We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be aware of minibar” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskiye Vorota

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskiye Vorota to your Saves list
Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskiye Vorota
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Moskovskiy Ave., 97A, St. Petersburg 196084, Russia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #82 of 269 Hotels in St. Petersburg
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Be aware of minibar”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Good location. Only 5 minutes walk from Moskovskie vorota metro station. Modern building. Good and clean rooms. Nice reception. Coffee and tea in the room. Choice of pillows. They only frustrating thing was that they charged me for something from minibar that I didn’t take. Any they did it after my check out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskiye Vorota, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Stanislav Z,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to St. Petersburg, Russia

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    326
    124
    27
    10
See reviews for
82
147
54
329
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Osaka, Japan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here with a group only 2 days. We liked it very much but since it is far from the center and we don't like public transportation as well as cheating taxi drivers, we stayed most of our free time in the room. We were lucky to be with a group otherwise it would be hard for us to go to see anything. But if you like to ride subways then there is no problem, because the subway station is just few steps away. There is a small supermarket beside the hotel where you can buy some food and drink with a credit card. That was great for us because we didn't change money and had only euros and dollars. And everything was so cheap. Our room No.1245 was very nice and clean. Simple furniture, using just few colours make the room bright and comfortable. We are always happy when we see a kettle and complimentary water in the room. That is the proof how hotel think about guests and you feel you are welcome. If there is nothing around the hotel, you can survive with this a day or two. The second what makes us happy is snow white linen, good pillows and high quality snow white towels so we really liked this hotel. The room was big enough, bathroom very nice, good hair dryer, good shower and a magnifying mirror. There was everything what you need and everything clean and neat. Breakfast was also nice and rich. Staff is kind. It was much better than we had expected. If we go to St. Petersburg again, we will probably stay there again and will try to use a subway.

Room Tip: Higher floors to have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvgeniaDanilikhina, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskiye Vorota, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Marjana1952,

Thank you for such a lovely and detailed review about your stay in our hotel. I am sure it will be very useful for our future guests.
We are very delighted to find out that you liked our style, comfort and cleanness. Our proximity to the subway gives a great opportunity to get to the center in 10-15 min. Sad, that you did not have a chance to utilize it. Next time, to avoid using the subway we would suggest you to use our taxi, which drivers won't cheat on you and take you to the required place with comfort and in safe.

Once again thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose our hotel in future for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

I visited St P again for business trip in december. It was quite cold. Hotel was great as usual. Very helpful staff, new very Russian menu in restaurant on 3 floor. If you are there, try Pelmeni. It must. If you prefer stay in room, best desicion room delivery. Very tastful to compare with another holiday inn.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I travel unwillingly to Russia quite a bit with my job mostly Moscow and usually critical of the hotels i stay in.

But St. petersburg is quite different.....more European than Russian and you notice that straightaway in this hotel.

Firstly we were greeted with a smile and warm welcome. The check in staff were more chatty and servile than the usual cold Moscow stare. Check in was fairly painless but was told twenty minutes till we got our passports back which is standard.

WiFi was free for us and was quite fast.....but in the morning they forgot that our contract included it but was quickly resolved.

As a Priority Gold member i was greeted as such and offered a room upgrade again not always offered in the HI Simonovski Moscow.

The room was modern and comfortable and as an executive room was large with complimentary water and chocolate. The TV has the usual lack of non news English speaking channels but thats the same of 99% of hotels i stay in.

We ate in the KorovaBar steak house and was pleasantly surprised by the quality and standard of both food and service. It wasn't cheap but was worth it. Note. Though this restaurant was accessed from the hotel it isn't part of it and if you decide to pay on check out it will cost you an extra 10% so pay there and then.

Breakfast though plentiful was not very good quality with the usual very fatty bacon plasticky sausages and rubbish everything else.....typically Russian and the only disappointment in my stay here.

Overall good, 20 mins from the airport and about that from the city centre and a thoroughly decent hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvgeniaDanilikhina, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskiye Vorota, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear 747wade,
Thank you for finding time to share your experience of Holiday Inn Moskovskye Vorota with the TripAdvisor community.
I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed the stay and found our team to be helpful and had time to visit at least one of our restaurants as well. At the same time, I will pass your comments regarding the variety of dishes on breakfast onto our F&B Department for further improvements. I would also send your comments regarding lack of TV channels in English to the hotel Managers for working on.
It is very pleasant to read your note that “St. Petersburg is .....more European than Russian and you notice that straightaway in this hotel.” As you know our hotel is a part of worldwide chain IHG group and our team does everything possible to meet its level of service.
Our location (closed to the airport) is a fantastic convenience especially in the time of traffic jam.
We are looking forward to welcoming you to our hotel with smile and warmth again during 2013.
Sincerely,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here in September 2012 for two days. It is only about 300 feet from the subway. And, only 4 subway stops from central downtown/Hermitage. Plus, it is on the airport side of the city, saving taxi fare (which is expensive).

The staff, particularly the concierge, are very friendly. The room was modern and fine. No complaints about anything. The breakfast was good and varied. Interestingly, none of the tables had salt on them - nor in the buffet area. While I didn't need it, if you do, bring your own!

It is very hard to find taxis anywhere. Thus, I booked a taxi back to the airport at the hotel, which is a very smart thing to do. Otherwise, we would have waited forever to flag one down on the street.

Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvgeniaDanilikhina, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskiye Vorota, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Jay K,
Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience with us. You are absolutely right, that convenient location to the airport (15-20 min), subway, grocery store, and relatively close to the city center with the main sights is one of our main advantages.
I will be happy to pass your kind comments regarding our departments’ work onto our entire team with great thanks.
Regarding the situation with salt on the tables, thank you for pointing this fact, we will definitely correct it.
We will be definitely looking forward to welcoming you again to our hotel.
Sincerely,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed at this hotel while on a Trafalgar tour. Though not in the city center, the railway station is close enough to walk to as is a "mini mall". There is an Italian restaurant and a small pizza place close by as well. What I really liked is the supermarket located in the hotel complex. Breads, meats, sweets, fruits and toiletries are all available. The hotel gift shop has a wonderful selection of souvenirs at competitive prices. The rooms were neat and clean; the staff pleasant to interact with; the food delicious! English is spoken by the front desk staff; however, it would be nice to help them help you by learning a few words and phrases in Russian.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Holiday Inn was just beside the Metro station making it excellent location for St. Petersburg. The hotel, room and breakfast area were very nice and clean. The staff and concierge were very helpful.

The trip was our anniversary trip and the hotel staff has very kindly upgraded our room :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvgeniaDanilikhina, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskiye Vorota, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Sravya
This is a lovely review and I sincerely thank you for it! I am so pleased that our proximity to the metro station you mentioned made your time in St. Petersburg that much more convenient.
We are also happy you found the hotel and the services we provide comfortable and professional.
I am so glad that you and your husband evaluated the room upgrade as our compliment for you anniversary.
Your kind comments will be passed onto our entire team with great thanks.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Yours sincerely,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskiye Vorota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskiye Vorota

Address: Moskovskiy Ave., 97A, St. Petersburg 196084, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#42 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#49 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskiye Vorota 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn St. Petersburg-Moskovskye Vorota in Russia is a brand new hotel and conference centre perfectly situated in the central part of the city, on Moskovsky Prospect connecting the city centre with Pulkovo airport. With the Moskovskye Vorota metro station across the road, the hotel is only 4 stops from all major attractions: the Hermitage, St Isaac s Cathedral, Church on the Spilled Blood, the Russian Museum, the Peter & Paul Fortress and the Mariinsky theatre. The hotel is approx. 20 min. by taxi from the Pulkovo Airport and also 20 min. by metro from the Moskovsky Railway Station. Downtown businesses are minutes by car while others are just within a short drive! The Holiday Inn St. Petersburg-Moskovskye Vorota hotel has 557 spacious Standard, Executive, Deluxe rooms and Suites. All rooms come with great beds, an in-room safe and high-speed internet access. The Congress Hall holds capacity for up to 1000 people. It includes 13 meeting rooms and a special banquet Restaurant; ideal for any type of event! On-site restaurants include: Steak House Korova, Chernikov Fusion and the Rodchenko Bar in the lobby. The Holiday Inn St. Petersburg-Moskovskye Vorota hotel offers Business Centre services and an on-site Health & Leisure. In case you come by car, the hotel provides a large parking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskiye Vorota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskye Vorota Hotel St. Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskiye Vorota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.