We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, good value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Landmark International Hotel Science City Hotel

Save Saved
You added Landmark International Hotel Science City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Landmark International Hotel Science City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Lanyue Road, Luogang District, Guangzhou 510610, China (Dongpu)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #167 of 2,545 hotels in Guangzhou
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average hotel, good value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I recently stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and had an ok experience. Here are my pros and cons:

Pros
-Very good location, walking distance to the train station, shopping and restaurants.
-Very affordable
-Room was clean

Cons
-Service was not great. Everyone seemed flustered at the desk when I checked in and no one offered to help me with my luggage (a first in China). I tried to call down a request an iron and my request was not fulfilled. I finally had to walk down to the desk and ask in person for an iron.
-No iron in room
-Beds were rock hard (I know being a westerner that I'm likely spoiled with soft beds)

Overall I would probably stay here again, as it is just for business. If it were for pleasure, I would likely stay at a higher rated hotel with better dining options. I do hear the spa in the hotel is good, although I did not have an opportunity to try it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    59
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
3
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

The beds are HARD as rock and the bath room is definitely not suitable for 2 person on a business trip. All of the staffs are rude even when we can communicate in mandarin. The central heater is never switched on and the service staff will only come into your room to do useless adjustments to the heater switches. When reported to the reception, their response was 'our front desk is cold' (thats too bad for the visitors).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenyang, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

My wife and I got what I believe was called a "superior" room, one step above the starting level. We booked online, getting a room with a twin bed, and discovered our room had two twins. No problems.

The hotel has staff that speaks English. This is always good to know for us foreigners.

If I shared a room with a business partner, I would have been in for a shock. The bathroom has no door. It has a frosted glass wall separating it from the bedroom area. There was a sliding glass door that blocked either the toilet or the shower. If one of average height walked in to the bathroom while someone was in there, one could see a little too much, as only 2/3rds or less of the sliding door was frosted. This was unsettling and inconvenient. There was also a wall-length mirror in the bathroom. This, in combination with the two beds in the room, sent a mixed message: Was it meant for friends and business partners, or for lovers? Nevertheless, the sliding glass door was effective at sealing in unpleasant noises.

As far as I can tell, frosted glass is a trend in Chinese bathrooms, though I am unsure if they are a trend in the West. I think many American travelers would be more comfortable with a traditional bathroom without the glass and with a wooden door to enclose it.

The bed was comfortable, our night's rest was peaceful and quiet. The price was fair. The location was convenient, located near the East Train Station and a shopping district, not to mention the US Consulate. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

This hotel is good value for the money ,the service is outstanding ,we are from Canada so the food is not what we really like ,but the hotel has a great breakfast with north american food ,we found a great Italian restaurant called dannys Google the location the food is awesome if you not into the chinese food ,and its only a ten rmb ride from the hotel

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

If you're looking for a nice place to stay at an affordable price, this place is for you. I attended the Canton Fair last October in Guangzhou. I travelled with my brother and a friend. We were three in the room. There is no charge for the extra-person. However, the buffet breakfast is for two only. You have to pay around 168 RMB for the breakfast. We didn't get another buffet breakfast since it's costly. The food outside the hotel costs around 13 RMB (at the cheapest price).

The lobby is spacious. The ceiling in the hallways is a bit low. My brother can touch the ceiling. But when we got to our room, the ceiling is high enough. The room was neat and tidy. Our room has a window overviewing the restaurants and roads. In addition, there is complimentary bottled water everyday. There is also a business center where you can print your business reports or university stuff. The hotel sits in a good location. It is walking distance to the railway station. It will take you around 10-15 minutes to get to the train. It is also near Jinguo Hotel where we claimed our IC Badges for the fair. The hotel also services a free bus to the Canton Fair. On our first day, the bus left us. We got a taxi cab. It cost us around 180 RMB from the hotel to the Pazhou Complex. And the travel time is around 15-30 minutes.

We haven't checked out the nightlife because we were tired from the fair. On our last day, we checked out the Chimelong rides. It's a good ride for yuppies. We plan to return for the safari and theater acts this year. Also, the staffs were friendly. They can speak English and guided us to the Chimelong center.

Overall, I recommend this hotel to yuppies who would like to check Guangzhou's Canton Fairs.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Landmark International Hotel Science City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark International Hotel Science City Hotel

Address: No.1 Lanyue Road, Luogang District, Guangzhou 510610, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou > Dongpu , Tianhe District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#139 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Landmark International Hotel Science City Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark International (Science City) Hotel, a subsidiary of Guangdong CTS Landmark Hotel Holding Ltd., is located in the heart of the high technological develop zone-Guangzhou Science City of Luogang District. It is a multifunctional and commercial boutique hotel of accommodation, conference, business, food and beverage, entertainment as well as leisure.Enjoying the prime location, the hotel boasts the transportation conveniences: It takes only 10 minutes drive away from Pazhou International Exhibition Complex, 20 minutes from Eastern Railway Station and Baiyun International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your Landmark International Hotel Science City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark International Hotel Guangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landmark International Hotel Science City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.