We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place for two” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Priyut Kholostyaka

Priyut Kholostyaka
Chernyshevskogo, 27A, Kazan 420111, Russia
+7 843 292-07-71
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1,089 Restaurants in Kazan
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Samara
Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
877 helpful votes 877 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for two”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to me by my colleague, who lives in Kazan. I was pleasantly surprised that it is the first in the ranking of Kazan restaurants by tripadvisor. Located near Levo - Bulachnaya street in the basement, it is not easy to find. A pleasant atmosphere , vaulted ceilings and despite the name, is more suitable as a shelter for loving couples or girlfriends get-togethers as they have more small round tables for two. Soft music, dim lights , nice interior . But most importantly - very tasty cuisine. I had the soup with beans, quite spicy and sharp, but pleasant, excellent filet mignon, served with home style potato, cherry tomatoes and fresh herbs and right degree of roasting, which I ordered. Service a bit slow, but if you come to sit and chat it is quite tolerable. I was on Tuesday, though the hall was full. By the end of the week probably you need to pre-book a table.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    34
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good steak, nice atmosphere, but a bit dark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The place is in the basement of a house 300m of the main street of Kazan. Service is good there, they give you a little bell that you can ring to get attention. This almost always worked. We ate two steaks and the highly recommended strudel, and were very happy with our choice. Given the cold weather and the warmth and darkness of the shelter, I nearly fell asleep, I have to admit. As they do not have a nonsmoking zone, I would avoid during busy times if smoke is an issue for you. Prices are about half of Moscow, but we did not experience a tradeoff in quality.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kazan, Russia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Run to that Shelter, it will give you what you need”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

What I remember from that Shelter as its name suggests is the cozy atmosphere that s been created inside. Some nouve Art, deco art, some Avantgarde, Balanced combination of colors that you can wine, dine, eat, talk and understand your loved ones. I remember cold outside, dark nights. inside, a piano live music in front of fire. Some apples over tables. Eating is secondary but not least. A balanced menu, Pleasent food. Above all you will find peace in that shelter. A shelter we all need sometimes, A place when you want to be with your loved ones.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Couple's shelter, really :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We went there with my colleague, who is also a lady btw :-) Hoping to see those bachelors :-) To our surprise, there were only couples (i mean mixed ones) all over the place. We had a really good time. The restaurant has a nice decor and proper food with great presentation. I had a shark stake - portion is not enormous but just enough to eat eat if you're not overhungry. Would come again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Been here during our 4 days stay in Kazan, and i can safely say this place has great value for money. It offers mostly European and Asian cuisine with maybe just a few local dishes, but it doesn't make it any worse. Everything we've ordered was coming at a good pace, tasted fresh and right - even such things as snails. If you add up the fact that our bill was twice as low as in other fancy places, this turns up as a great place to eat.

We've been there on a holiday, so there was a lot of people, but the atmosphere wasn't disturbing. As something small but nice - they have waiter call buttons on every table so you can be sure you won't be left unattended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Priyut Kholostyaka also viewed

Kazan, Republic of Tatarstan
Kazan, Republic of Tatarstan
 
Kazan, Republic of Tatarstan
Kazan, Republic of Tatarstan
 

Been to Priyut Kholostyaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Priyut Kholostyaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.