We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic, very comfortable, Russian experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Austrian Yard - Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Austrian Yard - Apartments to your Saves list
Austrian Yard - Apartments
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Furshtatskaya St., 45, St. Petersburg 191123, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 593 St. Petersburg B&B and Inns
Paris
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Authentic, very comfortable, Russian experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

This is a very cosy little hotel for those who wish to avoid feeling just yet another tourist in a big city. Only a short metro ride or half-hour walk from St Petersburg city centre, a stay at the Austrian Yard is far enough out of town to really give you the feeling that you have been to the "real" Russia.
Our room ( no 9 ) was very comfortable and we slept like logs all week in a very quiet environment away from what is anyway not a busy street.
Breakfast is fairly basic but the room has an adequate kitchen to compensate.
All staff are very friendly and helpful although their level of English varies from pretty good to non-existent. In any case a Russian phrase book is recommended as an investment before visiting the city as outside the city centre nothing is translated into any other language and even the Russian is written in exclusively Cyrillic script. Not a problem for the more adventurous traveler !
We loved it and would return here anytime.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
18
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NRW
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

To make a long story short: The mini-hotel "Austrian Yard" deserves a recommendation, a very good value for money was provided.

The hotel is located in a convenient, safe and quiet area close to the Austrian and German embassy. The metro station "Chernyshevskaya" can be reached in only three minutes by foot. Tourist features like Nevskiy Prospekt, Ermitage or Peter&Paul fortress are farther away. A remarkable number of lovely café’s are in the vicinity of the hotel, recommendable for a traditionally Russian breakfast or a drink at night. Early birds/ business guys should consider the opening times, predominantly starting from 10am.

The breakfast, offered by the hotel, was small (airplane-like) and if you didn’t know it from the very first, you would be somehow disappointed. Anyway, the room (we booked the one with twin beds) was very well furnished and very clean. Altogether we can agree with the previous comments. As told us the mini-hotel is presumably booked by wedding pairs (the register office is a stone's throw away from the hotel). Based on that fact, the room and service was absolutely satisfying, e.g. all towels were exchanged every day, a daily newspaper was delivered without having been asked. The reception was staffed round the clock, although the English speaking staff was limited to two (very helpful) ladies.

We got in contact with the hotel via email, all of our requests were answered within a few days. For a next visit in St. Petersburg we would book a room in the mini-hotel “Austrian Yard” again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

This small out-of-the-way hotel was a wonderful fine. Spotlessly clean and comfortable (though small) room at a bargain price. A generous breakfast was included and the staff handled visa and registration formalities efficiently. The beds were a little small and not up to 4/5 star levels, but were comfortable. The nearby metro stop is a short ride from downtown, and the Tvaricheskii garden is less than 50 meters away. I would definitely stay here again.

[--]

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the AY for 8 days in the middle of September. Although it calls itself a hotel, it is really four studios on separate floors. It was a perfect place for travelers like us who planned to stay for extended periods. If you expect to be in SP for a few days or do not read or speak Russian, a full service hotel might be a better choice.

Because of the size of the AY, we ate our breakfast in the kitchen/dining area. The cleaning staff put bread, sausage, fruit, juice and instant coffee in the refrigerator for our use the next morning. The kitchen also had a small cook top and sink that could be used for other meals if you wanted to eat in the room.

The staff was very considerate and helped us plan a day trip to a palace outside the city. Some speak little or no English so your stay at the AY would be easier if you could speak some Russian.

The building is located in a large courtyard and entered through a gate to the street. It is located in on a quiet street, in a comfortable, but slightly worn, middle class residential area near the Tauride Gardens. The metro station is one long city block away and a number of minibuses stop on a nearby street. Several restaurants, markets, banks and cafes can be found between the AY and the metro stop. An excellent food store with prepared items is 10 minutes away at the corner of Furshtadtskaya (where the AY is located) and Liteyniy Prospekt. It takes about 15 minutes to take the metro from the AY’s station to the museum and theater area on Nevsky Prospekt. Alternatively, it took us 30 minutes to walk to this area from the AY.

I would choose the AY rather than a hotel closer to the museums and theaters because of the chance to see and experience how SP residents live. Most tourist hotels are near the Nevsky Prospekt, an area that feels like midtown Manhattan or Piccadilly. Why go to SP for that experience?

  • Liked — Privacy and location
  • Disliked — Breakfast was OK, not good.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Austrian Yard in late May 2006. They arranged pick up and return to the airport, it was actually the husband of the owner who was the driver! We were in the top floor room with the skylights and it was lovely, we particularly liked the heated floor in the bathroom. The room was well equipped and there is a small grocery just down the street where we bought food that we fixed in the kitchen. We also bought an internet access card from the front desk that we could use in our room. There is a good Chinese restaurant with an English menu a little further past the grocery on the same side of the street where we ate a couple of times.

The Austrian Yard is located in the midst of the foreign embassies, the area was very safe and convenient for sightseeing. They have their own website, --- that will give you more information. The front desk personnel were helpful as were the owners. We were very pleased with all aspects of our stay and would definitely stay there again if we returned to St. Petersburg.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake wales Florida
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2006

Found their website and had great communication with them via email before we left. They made arrangements for airport transfers and general information about the rail system that is located only 2 blocks away. Also a must is to get a local tour guide for at least 1 day (I recommend Alla found at ----). This mini hotel has lots of pictures and general information on their website ---- go there. It is a very secure and convenient location.

I just returned from an around the world trip and was very skeptical about Russia. I found it to be a wonderful stop on my trip and am glad I added it to my list. There's no place like it in the world.

Thanks Austrain Yard and Alla

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Austrian Yard - Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austrian Yard - Apartments

Address: Furshtatskaya St., 45, St. Petersburg 191123, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 593 B&Bs / Inns in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Austrian Yard - Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
«Austrian Yard» is located next to the Austrian Consulate in St. Petersburg, five minutes' walk from the subway station Chernishevskaya. Nearby are also consulates of Germany, the United States of America, the Finnish consulate. It is a quiet and calm area of the historical city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Austrian Yard - Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austrian Yard - Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.