We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way below expectations !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shaza Al Madina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Shaza Al Madina to your Saves list
Shaza Al Madina
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   King Fahad Road | P.O. Box 25517, Postal Code 41476, Building No# 2943, Central Area, Medina, Saudi Arabia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 116 Hotels in Medina
Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Way below expectations !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

we were surprised that such a place is rated 5 stars. rooms are stuffy and needed some serious cleaning, bathroom leaky and very unpleasant.. there was nothing 5* about it, except the good location close to Al Masjid Al Nabawi..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, General Manager at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Mrs. Deena M,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are deeply regretful for the unhappy experience that you had encountered during your stay at Shaza Al Madina which resulted to not meeting your expectations . However, please note that your comments have been raised with the concerned department who is taking a serious look at the issue.

We hope these incidents will not mar your impression of our hotel and we hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you with impeccable service, upon your next visit to Al Madinah Al Munawarah.

With Sincere Regards,

Brahim Robio,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    123
    48
    19
    25
See reviews for
241
57
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

first of all the service of Shaza Al Madina Hotel was perfect also the location near prophet masjid .
About breakfast buffet was with live cook and different choice of food.
Finally about our room there was problem with net put the problem was solve by front office Manager upgrade our room to suite room .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, General Manager at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Mr. BuMouza,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review and share your experience at Shaza Al Madina.

We were delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and we will be more delighted to give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future and upon your next visit to Al Madinah Al Monawarah.

With Sincere Regards,
Brahim Robio,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

It was worst stay of my life. When I reached there with my family, they refused to check us in saying they have not got money from you. And said we can not go in till they receive full payment. I told them my wife is sick and we cant wait but no use. I told them I am not checking out and you can see payment issues later but they kept me waiting with family for 1 hour. And even then they gave room on my continuos protest.
The hotel, its location and services were good but the way they behaved has faded it all. YOu people should have clear dela with them. If you take money you should ensure peoper services delivery too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, General Manager at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Mr. Hussain,

Thank you very much for posting the above review.

We are deeply regretful for the unhappy experience you may have encountered during your stay at Shaza Al Madina. Please note that your comments has raised and discussed with the concern departments who confirmed to carefully reviewing the whole process and implementing the relevant aspects required. We are making every effort that such incidents do not occur in the future.

We hope the incident will not more your impression of our hotel and we will endeavor to do everything possible to make your future stays enjoyable.


With Sincere Regards

Brahim Robio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Its been a great pleasure to be check-in on this hotel.

Very unique, classy and comfortable stay.

Room was very spacious, clean and well organized.

Staff are very friendly and approachable.

Breakfast buffet was really really amazing, they have all what you need in your table for your meal.

From hot to cold, even the variety of egg, specially live station omelet.

There is one filipino guy that i always seen, rounding and rounding, i think his the responsible in the buffet.
I saw him in salads, then in pan cake, then in omelet, then looking and checking for the hot items.

Even his doing all, you can see in his face specially in his eyes the gratitude of being happy to serve the guests needs.

Over all, i enjoyed staying in this hotel...

I would recommed this to our fellow business partners.

Keep it up guys.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, General Manager at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Ziad K,

thank you for sharing your review with us and it gives us an immense delight that you have enjoyed your stay at Shaza Al Madina.

Your positive comments regarding the rooms , breakfast and our team member Ihsan who was checking on the food all the time are highly appreciated and have been communicated with the concerned.

We look forward to welcome you again at Shaza Al Madina.

Thank you

Brahim Robio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed at this hotel 2years ago, I had a lovely stay there both times. Rooms are well taken care of, really clean and maintained which is very important as it is a busy hotel. Check in was really efficient and welcoming. Staff are really really friendly and always willing to help. I mainly stay at this hotel as the location to the grand mosque is very near. It is a hotel that is near to everything, food, haram, shopping malls and easy to find taxis around this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, General Manager at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Samee S,

We are truly delighted to read your review and share it with our team .And we consider it a distinct privilege to welcome you at Shaza Al Madina.

Thank you for sharing your valuable comment , it certainly encourage us to perform more.

We look forward to welcome you again at Shaza Al Madina,

Warm regards

Brahim Robio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

At first impressions the hotel is very dark and only lit by candlelight on the ground floor. The rooms also lacked natural light as the furniture was dark and windows very small. This was my main disappointment for the hotel. The furniture is somewhat tired and cream carpets stained. however it was a comfortable room and breakfast was good in terms of choice but service needs improvement. I think the restaurant cannot cater for the volume of people and does not have enough tables and staff. It would have been nice to have fresh fruits for breakfast and a cleaner environment.
I would recommend this hotel to friends but it does need improvements to make it 5 star.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, General Manager at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Salma L,

Thank you for sharing with us your valuable feedback , it certainly encourage us to review and improve our services.

Your comments regarding lighting , Furniture & carpet and Fruit refreshment & environment cleanliness in the restaurant are appreciated and being followed up with the concerned departments.

We look forward to welcome you again at Shaza Al Madina .

Warm Regards,

Brahim Robio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as part of our Umrah trip, and we had a very very pleasant stay. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a suite, due to triple rooms no longer being available, so we were very comfortable as we effectively had 2 rooms – a double bedroom and a living room where the sofa was turned into a double bed for our 2 children. The beds were extremely comfortable! We also enjoyed and made use of the table with chairs in the living room where we had most of our meals (take away’s during the day). The bathroom was very nice and spacious with a large shower room.

Having read some of the other reviews, I would agree with the fact that some of the furniture / carpets etc. can be a bit worn out and outdated, but that did not impact our stay negatively.

In terms of service, we had no problems with the service in the room – when we called to have the sofa bed made up, someone was with us within minutes. We used room service and had no problems with that, and we received daily calls to ask whether everything was ok with our stay.

The location of the hotel is perfect as it’s very close to the masjid, and the hotel has 2 separate entrances at each side of the block, which makes it easier to access either the men’s gates or the women’s gates of the masjid.

The only downside for me was the fact that service at breakfast time wasn’t always great. The tables weren’t cleaned very well after people had left – crumbs were left everywhere on the table and chairs, and the tables weren’t really re-set properly, with items always missing (cutlery, napkins etc.), and it always took a long time for staff to replace the items (after being asked), IF they did that at all. Other than that, the variety and quality of the food for breakfast was excellent.

We didn’t try the food in the hotel restaurant as the set price per person seemed a bit excessive for a buffet meal, especially compared to the prices outside the hotel. Having said that, the variety of food available outside the hotel isn’t great, with chicken and chips and kebabs being the only options really.

Service at breakfast aside, we would definitely recommend this hotel, and we will consider this again for any future stays in Madinah.

Room Tip: Go for a suite if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, General Manager at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear WaraLondon,

We are delighted to read your review and learn that you had an enjoyable stay at Shaza Al Madina.

Our main goal is to satisfy our guests and this is what our team is trained for.

Your valuable comments regarding the furniture , carpet , breakfast operations and the prices are appreciated and seriously taken in consideration for improvements that we can make.

We look forward to welcome you again at Shaza Al Madina

Sincerely

Brahim robio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shaza Al Madina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaza Al Madina

Address: King Fahad Road | P.O. Box 25517, Postal Code 41476, Building No# 2943, Central Area, Medina, Saudi Arabia
Location: Saudi Arabia > Al Madinah Province > Medina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Medina
#6 Family Hotel in Medina
#7 Best Value Hotel in Medina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shaza Al Madina 5*
Number of rooms: 469
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shaza Al Madina is the only luxury hotel in the area with a contemporary Eastern design. The hotel sets incomparable levels of hospitality, elegance and state-of-the-art technology. Ideally located at the doorsteps of the Masjid Al Nabawy in Medina, only 150 M. The hotel enjoys a perfect location within the heart of the city and only a short 20 minutes (15 KM) drive from Prince Mohammad Bin Abdulaziz International Airport. Shaza Al Madina two dining options include an open show kitchen, which serves fusion cuisine. Shaza Al Madina’s intimate interiors are filled with mood lighting, created by international designer Morten Hansen of LWD Dubai, in association with calligrapher Mounir Al Sharaani, Egyptian lighting designer Randa Fahmy and with photographic installations by acclaimed Peter Sanders. The hotel’s walls were decorated by Soraya Sanders, famous for her traditional Arabic designs. Fresh and creative cuisine can be tasted at the Shalimar lounge. For a unique blend of North African, Persian and South-East Asian delights, guests are welcome to visit the airy Arabesque Restaurant. Rooms at the Shaza Al Madina are elegant and create the atmosphere of peacefulness. Shaza Al Madina is the ultimate hotel experience in the Middle East, a modern icon where exclusive Arabian luxury meets state of the art facilities. The hotel is designed to cater to every possible need and transport guests to a place of serenity and luxury, a unique haven for the modern traveller who expects only excellence in service and an exquisite ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Shaza Al Madina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaza Al Madina Hotel Medina
Shaza Al Madina Al Madinah/Medina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaza Al Madina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.