We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Attentive Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kazan Kremlin

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Kazan Kremlin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Kazan Kremlin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Karla Marksa St., 6, Kazan 420111, Russia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #6 of 43 hotels in Kazan
Bremen, Bremen, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Location and Attentive Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Extremely smooth check and the staff spoke english very well and were very welcoming. It is extremely close to the Kremlin and everything else is just a couple steps away. Definitely, a great and very comfortable stay in Kazan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    69
    21
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
36
8
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Well, the heading says it all. The best thing about this hotel is location. Next door to the Kremlin and within walking distance from anything.. Good rooms but to me they cut on some expenses such as toiletries, sleepers (for whatever reason they say they give them only upon request which is damn I think). It's a low building with no views from the room (even though the Kremlin is near, you can't actually see it). The only exceptional thing about this hotel is a roof top/terrace with a truly stunning view over Kremlin (I recommend you just pop in in this restaurant rather then stay in a hotel). Funny enough, my colleague discovered a spider in her bed and called to the reception. All they say was "ok, no somebody will come and remove it". "what if there is another one?" "No, there won't be another one" (really?). Well, finally upon request they changed the room for her. Adding to the picture, there is no swimming pool which as a clear disadvantage to me. Anyways, it' OK place to stay but Id be more adventurous and try some other hotels in city center.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel added a new restaurant on the roof top which offers a wonderful view of the surroundings. One great thing about the view which makes this city a model to the world is that you can see tops of all different type of religions that coexist together in peace.
It is a reason for optimism which compensate for the food quality which could be improved to catch up with the view.
The hotel could also work on then laundry service which is the first where even if you send your laundry bag before 8am you only get your cleaned garments next day before 5pm

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I usually try to avoid chain hotels, but I had a very specific need for my stay in Kazan and this hotel met it. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were of typical courtyard quality. Internet (paid) was truly highspeed. There is acceptable speed free net access in the lobby. Breakfast was good. Location is ideal for tourism.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were a group of 12 travelling from Beijing to Moscow of the Trans Siberia Train. Travel All Russia selected this hotel for us and we were all very happy with it in every way. Kazan is a beautiful city and is highly recommended as a stopover. The hotel is located very close to the Kremlin and is a 10 minute walk to the main pedestrian street. The hotel is modern, bright and the rooms clean and spacious. Breakfasts are excellent. There is an open restaurant/bar area on the top floor with 360o long distance views of the surrounds. The staff are very friendly and helpful and speak good English.

Room Tip: Better outlook from the upper floors (4 and 5)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Well, it is all well known that in Russia the hotels are run by quite inexperienced local personnel who lacks even the basic of the client management. This is another hotel with this attitude.

Hotel Mariotte is located in one of the quite districts of the city nearby the Kazan Kremlin and clearly it is a nice building, reasonably new. Though, the hotel management selling hotels terrace our some other areas like restaurants to the corporate groups, which is actually providing a club atmosphere with very laud music and with some serious disturbance. And as the hotel practically sold out the space to a corporate group - it is not possible for them to stop it...and you have to suffer until 2 or 3 am. No matter how much you complain nothign would change.

In Russia customer complaints have so much value. And this place is by no means a 5 star hotel. Chosing Park Inn in downtown would be better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
627 helpful votes 627 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Not a typical posh but cold 5-star Marriott, the cozier 4-star 5-storey Courtyard seemed a fine choice for different types of a traveller to me.

Located on a quiet Karla Marksa Street in the very city centre, right next to Kazan Kremlin, it’s in a short walking distance to Baumana Street on one side, and Kazanka River on another. Vicinity to Kremlin is one of the best things about this hotel and my main reason to choose it. Staying here, you need no taxi to get to all main sights of Kazan – they are steps away.

I made the last-minute booking through the hotel’s web-site. The automated system confirmation was fast as usual. But then I had to make few phone calls to confirm my transfer (at 4am and after two flights it didn’t appeal to me to haggle with a taxi driver).

Pick-up was smooth, the transfer in a Mercedes was perfect, and soon, having paid directly to the driver (RUR 1400, vs RUR 475 for a taxi back to the airport), I was checking in. Despite an early hour, the receptionist was perfectly attentive and fast.

Luckily, they don’t close roof terrace overnight, and I used the benefit of it being deserted to enjoy fantastic view over Kremlin at dawn. In the evenings the roof gets very crowded with diners as this is one of the popular places to eat out. Even if you stay in the hotel, better book a table in advance, if you want the best view.

But when you choose a room type, don’t bother with the Kremlin view. You won’t see much of it from your room. There are no balconies, and windows are only opened for a tiny slot, not wide enough to even squeeze a hand with the camera through it. While good for security, it adds no value to booking this kind of a room.

There are stairs and two elevators in the hotel. With wide corridors and open doorways it seemed quite friendly to people with limited mobility.

My room (Deluxe Kremlin view) was reasonably spacious and comfortable. It had A/C, but I appreciated the ability to open windows. There was a fridge (no mini-bar), a kettle, coffee sticks and tea-bags as well as complimentary water. The bedding was excellent; pillows matched me well, so the sleep was perfect. Not sure how often the linen is changed, but not daily.

Toiletries were limited to shower gel, shampoo and conditioner, no body lotion; also no scales in the bathroom. Upon arrival I found the toilet not perfectly clean; but later on there were no such issues. Yet I can’t honestly call cleanness top priority here.

I had a room package with free WiFi. Connection was easy – log-in once with the details they give you and have access for as many days as you stay; can connect one or two gadgets. The signal was good enough throughout the hotel, even on the roof (although a bit weaker there). Some other guests sat with their laptops in the lobby lounge, where WiFi is free.

Breakfasts were rather disappointing and repetitive, but not so limited as to leave you hungry. Do not expect a single traditional Tatar food here; just the usual boring selection of fruits, vegetables, cheese, meat, eggs, sausages, pastry. Breakfast staff was a bit sleepy. And food quality was not at all inspiring to try the restaurant. But the Roof Terrace was just excellent (please, see my separate review).

Frond desk staff deserves special mention as they were very accommodating, in particular, helped with arranging side trips to Sviyazhsk and Raifa.

Despite some minor issues, I liked it here, and would stay again if I’m ever in Kazan. Marriott Courtyard is in the perfect location and offers a great value. And its rooftop restaurant is a good enough reason to come back.

Room Tip: Don't bother with Kremlin view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Kazan Kremlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Kazan Kremlin

Address: Karla Marksa St., 6, Kazan 420111, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Volga District > Republic of Tatarstan > Kazan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 hotels in Kazan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Kazan Kremlin 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our city center hotel offers 150 spacious bedrooms with modern features you need for a comfortable stay in Kazan. The rooms have large windows with Kazan Kremlin views. Whether traveling for business or fun, Courtyard Kazan makes all of your travels successful by providing exactly what you need. Our roof terrace will inspire you by the beautiful Kazan city views and tasty cocktails. Our meeting room which accommodate up to 100 guests could be divided into 4 small rooms - all with day light and feature state-of-the-art technology. The Courtyard Kazan hotel is the perfect choice for your visit in Kazan, Russia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Kazan Kremlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Kazan Kremlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.