We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vera to your Saves list
Hotel Vera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Suvorovskiy Ave., 25/16, St. Petersburg 191036, Russia (Smolninskaya)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 276 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fair Oaks, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“5 Star service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Hotel Vera. Coming from the United States required a great deal of paperwork. Alena and Elena made this very easy. the front office staff are very knowledgable and helpful. The location is very close to Nevsky Prospect and the most popular sights.
They arranged for an English speaking guide, Emma. Emma was great, flexible, and showed us what we wanted to see instead of the usual tourist stops. The staff helped with tickets to the opera,and transportation.
The room is very clean, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast is plentiful. We ate In the dining room twice and enjoyed the food, and the service.
On our last day, the staff arranged for a taxi to the rail station for a very early train. To our surprise, they had two breakfast boxes ready for us. Anticipating your guests needs is a sign of true hospitality. We strongly recommend Hotel Vera. Thank you Alena, Elena and Catherine.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vera F, Owner at Hotel Vera, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your feedback. We will definitely pass it on to the staff at the front desk. We do our very best to take care our guests, by more than just providing lodging, and we're glad that you recognized that.

Sincerely,
Vera Fisher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    81
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
36
55
59
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is my 3d time at Hotel Vera and it fells like home. Service is excellent, room is very nice and clean. What is important is their attention to details in everything. Lobby is very comfortable and cozy. Please notice pictures of famous actors and actresses that stayed in the hotel. I have been told that this hotel is popular among actors. Location is convenient: it takes me about 10-12 minutes to get to Nevsky and I have been coming to the hotel late without any problems.
Please also check a story about Loder bottle (on the wall).It is really interesting.
Very good espresso at the bar. Someone can make it for you at any time.
Breakfast had my favorite dishes: excellent omelet and also apple strudel.
I ate at the café Vera all the time: better food and better prices. I especially loved borsht and fish. However all their salads, other soups and everything else are excellent. Presentation of food is like in a very expensive restaurants and waitresses always smile!
I will be in the Hotel Vera again.

Than you for such excellent service!

Sonia

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vera F, Owner at Hotel Vera, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for returning to Hotel Vera and continuing to choose to stay with us. We do our best to accomodate our guests and are glad that everything was to your satisfaction.

Sincerely,
Vera Fisher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The Hotel is designed with a lot of love for details. Very pleasant, beautiful and quiet! The location is very good (walking distance to Nevsky Prospect). The rooms are comfortable, clean and with a lot of charm! Friendly staff, very good food. I will stay in this Hotel again on my next visit and I will recommend it to all my friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vera F, Owner at Hotel Vera, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback, and we're very glad that you enjoyed your stay. And thank you for recommending our hotel to your friends!

Sincerely,
Vera Fisher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We have not yet stayed in Hotel Vera (our booking is in April 2014) but I wanted to share the amazing service we have experienced so far as for me this is an important part of our holiday experience - not just the stay. Leon is the most reliable, prompt and efficient communicator I have met in the industry. He has catered to all our special needs and requests (and there have been many as we are travelling with quite a few people )in terms of food, sleeping arrangements, visa matters, payments, adjustments etc. Thank you very much Leon , you have been incredibly patient and supportive - we look forward to our 4 day in your hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is our home away from in St-Petersburg... Within walking distance of the Nevsky Prospect, the most famous thoroughfare in St-Petersburg, maybe even in Russia. The rooms are cozy and have a lot of charm, while at the same time being extremely comfortable. From what I understand, this hotel was constructed in an historic building, and thus has a lot of charm and flair, while at the same time providing all the comforts of modernity one could wish for.

The staff is super-friendly and very helpful. They provide everything needed for a top-notch stay, even some pluggable devices that magically seem to chase any mosquito hanging about... Make sure to take advantage of the provided breakfast, which is always fresh and delicious, and quite handy before a day walking through this beautiful city. Also important, the train station and a few metro stations are close by, making transportation through the city a breeze.

Highly recommended, we will definitely be back...
For a video of our room and the sights of St-Petersburg, it's over there: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLaxKlz93gRQrCsCLvn1Hlbv2fxWbUHdWx

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the last floor, where you'll enjoy a gorgeous view of the city through the sky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Very beautiful hotel in jugend style, my big room was great and the food was wonderful. Only minus for some minor noice from the street. The location is good, just a ten minute walk to the metro station

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. The hotel is well located close to the bus stop. Our room was small, but clean and confortable. Getting to the room from the lobby was very tricky the first time (stairs, elevators, doors, passages), but at the end we loved it!! The breakfast was good, enough to full you all morning. The staff was perfect, friendly and ready to help.What I love the most about this hotel is the feeling this building gives you: Get back to soviet era, seeing how the old constructions were, its the most fascinating thing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vera

Address: Suvorovskiy Ave., 25/16, St. Petersburg 191036, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Smolninskaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#26 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#28 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vera 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vera occupies part of a renovated 1903 Art Nouveau building, entered in St.Petersburg Registry of Architectural Masterpieces as Stepnov’s House. It is located in downtown St. Petersburg, Russia, within walking distance of Nevsky prospect and the Central Moscow Railroad Station. The renovations created contemporary accommodations with modern conveniences, while retaining early 20th-century charm. Its convenient location offers nearby services for both tourists and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Vera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vera Hotel St Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.