We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Position in Tianhe.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ascott Guangzhou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ascott Guangzhou to your Saves list
Ascott Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   No.73 Tianhe East Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510630, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 2,821 Hotels in Guangzhou
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Position in Tianhe.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Although Oakwood is better and more comfortable.
Ascott is in a better position.
Rooms are spacious and clean.
Breakfast was a bit disappointing, but downstairs is Wu Hong Kong Cuisine.
We ate there every night.!!!

Room Tip: Higher the better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    42
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
8
2
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The apartment was very well furnished and equipped with all amenities of a home and facilities of a hotel. Helpful staff and good breakfast. Clean, comfortable and convenient. Close to 2 subway stations, shopping malls and many popular restaurants. The main road, Tianhe Road is always busy with heavy traffic. Taking the subway may actually be faster than taxi especially during peak hour traffic.
Some restaurants nearby provide delivery service with a small surcharge. The HongKong style cafe in the basement always has a line waiting. If you order from the menu in the apartment you can bypass the queue and eat in the comfort of your 'home'. Our order came in 10 minutes and food was still piping hot. Delivery charge is only 3 rmb. Certainly beats waiting at the restaurant.
Excellent place to stay in Guangzhou.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frontoffice_AGZ, Owner at Ascott Guangzhou, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We appreciate your review in our favor at Tripadvisor; it is greatly appreciated by the team at Ascott Guangzhou. We are glad to know your recent stay with us has been pleasant and we look forward to have the chance to be of service to you again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great room rate , washing machine and self contained room.
Approximately 350meters to the subway. station (Shipaiqiao...)
Next door to the bank,and 24hr shop.
Across the road is a massive modern shopping centre that's open until 10pm at least, with an awesome food hall on level B1 - ( definately check this out... Cheap, new massive selection) and a supermarket on level B2- ole"
lovely neat clean room.
Locctane shampoos and soaps
Great selection for buffet breakfast- certainly worth it.
Bose stereo system in the room and free internet .
China post is about 300meters away if your partner shops too much at the wholesale markets around town .
And smiling friendly helpful Chinese staff a lot speak fluent English as do many in the Tianhe district.
They were renovating the reception on my last day no doubt to make things exceptional .Although there was no noise, that was scheduled for a couple of days. Don't let that deter you from all the positives.
We shall definitely return and stay here again as we both loved it.
Private car from the airport is around the 600rmb mark, taxi is 140rmb or
subway with one quick change on the same platform line 3 at Tiyu xilu station will cost you 8rmb.(2.50 aud)
Certainly take a look at new town 1 subway stop ( cost of subway rides are unbelievably cheap, ) or if you taxi it is 14rmb ($2 Aussie ) , there is a huge park near the river and a great place to watch the Led light show on the buildings , lots of restaurants and bars. Water fountains that dance with the music at night .
Subway is the best to get around , clean , quick, no traffic , or fumes and a lot of color .
A lot of people smile in Guangzhou and children, also ladies just pop up and translate to English when you need it out of the blue.
Very safe area and beautiful family friendly atmosphere.
We shall certainly stay here again as we loved the Guangzhou experience and weather.
Thank you staff at the ascott apartments
Jack and samantha

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Spacious, clean and modern. You have a small kitchen to do your cooking, a separate sitting area and a work desk for your business needs. You'll enjoy Loccitane products in the bathroom. Breakfast was good, serving mainly hot food. Location is close to the train station, which was just across the road. 2 negatives: terrible wi fi connection and pillows that are too soft. Aside from that, it's a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We were moving to Guangzhou and we stayed at Ascott for 1week. Although Ascott is getting old, it is still a nice clean hotel in an excellent location with malls and downtown. Just across a little side street is a nice mall with a very good supermarket called Ole' with lots of imported products and good food court with plenty of food to choose from. You can always order some food to be delivered (Papa John's, etc). We had a family room with kitchenette and washer, so family life was good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed for 2 days and quite happy except the in room WiFi which is sub sub standard especially at night time and in the morning. Mission Impossibale!

Breakfast is just average and not much to talk about.

As for the pool, you can forget about it, it is just a big bath tub. I am a business traveller so I don't really care.

The room is spacious and clean. The bathroom amenties is better than average. Only that the two TVs are a little small.

The big mall across the street is The Mall to go in GZ if you are look for LV, Prada and etc.. Good selection of restaurants as well. Just about anthing you need you could find it there.

Conclusion: I will stay again.

Room Tip: Do not pick a room facing the East which is a mjor route in GZ, very noisy in the monring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack C, Owner at Ascott Guangzhou, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing Ascott Guangzhou as your preferred accommodation in Guangzhou, and for your review.

We regret to hear that your stay experience has been affected by your WIFI service. Please be advised we have recently changed our internet service provider and we are in the midst of upgrading our broadband bandwidth.

It’s definitely our great pleasure to know that you would like to stay with us again and we are looking forward to offer you a more pleasant stay for your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Jack Chen
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed at Ascott in Guangzhou for about a month while working in China. The overall feeling is a calm and clean hotel with very good service. The included breakfast was good. My hotel room in the higher floors was very good with a TV, Playstation, kitchen, washing machine and everything a visitor will ever need. Especially those staying for a longer period of time. When I was there, there was a lot of construction work, hence quite dusty outside. However, I don't think this is a problem anymore. The location is not the best but it was walking distance from major shopping centers and small stores etc. You have to try the Japanese restaurant at the backside of the hotel, in the same building. The French restaurant is not as good and offered typical boring tourist food. The Japanese buffé is a must. I highly recommend this hotel if you're on a longer visit in Guangzhou.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ascott Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott Guangzhou

Address: No.73 Tianhe East Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510630, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#17 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#109 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascott Guangzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bask in the grandeur of Ascott Guangzhou, a fully serviced luxury residence that offers elegant style with discretion for the busy utive on the move. Situated in the bustling financial centre of Tianhe District, its prime location in Guangzhous commercial hub means that major corporations, banks and consulates are all just a stones throw away. Enjoy easy access to shops, tourist attractions, public transport and exotic restaurants that make Guangzhou such a celebrated gourmet paradise. The newly opened Pazhou Exhibition Centre is also just minutes away, where the famous Canton Fair is held. At Ascott Guangzhou, revel in plush surrounds with posh furnishings and an exclusive environment for luxurious living. Whether for work or leisure, it is a chic spot to call home. Each apartment comes with an opulent living space and every creature comfort you will need – from a fully-equipped kitchen to a sleek home entertainment system and high speed broadband internet access. After a long day, soak in the pool, work out at the gym or rejuvenate with a spa treatment – you will be spoilt for choice. With our efficient business support services, working remotely has never been more convenient. Conduct a meeting in one of our function rooms or enjoy a networking cocktail in the lounge. During your stay, experience Ascott’s signature Heartware service – discreet and always striving to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ascott Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott Guangzhou Hotel Guangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascott Guangzhou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.