We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nevskiy Hotel Grand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Nevskiy Hotel Grand to your Saves list
Nevskiy Hotel Grand
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bolshaya Konyushennaya St., 10, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia (Palace Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 276 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Ballston Lake, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here for five nights in November. This was not prime "tourist season", so there didn't appear to be too many guests (which was absolutely fine with me). Check-in/Reception is up the stairs, on the second floor. Stayed in room #101. The room overlooked the street, so there is some noise throughout the day. The rooms are VERY small, but very clean, with just enough room to walk around the bed, and a small cabinet for storage/luggage. Two people might find it claustrophobic, possibly? The bathroom did seem to be sized right (as most European bathrooms that I have experienced are ultra-tiny). This room did have one extra feature, a small walk-out balcony overlooking the street. In the chilly November weather, it was a great place to keep drinks, and groceries chilled (like a free refrigerator!). That being said: restaurants catering to tourists, tend to be expensive in this area,... so a cheaper alternative is the grocery store 2 blocks away, to make your own sandwiches and snacks (upon leaving the hotel entrance, turn right, go about 2 blocks and it is on your right, and down a few steps. You'll save a TON of money , trust me!). The main selling point about this hotel is the LOCATION. You can NOT beat it, for tourist sightseeing. Most of the major sights are just short walks away... which means you can save money on transportation (well... that is... if you enjoy walking, like I do!). If you don't mind the small room size, this is the best place I have stayed in St. Petersburg. I will definitely be staying again, on my next trip.

Oh... one MAJOR "gripe". The front desk "insists" on keeping your passport for Visa/Migration registration. They do need the information from it, but the don't need to keep it. NEVER let anyone make you believe that. ALWAYS keep your original passport in your possession! (Legally... they shouldn't be "holding" it for you.) It's all about money. It's for collateral, so you pay your hotel bill upon leaving. I was sure to pay my bill up front, when checking-in, because I hear that other smaller hotels have the same practice. (This goes for any hotel) Be firm, yet polite, and inform them that they are free to copy (or photocopy) any needed information in your passport... but they have NO legal claim to hold it, for ANY reason. Yup... welcome to Russia. ;)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevskiy Hotel Grand, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your valuable comments which are very important to us. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at the Nevsky Grand. Let me explain about the passport issue. We have to make a scan copies of your passport and migration card so that we can then send them to the registration authorities. Usually it takes us 15-20 min to scan the documents, therefore we offer our guests to leave the documents with us, go up to their rooms and pick up passports on the way out of the hotel. However, this is certainly up to you, and if you do not wish to leave your documents with us, you are free to stay at the reception area and wait till scanning has been completed.
We thank you for your patronage and will be looking forward to welcoming you again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    210
    116
    29
    15
See reviews for
60
195
56
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We spent in Saint-Petersburg 5 days in the end of August and still full of impressions - such a marvelous city! A lot of beutiful palaces, parks, channels...But be careful: even going in Summer, don't forget to take with you couple of jackets and an umbrella, because the weather is unpredictable!
As for the hotel, we chose it mostly because of the perfect location - which is really true: couple of minutes to the main sightseeings, close to the metro station and bus stop and a lot of nice cafes and bars in the neighbourhood.
But we were also pleased with the service - we found there decent English at the reception (and even bit of Spanish in the restaurant - special thanx to Maria!); always smiling staff (girls at the reception are always ready to answer any questions about their beautiful city) and nice russian-style breakfast with porridge and pancakes and cottage cheese - we were always full after it for half of the day!
The only problem we faced when arrived was the tiny room on the mansard floor - we had lots of laggage and were staying for several days, so we asked to change the room - and it was done immediately!
So, thank you, guys, for what they call 'true russian hospitality'!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevskiy Hotel Grand, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and kind words about our staff. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay and will be looking forward to welcoming you again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Just off Nevsky Prospekt, virtually around the corner from the Church of the Spilled Blood and around 5 minutes from Palace Square, this hotel's location is its calling card. The rooms are tiny, but the bathrooms are nice and there's a water cooler on every floor. Breakfast is quite good - but don't leave it too late! Very little English at Reception, but we did find the very helpful St Petersburg in Your Pocket there, with its useful map and recommendations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevskiy Hotel Grand, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. Your comments are very important to us. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay and will be looking forward to welcoming you again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It was walking distance to almost everywhere. My room was in the eaves. Very small but seemingly clean. The top cover on the bed had holes in it, so could probably do with an update. There was no air-con in this room (713) but I believe there was in other rooms. Poor reception on the tv meant that the one English channel was unobtainable. We stayed as a group for three nights, My bed was only made on the day we arrived. Other days the covers were just pulled over. There was a public computer right outside my room which was very handy and the receptionist was friendly and helpful. Breakfast, as in most of Russia, was uninspiring. i am in two minds whether I would come back, maybe check a few different rooms first.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevskiy Hotel Grand, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. Your comments are very important to us as they help us to improve our service. We have allerted our Executive Housekeeper about your comments on housekeeping, and you can rest assured that the issue will be sorted out shortly. We thank you for your kind words about our front office staff and will be looking forward to welcoming you again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland, Indiana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Very good hotel in the center of St. Petersburg(you can visit city by night easily). Officially, has only three stars but in my opinion very little lacking up to four (room size and quality of the furniture should be improved).
My room was very clean, and had a large bed. Equipped with a safe, air conditioning and a small TV. The view from the window on the main street but the noise was practically inaudible.
Very good breakfast with a wide choice of dishes and helpful staff also deserve for a positive evaluation.
From me a very strong three stars.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevskiy Hotel Grand, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. Being in a historic building in the city centre we can hardly make our rooms larger, but we do renovate several guest rooms (usually one floor) every winter and renovation includes change of furniture. So, we hope to have all the guest rooms renovated very soon. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and will be looking forward to welcoming you again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is a good hotel for visitors who don't want to waste precious time travelling between tourist locations in this beautiful city. Konyushennaya is a pleasant street directly off Nevsky Prospekt; attractive and safe. My room was small but well set out; good, pure cotton linen on a comfortable bed, very clean bathroom. Breakfast was generous and varied, with fresh fruit, yoghourt, pastries, cakes, plus hams, cheeses and hot foods. Internet access is OK and free. As a regular visitor to SPB, I've stayed in quite a few places. This is the best value of all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevskiy Hotel Grand, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and kind words about our hotel. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay and will be looking forward to welcoming you again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piatra Neamt, Romania
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Together with my husband, we had accommodation at this hotel in June 2012, part of a longer trip to Russia, including the Trans Siberian.

The hotel is not so fancy and modern, it doesn’t offer many facilities (pool, gym, etc.), rooms are small and old fashion, but who comes to St Petersburg to sleep, especially when the visit is during the “White Nights” and sun is still shining at 10:30 pm? In my opinion Nevsky Grand offers a good value for 3* and considering the excellent location (in the middle of everything), I would highly recommend it.

You have a lot of options to eat & drink out, to go for shopping, not to mention that during the day time of your stay you should visit at least 3-4 residences of the imperial family, cathedrals, churches, etc.
You are 2’ walking from Nevsky Prospekt, the main street of the city, 5’ walking from Kazan Cathedral (it feature a miraculous icon of The Virgin Mary), 10’ walking from the Hermitage/ St Isaac Cathedral/ Cathedral of Christ the Saviour (last one is on another direction than Hermitage).
Close to the hotel is Moyka River (7’ walk), where you can book a cruise to see the drawn of the bridges on Neva River (this is a must see). The price for the cruise is 600 rubles/ person (approx. 15 euro), and you should be there before 1 am (bridges close around 1:30-1:40). Indeed in Russia one should know at least the basic alphabet, as everything is written in Cyrillic, otherwise you need to hire a guide for the tours & transfers.

What can I say, indeed the hotel looks old, probably the nice pictures from their website date from the opening. We had a standard room at the 6 floor, it was basic and clean, a little tired, it had AC, probably the superior rooms are a better option. The bathroom is very small, but it was clean. It was no drinking water in room, but I found a water dispenser on the corridor, which was always full. Breakfast was decent, not so diverse, but enough and food taste good.
The hotel staff was friendly and speak English which is very important in Russia. From the entrance you have to climb few stairs to the elevator, front desk is at the first floor, rooms are up to the 7th floor. The doorman was calling the elevator in advance once he saw us entering and it was the same for the other guests.

To the people who were disappointed at this hotel, I wish to say that level of accommodation in St Petersburg is lower than what you expect, I work in the travel industry and I inspected more than 15 hotels here, so I can say, this hotel is ok comparing to others. There is always the option to choose 4* or even 5* hotels, to get a better value. Wake up people ! it is Russia, it was a communist country, don’t expect to have the same services as in Western Europe or USA, you were privileged to develop your services in decades. I come from an ex-communist country and I travelled in more than 45 countries worldwide, so I can see they try to improve, but it takes time, even “Rome wasn't built in a day”. Give them a chance, I am confident that services in Russia will be much better in few years.
So, good luck Nevsky Grand, good luck Russia, and see you soon!

Yes, I would definitely come back and stay here again.

Room Tip: A superior rooms is a better option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevskiy Hotel Grand, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the feedback. We really appreciate your time and effort spent to write such a detailed review. Your comments mean a lot to us and we are very grateful. We shall be looking forward to having you among our guests again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nevskiy Hotel Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nevskiy Hotel Grand

Address: Bolshaya Konyushennaya St., 10, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Palace Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#76 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nevskiy Hotel Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This business-class hotel is just a minute's walk from Nevsky Prospect and within minutes of Palace Square, the Hermitage, the Field of Mars and the inspiring Church of the Resurrection on Griboedov Canal. The Nevsky Hotel Grand occupies seven storeys and has a lift that accommodates thirteen. The regular rooms offer a choice of double bed or twin beds. Every room has an individual bathroom with a choice of shower or bath. Also standard is air conditioning, WiFi Internet, phone, television, hair-dryer and room safe. The hotel's four spacious suites come with a queen-size bed, sauna, Jacuzzi and pull-out sofa. The hotel restaurant, called Cafe Grand, is open from 7 o'clock in the morning till 11 o'clock at night. Meals are professionally prepared and served. We encourage guests to make use of the numerous services the hotel offers, such as visa support, registration for only 190 roubles and a car and driver to and from the airport or railway station. There's laundry and dry cleaning service, a full selection of cars with drivers, experienced interpreters in any language and tickets for plane flights or railway travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Nevskiy Hotel Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nevsky Grand St Petersburg
Hotel Nevsky Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nevskiy Hotel Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.