We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anwar Al Madinah Moevenpick Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Anwar Al Madinah Moevenpick Hotel to your Saves list
Anwar Al Madinah Moevenpick Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 41340 | Central Zone, Medina, Saudi Arabia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 108 Hotels in Medina
mombasa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I stayed here for about a week this ramadhan. The hotel is in the front line of the haram, though on the far left, it is the last hotel in the line . The location is ok, a bit of a walk if you are planning to go to the rawdah , which means walking all the way to the far right.
However the hotel is very nice, the rooms and bathrooms are clean and have all necessary amenities. I was surprised that my double room had 4 huge beds enough to accommodate 4 or more, I felt a bit tight on space to move around in the room, as the beds covered most of the space!
The staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel has a nice coffee shop that sells tasty and huge shawarma with lovely pita bread and the pizzas are good too. This made a very convinient place to eat especially in ramadhan as most restaurants outside are so full . They also have a nice restaurant offering indian, Italian,oriental and Turkish cuisine . The prices were not bad.Has good barbecues. The suhour was excellent , big spread and lots to choose from!
The hotel is situated inside a mall, nice shops ..everything available and a floor down is bin da wood supermarket so very convinient!! I wouldn't mind staying here again, the rates are also very reasonable to other front line hotels, I would recommend . Only no speaker in room, so you won't hear adhan or prayers, but they give you a timetable when you arrive , so make sure you get to masjid in time !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdy G, Assistant Communications Manager at Anwar Al Madinah Moevenpick Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Dear Raha

First Of All, we would like to thank you for your positive review concerning your recent stay at our hotel. It is very rewarding to learn that our Hotel aspects met your expectations and that the quality of services provided by the hotel team came up to your liking.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you once again to Anwar Al Madinah Moevenpick Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    102
    44
    16
    16
See reviews for
160
37
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I have stayed @ the hotel for 4 days. it is one of the best Movenpick hotel I have ever stayed in world wide. the staff are very friendly & cooperative. the location is in front of Holy Mosque in Madinah immediately. The hotel contains a shopping mall & Hyper Market so everything you need is there to enjoy a stay in Madinah

Room Tip: Take a room in one of the executive floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdy G, Assistant Communications Manager at Anwar Al Madinah Moevenpick Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Dear Mr. Abdulmoez

First Of All, we would like to thank you for your positive review concerning your recent stay at our hotel. It is very rewarding to learn that our Hotel aspects met your expectations and that the quality of services provided by the hotel team came up to your liking.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you once again to Anwar Al Madinah Moevenpick Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria Governorate, Egypt
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

this hotel is very near of the profit mosque you do not have to walk any more it just few steps
the lobby is very large and nice in the first floor
the room is very large and clear and the staff is very helpful
free coffee in all praying time
the rooms have a marvelous view to the mosque
great place

Room Tip: the rooms witch have haram view is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdy G, Assistant Communications Manager at Anwar Al Madinah Moevenpick Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Dear Mr. Magdy

First Of All, we would like to thank you for your positive review concerning your recent stay at our hotel. It is very rewarding to learn that our Hotel aspects met your expectations and that the quality of services provided by the hotel team came up to your liking.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you once again to Anwar Al Madinah Moevenpick Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangi
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed at this hotel during my umrah with the family. The location of the hotel is good, it's at one corner of Masjid Nabawi. The hotel is also part of a mall complex, so you don't have to travel far to shop.
The check in was smooth for my group and the front desk was helpful in assisting us to our rooms. My room came with 4 beds & a kitchen pantry which was very useful with the kids around. Sleep quality was excellent.
I wasn't too pleased with the 2 devices limit for internet access. Nowadays everyone carries a mobile device. The hotel should look into increasing the limit especially for large groups.
Overall it was an enjoyable stay. My main focus was on praying and ziarah, but it was pleasant to have nice hotel to rest these weary bones.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdy G, Assistant Communications Manager at Anwar Al Madinah Moevenpick Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Dear mikaelangelo

First Of All, we would like to thank you for your positive review concerning your recent stay at our hotel. It is very rewarding to learn that our Hotel aspects met your expectations and that the quality of services provided by the hotel team came up to your liking.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you once again to Anwar Al Madinah Moevenpick Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

my second visit to Madinah, I brought my parent, elder people and kid.

I decided to stay here as the location is just about a throw of a stone.

Elder people especially women will be more spoiled by its location which is closed to Ladies Entrance. As for men, it is relatively close to Raudhah.

Another point of this hotel is close to Saqiifah Garden, a place where Abu Bakr firstly elected to be first caliph.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdy G, at Anwar Al Madinah Moevenpick Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Dear Chornea

First Of All, we would like to thank you for your positive review concerning your recent stay at our hotel. It is very rewarding to learn that our Hotel aspects met your expectations and that the quality of services provided by the hotel team came up to your liking.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you once again to Anwar Al Madinah Moevenpick Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh Province, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Me and my family enjoyed the hotel.
Good points include:
Spacious clean rooms, good value room service, great breakfast, great location.
Points that need to be considered:
Very small only bathroom for four people,very pricey, internet service only for two devices+ no youtube,
In all a pleasant stay. I would visit this hotel again (:

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdy G, Assistant Communications Manager at Anwar Al Madinah Moevenpick Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Dear Mr. Maqs

First Of All, we would like to thank you for your positive review concerning your recent stay at our hotel. It is very rewarding to learn that our Hotel aspects met your expectations and that the quality of services provided by the hotel team came up to your liking.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you once again to Anwar Al Madinah Moevenpick Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Just got back from here I don't even know where to start from the hotel location is spot on it's very near to gates to haram but saying that if you look around theirs 100s more hotel going around square which are that close the staff are full of lies always giving false hopes even when you tip them thinking they will try they best to resolves your issues that your having.

Hotel wifi only allowed to connect to 2 devices per room even tho I had a booking for 4people room the do not give more then 2 toiletries e.g only 2 toothbrush that's only what they offer no cutleries if want knife or spoon or plate per person has to pay 15s.r for one person set wthat the hell.
Your better off going down stairs in to Bin Daoud whooping center which like tesco or asdas and buying your on plastic plates cups knife and will cost you around 6s.r which I end up doing they don't officer microwave so forget about you warming your food or baby's milk the concierge staff is to be very careful of cheating lying scums asked me to pay for taxi to airport 165s.r per person yeah that's right that's what they asked me per person and apparently that's the best rate.

I Got two taxi like not one of them fake taxi a proper taxi register taxi I needed two cats as I had lots of luggage it was 4of us and we ended up taking two taxi which charged us 60.s.r each and was only 15 min journey to airport

So I advice anyone who is thinking people in the blessed land and a holy place will not cheat or tell lie we are kidding our self in fact you will see so much more it's a shame these people bring a bad images on Muslims all around the world

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdy G, Communication Executive at Anwar Al Madinah Moevenpick Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anwar Al Madinah Moevenpick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anwar Al Madinah Moevenpick Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 41340 | Central Zone, Medina, Saudi Arabia
Location: Saudi Arabia > Al Madinah Province > Medina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 108 Hotels in Medina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anwar Al Madinah Moevenpick Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 1295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anwar al Madinah Mövenpick Hotel is Madinah’s largest hotel. It offers extensive facilities for families, individual travellers and leisure groups. As well as being the nearest hotel to the Prophet’s Mosque, it is also close to all main attractions in Madinah. The hotel is directly linked to the shopping mall with underground parking. Close to Masjid Al Nabawi, the Anwar al Madinah Mövenpick Hotel is located in the centre of the commercial district. It is the nearest hotel to the Ladies’ Prayer Entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Anwar Al Madinah Moevenpick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anwar Al Madinah Moevenpick Hotel Medina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anwar Al Madinah Moevenpick Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.