We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay but don't expect to walk anywhere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Medina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Medina to your Saves list
Le Meridien Medina
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Khaled Bin El Waleed Road | PO Box 1735, Medina, Saudi Arabia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 116 Hotels in Medina
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Decent place to stay but don't expect to walk anywhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the Le Meridien Medina while traveling in Saudi Arabia. I was told that the hotel used to be a Sheraton hotel. The hotel was ok. It seemed pretty empty while I was there and it was very dimly lit. We had buffets for breakfast and dinner and the food was pretty decent. The hotel is not very close to the center of town and you will need to take a Taxi everywhere. If you plan on sightseeing and want to spend a lot of time at the Haram, I might suggest a closer hotel. Overall the hotel was ok but not up to the standards of some of the other Le Meridien hotels I have stayed in. I think this is one of the major hotels for airline crew in the area.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for your SPG upgrade. They won't give it to you unless you ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    13
    12
    5
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a decent place to stay, with generally clean and comfortable rooms. I have no complaints about the facilities, and even though it is quite far out from everything in town the hotel has a shuttle to the Haram. I didn't take the shuttle but was told it has regular timings.
I didn't eat in the restaurants but the room device was very good, the "mixed grill" was delicious and came with a variety of accompanying dishes.
The main issues of concern here were related to hotel service-- although I gave my Starwood guest number I was never credited with the points (and can't find my receipt now to claim them!) and (even more of concern) I was not given clear information several times about my driver and car (when it came, etc.) from the front desk. This led to a problem where I left the hotel late (as the front desk did not call up to tell me the car was here, as requested) and almost missed my outgoing flight. I think these problems were due to language issues (I only speak English).
As a woman traveling alone in KSA I appreciated the feeling of security and respect from the staff this hotel, and the privacy that they gave to me. I felt comfortable staying here and found the public areas to be open and well lit, and the locks on the doors to work properly (not the case in all the hotels on this trip, as I'll post in my next reviews!). I did not find out if there was an eating area for women only, but the room service was good.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is a hotel used by locals for wedding receptions and for foreign airline crews (because the hotel is outside the Haram area. The location is isolated from shops/restaurants.

Their are frequent shuttles to and from the Haram in Madinah (It is about a 10-15 minute drive away)

Rooms are fine and very spacious. Beds are great.

Room Tip: Stay away from the reception halls if you want to get a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel on and off for 5 years, and still the internet doesn't work. When you call the front desk you get the same story now that you get 5 years ago. And that is " The IT Manager will be in at 9am " ,, Totally useless people answering the phone that do not care at all. TV channels,, two or 3 english channels, and CNN and BBC do not count as entertainment. At 10:30pm at night my phone rings and it's housekeeping asking if I want my room cleaned. Woke me up from a sleep as I had to depart at 2am. This is not what I needed at all. Indian and Pakistani staff in house keeping that do not care. Normally breakfast comes with the room but not at this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel if possible. There are not many choices in Medinah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

I would say that the hotel cleanliness is okay, room is comfortable. However, the hotel receptionist service is terrible. They are impolite, rude to guest, not helpful. I believe that they even do not know what does hospitality line. Althought they are sitting at the front desk. I would not suggest this hotel unless they put some improvement.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

The hotel is renovated now. Room are fine but not clean enough!!!
Hotel staff are not friendly and dont try there best to help you.
Room service is OK (average).
Internet is free and wireless.

Overall I didnt like it, dose not look like a Meridien at all, I wont stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2005

The hotel was formerly the Sheraton and is looking old and tired but slowly being renovated. At this time none of the renovated rooms are available. Reception staff try to do their job but mostly ineffectively. Difficult to make a booking. Food sometimes inedible in the restaurant and at the best of times very average. Television is mostly in Arabic or Indian with only CNN and 1 movie channel available in english. No pool or gymnasium.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Medina

Address: Khaled Bin El Waleed Road | PO Box 1735, Medina, Saudi Arabia
Location: Saudi Arabia > Al Madinah Province > Medina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Medina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Medina 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Meridien Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Medina Hotel Medina
Medina Le Meridien
Le Meridien Medina Al Madinah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.