We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chancy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sultan Kebab

Sultan Kebab
Baumana St, 74, Kazan 420111, Russia
7-843-2922675
Improve this listing
Ranked #182 of 1,089 Restaurants in Kazan
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Halifax, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Chancy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I normally really like the food here but the quality of both the food and the service can depend on the time of day and the season and some other variables I'm not quite clear on! The meat is always freshly cooked and/or heated but other components have sometimes evidently been cooked long before and are now cold, congealed and not at all tasty. That's not true every time but it has happened to me a few times now. At busy times, the service can be quite slow. Generally though, the staff is friendly and accomodating and the food is good and at a reasonable price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    16
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Very similar to real Istanbul restaurants!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

When I found this restaurant I thought that this is quite similar to traditional Istanbul restaurants I have visited. And this is true. Atmosphere, furniture, menu, food and its taste - everything is good and similar. Even menu style.

I like this restaurant - it is placed right in the middle of the city on the pedestrian street Baumana.
Good prices and friendly staff.
May be it is not so new and some renovation is needed, but this is not critical at all.
Strongly recommend. Turkish food is good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great turkish food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

We ate here twice. The lamb kabobs and chicken wing shashlik were excellent, as was the fresh flatbread.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you miss Turkish food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Good kebap restaurant. The baklavas were also pretty authentic

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Preferable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Traditional Turkish cusine. Hospitality perfect. Quality and price very good. I suggest

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sultan Kebab also viewed

Kazan, Republic of Tatarstan
Kazan, Republic of Tatarstan
 
Kazan, Republic of Tatarstan
Kazan, Republic of Tatarstan
 

Been to Sultan Kebab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sultan Kebab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.