We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old russian hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Angara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Angara to your Saves list
Hotel Angara
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sukhe Batora St., 7, Irkutsk 664011, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Irkutsk
3.0 of 5 stars 163 Reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good old russian hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Good old Russian hotel, clean , close to all facilities, restaurants , tourist areas, shopping etc.staff were friendly and helpful. Gym didn't work at all but not a big deal. Breakfast was good and ample and would probably stay if I were to return again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    52
    66
    20
    13
See reviews for
8
23
14
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

It was a place not much changed in the past 20 years since the breakup of the Soviet Union style of hospitality, but after camping it was a welcome change. We had a quiet room, although a bit small. The bathroom and shower worked fine. The place was clean. There is an attendant on each floor to make sure you leave your key and they keep your passport until checkout. The location is in the center and in walking distance to most places. The elevator was small and the doors close on you if you are not quick loading your luggage, but it was not the only funny lift we encountered in Russia.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nykarleby
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Ok, I will start by admitting that I haven´t stayed at the Hotel Angara overnight. However, I have visited the hotel a couple of times and everything I have seen contradicts the strong criticism in previous reviews. My impression is more than a quick look since I plan to accomodate a tourist group at the hotel later, and therefore I have looked at rooms on different floors, compared services and talked to many of the employees.

At least the rooms on floors 3,4,5 and 6 are renovated and very modern. The excellent location near the Kirov Square might bring along some traffic noise, so it could be a good idea to chose a room facing the garden (odd numbers).

The lobby is very spacious, the restaurant London Bar is the first one I have seen meeting Western standards in Russia, and their signature London Bar Pizza is delicious. Also, tasteful international soft popmusic is played at a reasonable level instead of the common loud Russian budget techno that is hard to embrace as a foreigner.

Last but not least, the price is not higher than many hostel-like places in Irkutsk, and all staff I have met have been helpful, polite and even smiled at me from time to time. Two receptionists I have talked to have spoken ok English. To me this place seems like one of the best deals in town.

On the flip side rooms are quite small, there is a small fee needed for the luggage room (many hotels do not have one), and they admitted that there might be a problem with hot water sometimes (rarely though).

I am not in any way affiliated to the hotel, I just wanted to balance the reviews already given.

Room Tip: Room on eastern side better. Rooms on floors 5 & 6 entitle to breakfast in the London Pub, accor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed here for one night and will never stay here again or recommend it to anyone. The front desk reception need to go back to hospitality school and learn how to provide customer service in a hotel that charges this much. The bathrooms stinks for no reason that we could find. The room is nothing special and the breakfast is equally unimpressive. Don't stay here unless you enjoy paying for junk.

Room Tip: Don't bother with this over-priced hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
358 reviews 358 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Hotel was booked by tour group. We were surprised by the adverse comments on Trip Advisor but we found it good enough. Room was a bit small but comfortable and quite adequate. Better than some of the hotels we stayed at on this tour. Breakfast had choice of Western and Eastern cuisine. Don't know the cost but we would consider it if in Irkusk again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This place seems to think of itself as a four star hotel; it certainly charges accordingly for food and drink. And yet when I turned up for breakfast at 8.15 a.m. on Saturday 20mJuly 2013 the breakfast room was so inadequate in size that there was literally nowhere to sit down. I decided just to have coffee, and even this was only Nescafé. In other places this seems to me fair enough, but not in a serious hotel. If I had waited for somewhere to sit, there were no plates and little food at the time I arrived. When I complained to the receptionist in Russian she muttered something inaudible, but certainly gave no full apology.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our Trans-Manchurian train trip.
The hotel has a lovely foyer, with an internet room which was helpful, and bodyguards guarding the lifts. Very strange environment...
The rooms though... well, where do I start?
We stayed on the 3rd floor, which is marked as economy. There is always a lady on duty in front of the lift who was in charge of the floor.
We walked into the room, and was really surprised. 2 single beds, which is what I expected, with the most decrepit duvet, with holes and cigarette burns in.
Damage to the wall next to the bed, with what looked like blood splattered on the wall. The bath shower head leaked all night and dripped over the step going into the bathroom.
Failing all that, the beds were comfortable and I slept fairly well.
The hotel restaurant was OK, very smoky and had a Russian Mafia style and ambiance about it. We asked to move to another room, even paying extra but supposedly there was no availability. The front desk staff were apologetic, but couldn't do anything.
The hotel did have a good location and quite easy to get around Irkutsk, but we looked forward to checking out of the hotel.
I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs. Or possibly choose a better floor?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Angara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angara

Address: Sukhe Batora St., 7, Irkutsk 664011, Russia
Location: Russia > Siberian District > Irkutsk Oblast > Irkutsk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Irkutsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Angara 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angara Hotel is located in the very center of business and cultural life of Irkutsk city. We offer 288 rooms of different categories for 455 guests.Except accommodation we are glad to invite you at sauna, billiard's, tourism department (transfer, air- and railway tickets, excursions round city and on lake Baikal, restaurants and bars, conference-hall. At our hotel you will find everything you need for comfortable rest: free wi-fi access, free parking lot, free luggage room, business center,gift shop, chemist's shop, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Angara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angara Hotel Irkutsk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Angara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.