We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in the center of everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Herzen House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Herzen House Hotel to your Saves list
Herzen House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bolshaya Morskaya St., 25, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 269 Hotels in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 159 Reviews
Stillwater, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place in the center of everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I was here with a group of 40 people in early July. The staff could not have been more helpful -- from giving us a welcome reception to helping us with tours, restaurant recommendations, and even directing me to the nearest pharmacy and writing down a suggested headache remedy in Cyrillic to give to the pharmacist! Our room faced the street and was a bit noisy at night, but since the whole city is up and about enjoying the late light, I don't think it could be avoided. Beds were comfy, there was plenty of hot water for showers, lights worked well,TV too. Breakfast was ample (although it got a bit boring after 5 days) and the big water cooler in the breakfast room is very welcome. The hotel is on the 4th floor of a large old building -- with another hotel on the lower floors. An unusual set up but it works fine. You're only a minute from restaurants, bars, a little grocery store and the jewels of the city.Would definitely recommend Herzen House to others visiting St. Petersburg.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    69
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
60
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The place is very value oriented. We booked on Booking.com and needed to make a change. We emailed the hotel directly and made the change and were informed the rate had also changed lower which they refunded us the difference. The staff arranged a driver from the airport and to the train station which helped us very much. They received ballet tickets prior to our arrival and held them for us. The room was a good size for European standards but best of all it was just a few blocks from the Hermitage and walking distance to great restaurants and shopping. If ever we were to visit St Petersburg again we would stay at Her zen House. Breakfast was also very good each day. No complains.

Room Tip: The hotel is on the forth floor of a multi tenant building. Take the elevator with your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucca, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Located just 5 minutes walking distance from the Nevskij Prospective, this lovely hotel is perfect for every kind of stay in Saint Petersburg. The staff is incredibly friendly and they give you support for everything, from choosing the nicer restaurant (you can get discounts if you go to the ones affiliated to the hotel!), to send your postcards, to rent a taxi for you at a special price!
The breakfast is included in the price and it is good, although not very sweet stuff are present.
The rooms are very nice, although not really at the level of the price we have paid (327 euros for 3 nights). Although being a little bit more expensive than other hotel, Herzen house is absolutely recommendable!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Due to my work, I visit and spend time in St.Petersburg at least 2 weeks every month. I have tried many different hotels, including five stars Hotel around the city. Finally I found my place. At first sight, customer service is very visible in Hotel. It is definitely comparable to five hotels even more I must admit. The place of Hotel is located just in the city center. Visitors who are looking for city center, can't find more than this. Cleaning is very good and well mantained. In the breakfast you find what you need. The bathroom is very nice, spacious shower what you need after a hard working day. So, few wrods on Herzen, very welcoming and kind staff, perfectly managed Hotel, in the very center of glorious St.Petersburg. If I do come back again? for sure......

Room Tip: I always choose superior room which is very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We chose this hotel because relatives stayed here and because of TA's positive reviews. We were impressed that it lived up to our expectations on most counts. Herzen House is perfectly located in the heart of the old St Petersburg and closer to Palace Square than all of the upscale hotels close to the cathedral (Corinthia hotel, Grand hotel Europe or Kempinski).The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Our room was very clean and had free wi fi; our bathroom has a heated floor. In addition, the atmosphere was really welcoming with tea, coffee and cookies available during the whole day. Other point is filtered water and in the hallway to refill as after as you like. If there were more stars I would give them!

Room Tip: Superior rooms are very spacious. Our friend had a standard one which was a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

You couldn't get a better placed hotel for exploring the heart of Petersburg. The staff are helpful and friendly, and while the hotel is not luxurious, the room and public areas were all spotless. Wednesdays they even lay on a traditional Russian tea with blinis! Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

It's arriving and immediately being recognized as the travellers from the Netherlands and welcomed with "how was your flight".
It's finding a personalised letter in your room explaining that the Babuschka keychain is a gift from the hotel.
It's the triple flags on the desk - The Russian, hotel and Netherlands' flag.
It's the very friendly receptionists with amazingly good English.
Discounts at several restaurants in the area.
And so so so clean, every day.

Other than that, the hotel is in a great location. Right in the middle of everything, very close to the new metrostation Admirality. Walking distance to the theatre, Hermitage and Izaak cathedral around the corner (literally).
Very good and comfortable bed, which was proven by the complete lack of complaints from my mam with her chronic back troubles! Not too soft, not too hard, just right.

If any small remarks:
Some rooms can be bit small, requiring small suitcase or unpacking a big suitcase in the big wardrobe.
And breakfast is just minor cut above a motel breakfast - bread with cheese/egg/meat/jam, porridge (every day different type), muesli with yoghurt/milk and small selection of fruit/cucumber/tomatoes. On the plus side, nothing wrong with the quality and it does prevent from overeating ;-)

In short, great value for money and I would definitely recommend this to any and everyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nataliaspb, General Manager at Herzen House Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Margoworldtraveller,

Thank you very much for staying with us. It was our great pleasure to welcome you in Herzen House Hotel.

We pride ourselves on offering personal care and a special attention to our Guests.
How happy we are when receive such flattering reviews.

Thank you very much again and welcome back!

Sincerely,
Natalia Stepanova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Herzen House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herzen House Hotel

Address: Bolshaya Morskaya St., 25, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#52 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#59 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Herzen House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the very heart of Saint-Petersburg, within 5-minute walk from city's major attractions, such as the The Palace Square, St. Isaac's Cathedral, The Admirality, The State Hermitage Museum. The Hotel provides cosy interiors, convenient position and friendly English-speaking staff who would be delighted to welcome tourists and business travelers to the city of St. Petersburg. All rooms are designed in calm pastel colors, have comfortable furniture, satellite TV, telephone, air-conditioner, shower, hairdryer, complimentary Internet access.Voltage:220V. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Herzen House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herzen Hotel St Petersburg
Herzen St Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herzen House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.