We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Fish Camp” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Galley

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Captain's Galley
218 Nc Highway 801 N, Advance, NC 27006-7944
336-940-6868
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 16 Restaurants in Advance
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Statesville, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Average Fish Camp”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

It was just ok. Oysters were frozen and tasted of freezer burn as did the crab cakes. I probably will go back, but I dont expect it to be any better than it was the last couple of times.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Advance, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and super service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We can honestly say we have never had a bad meal at CG! The menu offers a wonderful variety of seafood pastas as well as creative seafood platters. We love to get the Canadian flounder!

Great restaurant!!!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-S, NC
1 review
“Amazing Dining Experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

CG Seafood Shack is a hidden gem in Advance. We drove out from Winston-Salem upon numerous recommendations from friends and were not disappointed! We started off with the best crab dip we have ever had, and continued with 4 different entrees in our group of 4. All the entrees were outstanding!! The crab legs superb, salmon fresh and delicious, and the Rib-eye juicy and moist!! And of course the popcorn shrimp was perfect.. Our service was great and the wine we had complemented our meals perfectly!! We will definitely be going back!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
1 review
“Not worth the trip”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Not a good seafood restaurant. We visited the Bermuda Run location for the first time and we had a party of 4, we all ordered sirloin steaks with a pound add on of snow crab legs , first off we all had requested medium well on the steaks, they all were cooked well done with a couple even having charred spots, my wife's baked potato was not fully cooked. The crab legs were delicious but no where near a pound , more like a small cluster. They were having plumbing issues in the kitchen which delayed our order, then add the fact the soda machine was out added to this bad experience. $90.00 later I wish we had stayed home and cooked hot dogs!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Captains Galley Seafood Shack is fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

Great food, great service, awesome new atmosphere. The seafood is tops in the area, fresh and delicious. And the steaks, chicken, and new appetizers are super!! Great beer and wine list, as well as cocktails. Definitely a must, do yourself a favor and head to the Shack!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain's Galley also viewed

 

Been to Captain's Galley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Galley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.