We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Family In St Petersburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of swissSTAR B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Petersburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
swissSTAR B&B
Save
You added swissSTAR B&B to your Saves list
Emb. Reki Fontanki, 93, St. Petersburg 190031, Russia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 636 St. Petersburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pinetop-Lakeside, Arizona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Like Family In St Petersburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Lots of reviewers talked about the great value, decor and cleanliness of this gem of a B&B. I would also like to add that Elena and Irina, the two Russian ladies that greet and clean and generally manage this B&B are incredibly helpful, friendly and welcoming. The Swiss owner is well represented by these lovely hosts. Recommendations on restaurants, transportation, laundry, ....put yourself in their capable hands and all will be well.

Room Tip: They all looked roomy. Get an ensuite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    38
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
45
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My friends and I stayed at swissSTAR during 7-10 April and so impressed with the service. They provide clean facilities and breakfast. The location is perfect for us. We can walk to Nevsky Prospekt and Mariinsky Theatre. The staff is also nice.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Clean (bath)room, good beds, river-view sight from room, grossery-market included, free wireless internet available for personal tab/laptop, very helpful staff, small library available on St. Petersburg lonely planet etcetera. Good coffee, centrally located, very safe and double glass isolation windows to prevent traffic noise on room. I really have to try my best to come up with improvement area's, but still can not find them. Will absolutely recommend to other St Peterburg travellers.

Room Tip: B&B has option for room with private bathroom, which is for me personally a must-have. You pay a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Excellent and efficient booking over email, friendly staff and well placed for the city.
Clean and welcoming. Good serve-yourself breakfast. Nice bright rooms, comfortable beds.
Highly recommended - I will visit and use it again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I were travelling to Russia from Argentina thought Moscow, so by the time we arrived to St. Petersburg we were quite exhausted ..and when we arrived to this hotel we felt like on a peaceful island in the middle of the big city, which to us seemed to be a perfect combination, that allowed to reach all the interesting placed by walking and at the same time was close enough to the center if we felt tiered and wanted to rest with a cup of hot tea!
Hotel itself was very clean and coisy! The staff friendly and helpful!
Great experience!
thnx
Polina and Pedro

Room Tip: we had a big and nice room with two big windows facing Fontanka, a view from the window for sure dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

No problems with booking - the owner responds very fast, the booking was confirmed and paid for within a few hours.
Our stay itself was great (we only stayed for 1 night). It felt like we were welcomed guests in the house: the staff was friendly and helpful (they gave us an umbrella when it was raining outside), the rooms were clean, kitchen was fully equipped (bread, eggs, coffee machine, juicer - everything you may wish for) and beds were comfortable.
I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I have enjoyed a lot staying at swiss star.
The staff is really warm and helpful. The location is great, rooms are very clean and furnished with everything we may have needed. Breakfast is excellent and has large food offer, the option "help yourself " has been particularly appreciated.
Thus, if I would come back to St. Petersburg, I will choose swiss star again and I will recommeneded it to our friends

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to swissSTAR B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about swissSTAR B&B

Address: Emb. Reki Fontanki, 93, St. Petersburg 190031, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 636 B&Bs / Inns in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
swissSTAR is the swiss managed B&B in the historical centre of the city. Located directly at the river Fontanka, the B&B is ca. 200m from the metro station Ploshad Sennaya. Offering 8 rooms and a big, fully equipped kitchen, we are big enough to handle small groups and family gatherings and yet small enough to provide all guests with our full attention. swissSTAR - swiss hospitality in the St.Petersburg city centre. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage swissSTAR B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.