We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exquisite oriental food and interior” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rubai

Rubai
Profsojuznaja St., 23 / 12, Kazan, Russia
(843) 292-64-64
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,089 Restaurants in Kazan
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Consdorf, Luxembourg
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“exquisite oriental food and interior”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very very nice romantic oriental setting with excellent uzbek/oriental food. Prices seem ok for the high quality of the food and the fact that it is still Russia. Service could be a little better, our waiters did not speak any english, but at least the menu was available in english. They also put some pressure on us to leave as they really wanted to close at 11pm... So they arrived to take our plates almost before we finished and also asked to bring the bill and did not even offer digestif, dessert, coffee or tea. So come early too fully enjoy the setting and have enough time to smoke a waterpipe/chicha. We were there on a Thuesday evening and were lucky to get a table, but I guess if you arrive on a Weekend you better make a reservation!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    25
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Went here on a recommendation while here for a conference. Colleagues who'd tried to go on a Saturday night didn't get in as had no reservation, but we turned up on a Tuesday night at about 8ish and had no problem. Welcomed, english menu. Had Wedding Pilau and one of the samosa's - mildly spiced, excellent lamb. The vodka at the top of the list goes down well! Perhaps price for local standards, but comparable to european (about 500 rouble for a main course). Slow (but who's in a rush?) and friendly. Would happily go again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

This Uzbek restaurant serves excellent food at a reasonable price. With traditional decor the atmosphere is cosy; perfect for couples. Unfortunately, we were seated in the smoking area without being asked. The service was fine until a waitress tried to take my plate before I'd finished eating. Despite these mishaps, the overall experience made for a great evening.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My Russian friend suggested that we tried Uzbekistan food while in Russia. We had Georgian food the other day, and were blown away, so we were very excited about this place. Unfortunately, it was critical to make a reservation here. I tried to talk to the waitress in my limited Russian...she asked, "No reservation"? I said, "Nyet," and she huffed away. She came back and basically dismissed us. No offering to take our reservation for the next day. I know how service in Russia can be...but this was a little ridiculous. This was going to be our big splurge in this city, but the service even before sitting down left no motivation for me to try again. We instead ate at Yak Yak on Baumana, where a nice man helped us choose our dinner. Nothing fancy, but solid good food. I'll take that over this place any day.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Unique atmosphere and wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant is a must. Plush booths, elaborate table cloths, and privacy curtains make for a fantastic atmosphere. Food was amazing. See picture for the lamb kebab and bread. If this is Uzbek food I want more!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rubai also viewed

Kazan, Republic of Tatarstan
Kazan, Republic of Tatarstan
 
Kazan, Republic of Tatarstan
Kazan, Republic of Tatarstan
 

Been to Rubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rubai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.