We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pochtamtskaya St., 4, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #49 of 262 hotels in St. Petersburg
High Point, North Carolina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great location great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 days here for a conference. Staff was very friendly and offered great service. Highly recommend for its location and amenities. On site restaurants had great food, typical hotel prices but there are many other great options in short walking distance.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelly K, Director of Operations at Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments.

Looking forward to welcoming you.

Warm regards.

Nelly Kucherova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    122
    40
    11
    2
See reviews for
55
102
19
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

В этом отеле останавливаюсь не в первый раз, очень нравится место, три минуты ходьбы до Исаакиевкого собора и пять минут идти до Александровского сада. Чистые с приятным интерьером номера, удобная постель даже с перемен ой часовых поясов высыпаешься, ( но с душевой кабиной вместо ванной). Очень радуют завтраки! Продукты все свежие, великолепная выпечка еще теплая, можно выбрать европейское или азиатское меню.

This did not stop the first time, love the place, three minutes walk to the cathedral and Isaakievkogo five minutes to go to the Alexander Gardens. Clean with a pleasant interior rooms, comfortable bed, even with the change of time zones oh enough sleep, (but with a shower instead of bath). Very pleased with breakfast! The products are all fresh, gorgeous pastries still warm, you can choose European or Asian menu.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelly K, Director of Operations at Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your warm feedback.

May we kindly inform you that from November,11th we will implement new winter menu.

Our new menu will include dishes of Russian and European cuisine.



Best regards

Nelly Kucherova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

If you're reading through reviews struggling to find the perfect place to stay in St. Petersburg (like I was not so long ago) look no further. This hotel was great, at a good price point. Room was very comfortable, bathroom and shower were great, everything was clean. Staff were so nice and so helpful - everything from maps/walking directions to restaurant recommendations (even for vegetarians), to getting boxed breakfasts so that we could make an early train. They even put out a free bottle of champagne for my friend's birthday - completely unprompted. Wi-Fi in public spaces worked great. Easy to walk everywhere from the hotel, great restaurant across the street.

Room Tip: courtyard room was a little weird - could never see what the weather was like, but it was really qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelly K, Director of Operations at Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Further to your recent stay with us, thank you for taking time to make warm comments about our service and location.
Our hotel is built in the heart of the historic building. That is why 60% from the total amount of rooms has the Atrium view. However we will be delighted to provide you a room with a City View.

Warm regards.

Nelly Kucherova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the renaissance Baltic.
The room was spacious, clean and had some nice extras.
Free bottles of water and free Wi-fi were a nice inclusion. I guess the in-room WiFi is now free, which it does not appear to have been the case in the past.

The service was good, the hotel in general was very well kept and relaxing.
The hotel gave us a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine for my wifes birthday, which was waiting in the room for us and a nice gesture.

For the price paid it was a good 4 night stay and the hotel is in a good location. Close to the river, attractions and near to Nevsky prospekt (the main shopping and restaurant area).

The interior view rooms tool a little getting used to and are not ideal for anyone wanting an outside view, or natural light.

Would recommend for a overall good hotel.

Room Tip: maybe try and get an exterior facing room if that kind of thing bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your warm feedback.

Best regards,
Patrick Naughter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I can ambitiously say that this hotel provide the best customer service, best welcome and all bits of luxury that you could wish being away from home. All our trip was planned around the birthday of my boyfriend. And as it was a very special occasion for us, I have informed hotel in advance. Even though we arrived on early morning, hotel staff helpfully stored luggage and unexpectedly quickly arranged a room. We were offered a beautiful and really spacious room which was very much appreciated!

But the most impressive touch was the complimentary champagne. We found it in the room waiting for us on the day of his birthday. Such attention and care from hotel staff provided the luxury feeling that a Ritz-Carlton member can expect.

Fluent in English hotel team, complimentary bottled water replaced every day, great selection of amenities, very efficient housekeeping and concierge service as well as complimentary drink vouchers, excellent breakfast with Russian pancakes and champagne - all that made our unforgettable.

Roof bar is a great place to start or finish the evening. Balcony view to the St Issac's Cathedral is absolutely stunning. Only one downfall during our stay was ridiculously long wait for drinks at the bar. We asked just a glass of wine and couple of beers, after one hour we lost our patience - even view to the St Isaac could not help it any more! Apparently they were out of bottled beer, and forgot to notify us about it or simply offer an alternative. So disappointing! 1,5 hour of wait we received our order. Bar staff really pulls this hotel down.

Despite that disaster in the bar, our stay was excellent. It is truly the best hotel I've stayed so far!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We are so pleased we were able to help make your partner’s celebration special. Sorry about the Summer Terrace service. Can you please contact me directly at Patrick.naughter@marriott.com so I may further investigate this particular aspect of your stay?

Best regards,
Patrick Naughter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The moment you walk into this hotel you know you've found a comfortable home away from home. The front desk greets you with a drink while it completes your registration . Our room was large, well appointed with all the amenities you expect from a Renaissance hotel. Room had a safe, provided bottled water without a charge, a small fridge and a working TV. There's an ATM in the hotel, a place to change bills, and a knowledgeable concierge who was able to get us tickets to a ballet at the "Old Marinsky Theater". It was a 15 minute walk to the theater, The Hermitage the main street and lots of nice cafe's and good restaurants. We enjoyed a wonderful 6 days and wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the upper floor have a view of St Isaac's
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your warm comments about our service, facilities and location.

Best regards,
Patrick Naughter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I would most definitely recommend this hotel! Centrally located opposite St Isaacs, it is a perfect location to most anything a tourist would want. The hotel efficiently handled the invitations required to complete the Visa process and handled the request for a hotel pick-up with a driver to greet us at airport arrivals. Check in was nice with English-speaking staff. Being a Marriott Gold member, I was upgraded to a room with living area and bedroom area on separate floors. As I was staying for 8 nights, this was especially nice to have. Room was equipped with 2 bathrooms and I was given plenty of bottled water (although I supplemented their ration with purchase of grocery store just down the street - quite convenient). I was also provided with complimentary breakfast each morning (buffet) and beverage coupons for the bar each evening of my stay. Breakfast was wonderful with a huge selection and the staff was very nice and all spoke English. We enjoyed the bar each evening as well.
In-room wifi was complimentary and was a little slow at times, but the lobby area proved to be much faster. On our last day, the hotel granted us a late check out and arranged for our transport back to the airport via city taxi.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone considering a visit to St Petersburg and I know I will return here on my next stay.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd floor facing the street and had minimal street noise issues. I would rathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your warm review of our hotel and service.

Best regards,
Patrick Naughter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel

Address: Pochtamtskaya St., 4, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#27 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#31 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#62 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel is an ideal place to enjoy the city's charm with a fabulous location next to St. Isaac's Cathedral and steps away from Mariinsky Theatre and the Hermitage Museum. From the moment you arrive, the hotel captivates you with an elegant interior, fresh-cut flowers and original artwork. Luxurious, well-appointed accommodations offer comfortable furnishings and large work area with broadband. For a conference or banquet, choose from a ballroom for 200 guests or smaller meeting room. To relax and unwind, visit the fitness centre and sauna, which is a tradition in Russia perfect for the body and soul. Canvas Restaurant offers the finest International and Russian specialties from our award-winning chef and great wines to complement your fare. During famous White Nights, have a cocktail on the 6th Floor Terrace while enjoying views of the cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Petersburg Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.