We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great History museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The State Museum of the Political History of Russia

The State Museum of the Political History of Russia
Ulitsa Kuibysheva 2/4 | Metro: Gorkovskaya, St. Petersburg, Russia
+7(812) 313-61-63
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 978 Attractions in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 72 Reviews
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
St. Petersburg
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great History museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is one of my favorite museums in Saint Petersburg. They are the few ones which are telling the truth about our history.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    19
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent slice of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We loved this museum, it is not huge but it is well laid out. We loved seeing where Lenin worked and particularly the famous balcony. There were English binders in each room - be sure to look for them - that explain the contents of the room, which was hugely helpful. It is well worth a visit if you enjoy your Russian History.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEATTLE
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Educational, and a relief after the crowds of the Hermitage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Visited this museum as part of a "Revolutionary St. Petersburg" tour while in town on a cruise. Because we were a small group, and it's a small museum, we had the place almost to ourselves.

If you are at all interested in Russian/USSR history, and esp. the Bolshevik Revolution, you must visit this museum. It's located in the former home of a ballerina, who skipped town early in 1917 when the city was changing. Lenin set up his headquarters in the house when he returned to St. P., and you can see his work area, and the balcony from which he spoke to the crowds.

The USSR created a museum to Lenin in the space, then in the early 1990s, it because the State Museum of Political History.

The museum staff are informative and helpful, and nearly all of the exhibits have English explanations also.

After the crush of the Hermitage, this was a welcome change.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Historical Documents Galore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I was in St. Petersburg with my wife. On a very rainy day, she wanted to stay back in the apartment and I was given free reign to roam the town. This was one of the places I hit, and I was glad I did! My wife is glad she didn't go, as she's not a history junkie like I am. That's my first caution: my five stars are for history junkies. If you're a person that isn't into that stuff, then you're going to wonder why you're looking at a bunch of photographs and posters.

If you're into it, though, you will love the trove of primary source documents to wade through. It's not here to present a balanced vision of the past, but to present the history of what used to be the official version of the past. There are folders with English explanations for each exhibit room, but you'll flesh out your experience with a passing knowledge of Russian.

The section on the Russian Civil War is particularly interesting for its display of anti-communist propaganda. It's stuff you certainly don't see just anywhere.

It's a fascinating place that I had a great time scouring. If you're not into history, then it's not for you. If you are, it's an awesome awesome awesome place.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Communism is alive and well!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This presents all the old propaganda with a straight face and without any room on the Gulag or on the other side of the story. I could not possibly have stomached seeing this if I did not know it has all been swept under the carpet of history but, things being as they are, it is great fun to see. You can see the verandah from where Lenin spoke to the masses (his wife's desk and typewriter are still there) and from time to time they even have a Lenin look-alike to walk about. You need to have a guide, or else you will miss all the good bits.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The State Museum of the Political History of Russia also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to The State Museum of the Political History of Russia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The State Museum of the Political History of Russia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.