We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unexpected treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Al Jubail

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Al Jubail to your Saves list
InterContinental Al Jubail
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Road 101, Al Jubail 31961, Saudi Arabia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Al Jubail
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“unexpected treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

stayed out here for a couple of weeks. The service is top notch. The food is really good (albeit a bit pricey, but it is very good and there are a number of different options to choose from). I would give it a fifth star if there were some things in the immediate vicinity to walk to for a change of pace, and once they renovate the rooms (mine wasn't bad, just know the renovated rooms are pretty nice). Felt very secure here, the security team is very professional and the folks in the lobby are extremely helpful. Great great service in every interaction which is not common these days - so this hotel is doing something right.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... J, Guest Relation Officer at InterContinental Al Jubail, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear gottdownunder,

Warmth Greetings!

First of all thank you very much for your time to write a review in your stay in our hotel, and we are delighted that we meet your expectation, we are looking forward to see back again in our hotel.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    59
    27
    13
    5
See reviews for
11
3
11
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed here for a week during Ramadan. Jubail is an industrial area, so I wasn't expecting much upon arrival, but was pleasantly surprised. The hotel area was securely fenced in, the rooms were more than acceptable, and the nighttime dining in the pavilion outside at the breaking of the fast during Ramadan was quite the experience! Endless food choices and very happy faces made for a memorable first experience in Saudi Arabia.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... J, Guest Relation Officer at InterContinental Al Jubail, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Mr. BBuots,

First of all we are glad to thank you for being with us during Ramadan 2013 in our hotel and writing a review for our hotel.

We are delighted because on your first visit in Saudi Arabia you stayed in our hotel and we made it right to deliver our core purpose which Great Hotel Guest Love. In your first experience we are happy that we part of it, and giving the best service as much as possible we are making sure that every thing was delivered correctly.

Again Mr. BBouts we thank you for your time to write a review with us an we are looking forward to see back again in our hotel.

sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here on business for a week. I was given a room on the 4th floor that was recently renovated. The room was very nice with a great shower, modern flat screen HDTV, daily turn-down, strong wireless reception and a heavenly bed. The AC worked flawlessly. I have nothing but good things to say about the room.

The hotel staff was fabulous and made every attempt to insure my comfort. The buffet was great every night and every morning. The wait staff was attentive without being intrusive. The kitchen was on their game every day. The quality of the food was excellent with different theme nights. I highly recommend the dining experience.

As noted by other reviewers, the hotel is undergoing a renovation but as I left the hotel each morning and didn't return until late, I was unaware of any construction activities other than to notice they have these areas temporarily walled off.

There is a private beach for hotel guests a short walk from the hotel. I spent a couple of hours there one afternoon. They have lounge chairs, umbrellas, towel service and a snack bar. The beach is clean with a small lagoon in which is anchored a platform and a trampoline for the kids. It's a nice way to while away a few hours and catch some rays.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... J, Guest Relation Officer at InterContinental Al Jubail, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Bouyscout,

First of all thank you very much for taking a time to write a review to us. It is our way to provide you the best in class service to deliver our core purpose Great Hotel Guest Love.

Reading your review,we thank you for highlighting the following (Room, Hotel Staff, Renovation and the beach), yes we are under refurbishment to upgrade and align to all state of the art equipment inside the room to deliver high class service to all our valued guest same like you.

We are hoping that on your next visit we will be delighted to serve you again in our hotel.

once again thank you very much.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Intercon Jubail is in the process of being upgraded. It needs it. The rooms whilst nice enough are in need of updating. I cannot fault the level of service, but the facilities should be far better given the level of business.

Food however is excellent. Buffet's good & varied.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... J, Guest Relation Officer at InterContinental Al Jubail, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Rob,

First of all, Thank you very much for taking time to write about your experience with us, It's our honor that your review will keep as valuable comments to improve our services in the hotel.

As we continue to deliver Great Hotel guest love which is our core purpose to all our valued guest, we are in process of refurbishing all our rooms to give high equivalent of experience with us.
We thank you also for the good feedback for your experience in our buffet restaurant hope you enjoy it a lot.

Looking forward to see you back in our hotel and deliver the service as much as possible during your stay

Once again thank you very much Mr. Rob M. for sharing your experience to us.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Jubail, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Chef Jacques updated the menu down in the Ranch, same great steaks, and excellent service from Jamshed and Zeeshan. But he added some new things to the menu. Try the burgers they are pretty good. I'm from Texas and been staying at the Intercon on and off for over year, this as close as I can get to real texmex food.

Room Tip: IF you are staying more than 2 weeks get the Ambassador program , its $200us but you get free break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... J, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Al Jubail, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Shannon N.

First of all thank you very much for taking time to write a review to us and thank you in appreciating what our Chef prepared for you.

We assures that all our food are delivered in high standard of product that give satisfactions to our valued guest like you and we have trained all our staff to higher level of hospitality mentioning the name of the following colleagues, Chef Jaques, Jamsed and Zeeshan.

we look forward seeing you in our hotel to deliver best in class Intercontinental experience.

once again thank you,

best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed here for three weeks during Ramadan. Which means everything was closed from dawn to sundown. Still it worked: they had breakfast buffet way in the back and box lunches or room service were available during the day. Just be sure to order the box lunch the night before for pickup at the front desk (easiest). The Lebanese restaurant was my favorite; the Tex-Mex just wasn't good enough without margaritas. I had an old room while the other side of the hotel was being remodelled. Lots of room, easy access to internet in room. Service was always first rate. Laundry service was fast and easy: they pick up the dirty clothes and you get it back clean, in plastic, with little cloth tags of your room number that you'll find later and take off. Meals were great. The no-alcohol thing got tiring. "Beer" is offered but it's not even the non-alcoholic stuff that tastes like beer sometimes. You may have better luck, but I tried the 'beer' twice and said never again. The beach was great, clean and nice water. At Ramadan time no food or drink so I was often the only one there. Showers just before beach in change house were the best, with good water pressure always. Marble everywhere, even in the pool where it was darn slippery. The gym in the basement was nice. I used it often even though I'm usually not a fan. Again I'll say: service was always great, very helpful. You won't regret staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room. The old ones are nice, but funky carpet and poor water pressure. Or maybe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... J, Guest Relation Officer at InterContinental Al Jubail, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Tallmerlin,

First of all thank you very much for your taking a time to write about your experience with us, it's our pleasure to hear want are the things that you faces during your stay.

As we are delivering our Core Purpose to give the best service as much as possible to you. Reading your review we are delighted that you give us 4 ratings that means that most of your expectation meets. About the drinks that you mentioned unfortunately we cannot do something as this beverage is prohibited in this country. We want to highlight about the darn slippery swimming pool we address this issue to our concern department and act accordingly.

Again thank you very much for the time and we hope to see you back in our hotel to delver Great hotel Guest Love.

Sincerely yours;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Intercontinental in Jubail is a great hotel that is currently being renovated. I imagine the original property was built in the late 70s/early 80s, but it's still an attractive and relaxing place to stay. I stayed in a redone room, which was very comfortable indeed, with a great bed, tasteful furnishing, useful desk, and a good internet connection.

Service is prompt and friendly, and the food choices are great. The hotel, however, is let down by a few flaws: the air-conditioning in the gym barely works and can't be set to a cooler temperature, the televisions in the rooms don't work properly (screens black out for a few seconds every five minutes, the remote takes 10 seconds to to be picked up by the television, so if you change the channel it only actually changes 10 seconds after you press the button), and finally -- and most irritatingly -- the staff take no notice of the 'do not disturb' sign that I put up (or to be precise the 'do not disturb' light outside my door). Three times in one day someone barged into my room: to do my bed, check the minibar, or return laundry. Presumably the do not disturb sign should be sufficient to make them wait until later to enter the room. This really frustrated me, as each time they disturbed my rest which is the last thing I needed. Not to mention staff calling me on the phone for a query or another. Michael Jackson comes to mind: just leave me alone!!

Please fix these things Intercontinental and then you'll be 5/5!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... J, Guest Relation Officer at InterContinental Al Jubail, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Mr. RollingStone2011,

First of all thank you very much for taking a time to write with us regarding your stay in our hotel.

Reading your reviews gives a chance to improve some of the area that you mentioned like the remote for our TV and it's screen, And we will advise our team about the DND procedure.

We will take necessary action not to happen again on your next visit this will take us on the next level of service that we can provide to our valued customer like you.

Hope to see back in our hotel and noted your concerned.

Sincerly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Al Jubail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Al Jubail

Address: Road 101, Al Jubail 31961, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Eastern Province > Al Jubail
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Al Jubail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Al Jubail 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Al Jubail is uniquely situated in a perfect business location neighboring industrial cities 1&2 which houses the world's biggest petrochemical and support industries, Easy to reach from Dammam and Bahrain Airport, the hotel also has a private beach with various water sports activities and offers free internet access in rooms, lobby and beach. Our dining experience is different in Intercontinetal al Jubail where you can enjoy international cuisine in the coffee shop with different theme nights on daily basis, Arabic cuisine in Al Diwan restaurant and Tex Mex cuisine in the Ranch restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Al Jubail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Al Jubail Hotel Al Jubail

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Al Jubail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.