We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Petersburg great vacationes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ibis St. Petersburg Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ibis St. Petersburg Centre to your Saves list
Hotel Ibis St. Petersburg Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ligovskiy Ave., 54, St. Petersburg 191040, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 269 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    276
    122
    21
    13
See reviews for
63
165
52
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I've stayed at Ibis hotels across Europe and Latin America, so I do know what I sould expect from it. The location is quite good (stayed there in Sep 2011), which means a walking distance from subway (metro) station (turn left on the main exit, pass by the shopping mall, keep walking and you'll reach the hotel at your left side on the same sidewalk).
The hotel is not far away from the touristic attractions (3, up to 5 metro stations), hosts a nice restaurant (where I had dinner two, three times, I guess) and the staff helped me quite much to get to know St.Peter.
Have to share the metro station close to the hotel is the same one where the high-speed train that links St Peter to Moscow arrives, which is pretty convenient based on the fact St Peter's airport is smaller than an egg and bit far away from downtown.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirill_Sokolov, Director of Sales at Hotel Ibis St. Petersburg Centre, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your useful comment.

The hotel is really easy to reach from Moscow Train Station (400 m). The main attraction, like Hermitage Museum is 3.3 km away, however other attractions are spread all along the main street – Nevsky Prospect, which is just 0.5 km away – 7 minutes walk.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great location, not far from metro, Nevsky prospect, and huge supermarket. No smoking floors and rooms if requested.
Rooms are silent and has cable TV + free internet
Service was good and the personel can speak english

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirill_Sokolov, Director of Sales at Hotel Ibis St. Petersburg Centre, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Kjell,

Let me thank you for high appreciation of our hotel and services.
We will keep on doing our best in the hotel for guests to enjoy their visits in St. Petersburg.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had three days sightseeing in St P, arriving by plane and leaving by train to Moscow, so the Ibis was perfectly placed at 7 minutes walk from the end of Nevsky Prospekt and the railway station. A cab arranged by the hotel picked us up at the airport and drove us into town at speeds over 140km/hr, an indication of traffic speeds on the wide roads in the city; be carefull when crossing roads and use only controlled crossings (an American woman at the hotel got a broken leg)! Be aware that if the hotel arranges a cab for you, the price will be fixed and payment is made to the hotel, thus avoiding any argument or tipping.
It would have taken us about 30-45 minutes to walk the length of Nevsky to the river from the hotel if we didn't stop along the way. There is a trolley bus that runs the length of Nevsky to The Admiralty and across the bridge to Vasiliesky Island (for the Peter and Paul Fortress) for a couple of dollars - ask the concierge, who is very helpful.
One of our first purchases was a "Saint Petersburg and its environs, One-day pedestraian routes guide" as this divided St P into easily seen 'chunks' and also described buildings that would otherwise have remained anonymous - and there are plenty of gorgeous churches and fine buildings on the way.
Typical of the Ibis chain, the 6th floor room was small but adequate, looking out over a quiet courtyard. The European/American style bathroom was clean and tidy with a good shower but the bed was very hard and made sleeping difficult, despite our being tired after much walking. In addition, the air conditioner wasn't very effective in reducing the heat in the room (which we couldn't turn off), so we had the window open to compensate. However, we do prefer a cool room and warm bed, and hot rooms were a common problem to us in Russian hotels; if you like a warm room, this won't be so much of a problem. The reception staff spoke good English and were very helpful. Our smorgasbord breakfasts were included in the room rate, a real bonus, and were a good mix of European/American and Russian foods including cereal, fruit and a cooked breakfast (quite a few people took an extra couple of croissants for a packed lunch). There was a good mix of Russian and other guests suggesting that the hotel meets the needs of a wide range.
One issue was that the room's exterior window sills are covered in a metal sheet and rain drips noisily on to this. This might prove to be a problem, depending on how well you sleep.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor and at the back of the hotel, away from the major road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirill_Sokolov, Director of Sales at Hotel Ibis St. Petersburg Centre, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your detailed recommendations for the travellers.

We will counsel once again our hotel taxi drivers of the driving and speed rules. And I have to fully agree with you on your recommendation to use only traffic light controlled crossings in the city.

Hope that otherwise you really enjoyed St. Petersburg and your trip!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorizia, Italy
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ibis is a big hotel with atm, restaurant and bar.
I slept in a double room and it was very clean and silent. The assistance was good.
In addiction, the hotel is located near Nevski Prospekt and several metro stations can be reached in a ten minutes walk: pretty confortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirill_Sokolov, Director of Sales at Hotel Ibis St. Petersburg Centre, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the good review.
We really appreciate that you liked the hotel and hope to welcome you again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

As others have said here the hotel really close to a good shopping centre with all the high street brands that you cand find in London (M&S, H&M, Next and even Costa Cafe). There is also a supermarket where you can buy some snacks and juices and save some rublos that you'd spend in the hotel bar.

The hotel is really close to train station, what is handy if you're coming from or going to Moscow, but not that easy if need to reach the airport.

Location is ideal for turism, you can just walk to all main turist attracions.

No problems with staff, and for the first in the last years I've been let to check-in before 12 noon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirill_Sokolov, Director of Sales at Hotel Ibis St. Petersburg Centre, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Sergio,

I would like to thank you for the review.

If you let me add another useful information on Galleria shopping mall – inside Okey supermarket there is a small souvenir shelf – on your right after the entrance to supermarket – where you can buy it at good prices.

The airport, except for taxi (fare is from RUR 800 to 1500), can be also reached by metro+bus – the station is called Moskovskaya, there you need to follow the sign with Russian letters АЭРОПОРТ to the bus stop and choose the one to Pulkovo 2.

And yes, we always give rooms before 12 noon for check-in, if we have them free and prepared. Why shouldn’t we?.. However we can never guarantee it, as it depends on the previous guests’ check-out time.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

In a trolleybus on Nevsky prospekt I was stolen my moneybag (put away in my closed inner pocket of my closed jacket). For the stolen key of the safety-deposit box in the hotel I had to pay 125 €, without discussion. A copy of the key was immediatily available without intervention of a locksmith.The management was unreachable for a conversation...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirill_Sokolov, Director of Sales at Hotel Ibis St. Petersburg Centre, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Paul,

Thank you for your note and I am really sorry for the sad situation in which the safe key was lost.

Pickpocketing is the serious issue in the city, especially during the summer tourists season. We recommend all our guests to leave passport, money and valuables in the safe and take only some amount of cash to the city.

The safe box rental is free in the hotel, however we inform the guests on the fee in case of loss. The second emergency key is only used once in case of loss for opening the safe box. After it the safe box cell is fully changed, because otherwise there is no emergency key next time and we will not be able to open it. The cost of the installation of the new cell is EUR 125.

Once again I have to apologize for the situation and this uncomfortable procedure.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ibis St. Petersburg Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis St. Petersburg Centre

Address: Ligovskiy Ave., 54, St. Petersburg 191040, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis St. Petersburg Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis St Petersburg Centre Hotel is a 3 star hotel offering 221 comfortable rooms. Located in the centre of St Petersburg, it is close to Nevsky Prospekt (the main shopping avenue of the city) and only 500 metres from Moscow railway station. The hotel also features the Sud et Cie restaurant with a capacity of 120, a bar with space for 50 guests, 4 conference rooms and enclosed undercover parking offering 21 car spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ibis St. Petersburg Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis St Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ibis St. Petersburg Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.