated urban sanctuary featuring a series of therapies and treatments, with the sole purpose of restoring your body's harmony and balance while shedding fatigue and stress.GeneralIn addition to a full-service spa, The Westin Guangzhou features an indoor pool, outdoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, hot & cold plunge pool, and 24-hrs fitness facility. Dining is available at one of the hotel's 5 restaurants. A bar/lounge is on site where guests can unwind with a drink. Public areas are equipped with complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. Business amenities at this 5-star property consist of a business center, a technology helpdesk, and limo/town car service. Event facilities include conference/meeting rooms, small meeting rooms, and a ballroom. This luxury hotel also offers executive floors, and a concierge desk. Onsite parking is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Otel, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Guangzhou Hotel Guangzhou
Westin Guangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Guangzhou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.