We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like the room, like the buffet ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Guangzhou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Guangzhou to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.12 Zhujiang West Road, Pearl River New City, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510623, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Super Smart Saver
Ranked #9 of 2,821 Hotels in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 stars 547 Reviews
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Like the room, like the buffet ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I like the room design of this hotel. The rooms feature a spacious hallway with wardrobes, separate toilet / bathroom and a main bedroom with a small sofa and desk. The layout is really great as the rooms feel more like a mini-apartment, rather than the standard hotel room.

Had dinner at the buffet upstairs. The buffet features a wide choice of food, with Alaskan crab legs as the special. I normally have boiled Alaskan crabs cold from the fish market, but I really like the Asian way of cooking them.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhyatt_guangzhou, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Guangzhou, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to pass on your comments following your recent stay at Grand Hyatt Guangzhou. We would like to take this opportunity to express our appreciation for your constructive feedback.We truly appreciate your kind patronage and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Grand Hyatt Guangzhou in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Grand Hyatt Guangzhou, China
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    214
    54
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
23
30
201
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The rooms are nice, clean, and spacious, but that's to be expected of a hotel in this class. There are two things which sets this property apart for me. One is the breakfast buffet which is, in my opinion, the very best of any hotel I've ever stayed in. Lots of choices, well-prepared, and fresh, it is a great way to start the day. The most important quality, however, is the staff. They are kind and attentive and their English is quite good. The remember my name, my favorite wine, my favorite table, and that I like the newspaper with my breakfast. Chris Chen, in the Market Cafe is to be commended for his attentiveness and that of his entire team.

Having to be away from home for weeks at a time can be a challenge, but hotels such as this one take the edge off.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhyatt_guangzhou, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Guangzhou, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to pass on your comments following your recent stay at Grand Hyatt Guangzhou. We would like to take this opportunity to express our appreciation for your constructive feedback.We truly appreciate your kind patronage and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Grand Hyatt Guangzhou in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Grand Hyatt Guangzhou, China
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daly City, California, United States
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
429 helpful votes 429 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Service is really good. Probably one of the best in the business. We chose this hotel because it was near the US consulate. Just about 10 minutes away by car.

The breakfast is great. Plentiful and lots of variety.

The lunch at the Guan Xi bar is pretty good as well. Don't get the set lunch though. You are better off ordering all you can eat salad which cost 168 rmb and another dish. The waygu beef was absolutely amazing.

Staff is great they speak cantonese, english and mandarin.

However, here were some problems.

Most of the rooms on the 16th floor while they are supposed to be non smoking rooms still have smoke residue in them. We ended up having to switch rooms two times before being placed on the 19th floor.

The rooms are just really strange. I guess if you are bringing your girlfriend or female companion the room set up would be okay.

The room when you enter it feels kind of like a mirror maze.

The bathroom is just soooo tiny.

Bathtub is a kiddy bathtub and the shower room is see through. Even if you close the blinds you can see from the sides as it's just a 4 way glass room.

The worst part however of the design of the room is if you get a room that has a king or a double bed. The night light shines in your face. When you turn off the night light the orange light for the button turns on and it's also right in your face. Hence, no matter what you do a light shines in your face while you sleep.

Which led to really bad nights of sleep.

All in all great service however, the rooms are just designed poorly and the person designing the rooms should be fired and never hired again.

Also, you can log onto Facebook and youtube from here without a VPN.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhyatt_guangzhou, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Guangzhou, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to pass on your comments following your recent stay at Grand Hyatt Guangzhou. We would like to take this opportunity to express our appreciation for your constructive feedback.We truly appreciate your kind patronage and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Grand Hyatt Guangzhou in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Grand Hyatt Guangzhou, China
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saipan, Mariana Islands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Travelled to Guangzhou for a trade show. Guangzhou was absolutely packed with convention attendees and it was tough to get a booking anywhere. Happened to get a room using my club at the Hyatt. True to form, the hotel was awesome and F&B was top notch.

Room Tip: Great wine!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhyatt_guangzhou, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Guangzhou, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to pass on your comments following your recent stay at Grand Hyatt Guangzhou. We would like to take this opportunity to express our appreciation for your constructive feedback.We truly appreciate your kind patronage and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Grand Hyatt Guangzhou in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Grand Hyatt Guangzhou, China
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau Region, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

A great hotel with great location and with nice surroundings, close to the Opera and City's Museum, with underground line nearby. Rooms are fresh and clean, with nice views over the park. People are friendly. I hated the reception in the 22 or 24 floor and the need to change lift going up and down every time I need to come out or enter my room. But I would recommend the hotel to a friend and probably I would come again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This hotel was excellent on many levels. The location is perfect for walking around at night. Its safe and there are interesting things to see if you walk toward the river and Canton tower. The rooms in the Grand Hyatt are beautifully designed and provide everything you could possible need. I love the look of the room and how the bathroom was a major feature of the room. The head, the shower and the sink and had their own space. You can see the view of the city from inside the glass enclosed shower or push a button and have a curtain come down to provide privacy. The room has a nice desk area to work at plus a separate sitting area by the window if you just need to relax. Very spacious. The TV was huge and swung out from the wall so that it can be watched from either the bed or the sitting area. The problem with that is that its mounted over the desk so if its swung out, its in your way when you use the desk and you can't watch it from there. The view out the window allowed me to see the park below and the lights of the city above. The restaurant was excellent and very expensive. The breakfast buffet was as nice as any hotel buffet I've ever seen. Lots of choices and everything tastes great. Staff at the hotel is top notch. There was an issue during my check-in that caused a long delay in getting my key but other than that, I was completely satisfied and impressed with the professionalism of the Hotel Staff. Overall, I'd say this was the nicest hotel I've ever stayed in and would love to come back some day.

Room Tip: The lobby of the hotel is on the 22nd floor so your room will be on a lower floor. Prepare yourself...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel not only looked amazing but was perfectly located to let you enjoy local scenery.
Hotel was very clean and staff very helpful. Being from England it was nice to have a few western comforts. Rooms are amazing and spotless with everything you require on hand.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhyatt_guangzhou, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Guangzhou, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to pass on your comments following your recent stay at Grand Hyatt Guangzhou. We would like to take this opportunity to express our appreciation for your constructive feedback.We truly appreciate your kind patronage and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Grand Hyatt Guangzhou in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Grand Hyatt Guangzhou, China
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Guangzhou

Address: No.12 Zhujiang West Road, Pearl River New City, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510623, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#8 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#8 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#121 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Guangzhou Hotel Guangzhou
Guangzhou Grand Hyatt
Guangzhou Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Guangzhou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.