We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the audioguide” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peter and Paul Fortress (Petropavlovskaya Krepost)

Peter and Paul Fortress (Petropavlovskaya Krepost)
Petropavlovskaya Fortress, 3, St. Petersburg 197046, Russia
(812) 230-64-31
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$37*
and up
Private Tour: Peter and Paul Fortress in St...
Ranked #47 of 978 Attractions in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,105 Reviews
Type: Historic Sites, Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Built as a fortress in 1703 by Peter the Great, this building was used instead as a political prison under the czars, and houses the City History Museum, the Mint, and the Peter and Paul Cathedral.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
624 reviews 624 reviews
358 attraction reviews
Reviews in 188 cities Reviews in 188 cities
410 helpful votes 410 helpful votes
“Get the audioguide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Even though I visited the fortress a year ago, it was only for some quick stops with a guide so as soon as I've found myself in St. Petersburg once again, I revisited it. I bought the combo ticket for all four museums on site and took and audioguide which I heartilly recommend as it provides useful information in places where English inscriptions are missing, such as the Cathedral. The map celarly marks everything and the audioguide includes the commentary for all four museums you get the ticket for. The cathedral and the Bastion Prison are highlights of the visit, the exhibition inside the Nev curtain wall was a bit boring and Indid not go to the Commanders' House to do the history of the city itself as I was far too tired of walking around so I cannot comment on that one. Overall, however, a visit I highly recommend.

The staff at the ticket office and audioguide counter speak English and are very helpful. Tere are toilets inside the fortress clearly marked and a bistro selling basic Russian dishes for a good price, you can get a whole lunch menu for 130 rubles which is a great deal. Make sure to reserve at least three or four hours of your time for Petropavlovskaya krepost.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    575
    355
    156
    15
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Must visit the prison. The cathedral is under constant restoration but still worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

The self guided tour round the prison for political prisoners - used from 1871-1971 is just fantastic. Did you know that Gorky and Trotsky were in the same cell in successive years - cell 60- you could write a play.
I wouldn't do everything else - who needs a mint and military stuff leaves me cold. But the TV of Peter the Great and the last Romanovs? Right on. Oh and look out for the nude sun-bathers up against the fortress walls in all weathers

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Real Fortress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

It was like opening a history book to visually see what before had only been a vague idea written in words.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Peter and Paul Fortress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

To see the place where Peter the Great started St. Petersburg was special. All the Tsars are resting there. We were in the center courtyard when the cannon was shot off at noon.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Interesting variety of things to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

You should see this while in St Petersburg. Inside the cathedral, within the complex, is stunning, but the outside is surrounded in netting as it is currently being renovated so that is a real shame. However, there is plenty else to see - other museums and the prison - the prison is what you would expect from a prison (boring), but the interest comes from discovering who spent time there - a real history tour of Russia, so that made it worthwhile.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peter and Paul Fortress (Petropavlovskaya Krepost) also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
Pushkin, Pushkinsky District
 

Been to Peter and Paul Fortress (Petropavlovskaya Krepost)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peter and Paul Fortress (Petropavlovskaya Krepost), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.