We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smallest room in history” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nevsky Hotel Moyka 5

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Nevsky Hotel Moyka 5 to your Saves list
Nevsky Hotel Moyka 5
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Emb. Reki Moiki, 5, St. Petersburg 191025, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 269 Hotels in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 124 Reviews
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Smallest room in history”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

This place is nothing special. We stayed in a twin room which was the smallest room I had ever stayed in! Could barely move. The bathroom is equally tiny. The walls are paper thin. I could hear every single word of our neighbour's conversation. I think the most annoying thing was that we paid the same amount to stay here as we did to stay at hotel 3Mosta around the corner which is an infinitely better hotel. Moika 5 is not good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevsky Hotel Moyka 5, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your feedback and apologize for the inconvenience caused by the small size of our standard rooms. Superior rooms and Suites are much larger, and every Suite features sauna & jacuzzi. We hope you were satisfied with the level of service and will probably choose us again (maybe different room category) for your next trip to St.Petersburg.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    58
    18
    14
    1
See reviews for
17
45
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munster, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel is quaint and modest in size and niceties, but features a great location with a staff that is friendly and incredibly helpful. Anastasia and Ana really went out of their way to assist us, from recommending restaurants and helping us find directions, to ordering taxis and even booking future reservations. The price was a little high, but not painfully expensive. And in a city with $5 coffees, it was nice to drink as many cups as we wanted with our inclusive price breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevsky Hotel Moyka 5, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Mark,
Thank you for very much your review and your kind words about our staff. I will share your comments with the team, they will be delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay. We wish you all the best and will be happy to have you among our guests again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth, New Jersey
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We were moved to the Moyka from another Nevsky hotel without being informed until we arrived. Because of that, we were given a larger room, but unfortunately size doesn't help in this case.

Good parts: clean room, nice staff, fantastic location, OK price, seemed safe

Not so good:
The bedroom itself was on the upper floor of the two story room, which had 4 skylights. 1 did not have a shade at all and the others had paper thin coverings, which meant the room was light as day all the time (literally, due of course to White Nights). Room decor and especially carpeting is very tired and worn. Breakfast was pretty limited as well

Overall would stay again if we could't find something else comparable in the area, but would check elsewhere first.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor rooms, as skylights may not be covered and let in 100% of daylight
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevsky Hotel Moyka 5, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay at the Nevsky Moyka5 Hotel. It is very kind of you to have spent your time to post your review. Your opinion is always very valuable to us as it gives us an opportunity to improve the level of service and satisfaction of our guests. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the window shades being not thick enough. We shall see to it that they are replaced so that none of our guests has to face the same problem again. We shall be happy to have you among our guests and hope your next stay with us will be more enjoyable.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helsinki
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

reasonable-priced well-maintained hotel.friendly staff,good breakfast(especially fresh coffee).elevator was working and sauna wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevsky Hotel Moyka 5, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guests,
We thank you for your review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and shall be happy to have you among our guests again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The hotel is in the city centre.. We got a nice room but the elevator did not work and the breakfast was very basic. Overall a good experience

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevsky Hotel Moyka 5, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your review and apologize for the inconvenience caused by the broken elevator, which has long been fixed since then. We shall be happy to have you among our guests again and hope your next stay with us will be more enjoyable.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This hotel is very central to all the major cultural sites, and is in a quiet location. The staff can arrange any trips you require and are very helpful in general.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevsky Hotel Moyka 5, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you have had an enjoyable stay with us and shall be looking forward to welcoming you again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

The staff were all friendly and very helpful, especially Anastasia M. who assisted me a lot with information about transport and other matters. Special thanks to her because she made my stay in St. Petersburg a very happy one. The hotel is convenient to many sites and my room was very clean and quiet. The internet worked well once I got the hang of the hotel's computer. It would be good to have an easy chair or two in the third floor lounge.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevsky Hotel Moyka 5, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your time spent to write the review and for your kind words about our front office stuff. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and on behalf of the entire team it is my pleasure to thank you for the warm feedback. We shall be looking forward to having you among our guests again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nevsky Hotel Moyka 5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nevsky Hotel Moyka 5

Address: Emb. Reki Moiki, 5, St. Petersburg 191025, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 269 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nevsky Hotel Moyka 5 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name comes from the address, No 5 Moika Riverfront, and the hotel is right in St. Petersburg's historic cultural centre. Nearby there's the multi-coloured Church of the Resurrection, popularly known as the Church of the Saviour on the Blood. From the hotel it's only a five-minute walk to Palace Square and the Hermitage. The city's main thoroughfare, Nevsky Prospect, with its museums and glittery Parisian-style nightlife is less than ten minutes away. Definitely worth a visit is right on Moika, the Pushkin Museum, which is situated in Alexander Pushkin's last home. The Hotel Moika 5 has 24 rooms in three categories-18 standard rooms, 2 superior rooms and 4 suites with sauna and Jacuzzi. All rooms in the hotel come with television, phone, room safe and WiFi Internet. The four well-designed suite-rooms are split level and have air conditioning. Breakfast is also complimentary in the hotel's ground-floor cafe. Also worth a look is the hotel's own art gallery, constantly replenished with exhibits of work by local artists. Guests can have their choice among any or all of the hotel's many standard services, such as visa support, registration for only 190 roubles and a car and driver to and from the airport or railway station. There's a laundry and dry cleaning service, a choice of cars with drivers, experienced interpreters in any language and tickets for airplane flights or journeys by rail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Nevsky Hotel Moyka 5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nevsky Hotel St Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nevsky Hotel Moyka 5, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.