We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced no-nonsense accommodation in a mass-tourist town” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dostoyevskiy Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dostoyevskiy Hotel to your Saves list
Dostoyevskiy Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vladimirskiy Ave., 19, St. Petersburg 191002, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #195 of 269 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
213 hotel reviews
Reviews in 196 cities Reviews in 196 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“Overpriced no-nonsense accommodation in a mass-tourist town”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Hotel Dostoevsky is an non-descriptive sleeping factory with 218 rooms at Vladimirsky Prospect, one of St Petersburg's boulevards. Although the city does its utmost to hide it, with 70 years of Soviet rule and 20 years of proletary capitalism, decline is behind every doorstep.

The Dostoevsky is atop a mall at storeys 5, 6 and 7 with two small elevators the only way up. The walls between rooms are relatively thin. Our room was small, yet clean and furnished with wardrobe, small desk, TV set and locked mini-bar. Beds are twins and OK. All rooms have air-conditioning. Complementary Wi-Fi Internet. The small bathroom is appropriate with washbasin, toilet and shower.

Rooms at the mall court have windows that cannot be opened. In these rooms you likely will be short of fresh air. At floor 6 near the front the noise of the central air-conditioning machine is very loud.

We stayed at the Dostoevky in July and found that it mainly caters for groups of elder tourists. The hotel definitely has inherited its four stars from its Soviet days over two decades ago. Nowadays it is more a 2 to 3 star.

The buffet style breakfast is OK with ample variety: cereals, fruits, orange juice, pastries, fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, rolls, cold-cuts, cheeses, eggs, etc. With so many groups tables are scarce at breakfast peak-time. Staffs were reasonably friendly. I would recommend it to all who seek a no-nonsense accommodation in a mass-tourist town in decline.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    126
    149
    68
    39
See reviews for
48
126
35
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The hotel is much bigger than it first appears from the small entrance lobby as it actually consists of the 5th, 6th and 7th floors of a large shopping complex. Most rooms face out onto small courtyards, not scenic but quiet, unless the courtyard is the restaurant / breakfast area in which case there will be noise in summer up until midnight and from 7 in the morning. Breakfast was adequate and could be taken outside in the small courtyard. We always ate a late breakfast and there was always plenty to eat although bread rolls tended to be in short supply. The hotel is about 100m from the Metro station Dostoevsky on the M4 line (therefore easy to get to/from the airport) and there is a 24 hour supermarket in the shopping centre (entrance next door) where one can buy bottled water (and any forgotten items) cheaply. Nevsky prospect is only a few minutes walk away - however this is a very long street so you are still 30 minutes walk from the Neva.
The rooms are small but very clean and well maintained. The APs for the free WiFi are in the ground floor lobby and 24H bar on the 7th floor. This means that many of the rooms on the 7th floor have WiFi otherwise you have to go to the bar or lobby. Irrespective of signal strength Internet access is very slow despite the hotel blocking MAPI and downloading anything other than very small files.
The blocking of MAPI means that you have to access your email via the web rather than via an Email client - which is a bit tedious. My solution was to use the hotel WiFi to get information about opening times, maps, weather reports etc and to get my email and PDF/JPG downloads by going outside and finding an open WiFi, so it helps if you have installed a WiFi signal locator app. Fortunately lots of cafés, bars and restaurants offer free WiFi so it isn’t particularly hard to get access to the internet from these public places

Room Tip: Try to get a room that opens out onto a courtyard other than the restaurant area. These are quiet an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmond
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

had a 4 night stay, clean , quiet room, small bathroom, but also clean.
Breakfast was ok, we were 4 people and always had a table.
Close to Nevsky Prospekt and subway, I would stay here again if I was in St.Petersburg

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Centrally located, close to many tourist attractions.
In terms of facilities, it seems a bit old and dusty. The rooms are clean, but basic. The ventilation is really bad. There is a distinct smell of stale food throughout the hotel, probably because the exhaust from the kitchen and food courts below the hotel somehow gets into the air that circulates around.
The choice of food at breakfast was good, however the restaurant was crowded, and the service was non-existent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stayed here in May 2012. Basic room, clean but nothing special. Breakfast was good but their restaurant for dinner can be passed on. Not many dinner restaurants in the area but a cafe and coffee shop next store in a mall that also has a 24 hour supermarket. Three blocks from the major avenue in St. Petersburg that has good public transportation. There is a metro stop across the street from the hotel and a currency exchange a few doors up the street. Only one desk clerk that was also the concierge - this slowed things down at times.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an outside wall, not looking into the shopping center center court - these windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed at the Dostoevsky in mid-May for 5 days. The hotel itself is just average - clean room, uncomfortable beds, spotty WiFi, adequate breakfast. The big pluses are the location, access to the Metro, the train station and the attached market that lets you pick up picnic supplies for the day's exploring. Overall I thought the price was a bit high for just a decent experience.

I was really shocked and very annoyed at check out to find that the cost would actually be at leat 15% higher. I had booked the stay through a Canadian travel agent who quoted me a rate in Euros. When I checked in I was asked to sign a voucher which quoted the same rate in Euros. However, on check out I was informed the hotel does not charge your credit card in Euros but in Rubles AT THE HOTELS OWN FIXED RATE of 45 rubles per Euro. Nothing to do with current market rates. They just pick a rate and won't budge. I asked to be charged in Euros and they refused saying it's their long standing policy and apologized but said my travel agent should have informed me. During my stay the prevailing rate was 40 Rubles per Euro. So presto, an additional 15% which turns a marginal experience into a perfectly annoying and disappointing one. I protest as politely as I could for about 45 minutes to no avail until I had to catch my train.

So, if you have not paid in advance do NOT hope to settle up at the hotel at any rate you’ve been quoted. They’ll apply their own rate to squeeze a bit more out of you. I really wouldn’t recommend staying at this hotel. For what you end up paying it’s not a great experience.

Room Tip: The area is pretty busy and outside rooms wouldn't have a great view anyway. Try to get a room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga K, Director of Sales at Dostoyevskiy Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Dear Mr. John T.

First of all we would like to thank you for your staying in the Hotel Dostoevsky
You are appreciated for your comments about the rates.
Unfortunatelly we are not able to take payment in other currency except rubles. The hotel exchange course is fixed by Financial department of the hotel.
It's higher than central bank course if you pay cash or credit card.
Now we have updated all booking systems once again about the internal exchange course to avoid any missunderstanding upon guest's arrival
Sorry for inconvenience and for the bad experience that you had in our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Overall: Would only stay again if there was no other hotel in a decent location

Location: We were recommended to stay in this hotel due to its location from a colleague who used to work in Russia. It has a shopping centre next door (connected via the lobby). There is a supermarket, and a bakery, which has free wi-fi. There is a train station nearby, and a bank if need to exchange money to get roubles (charge 30 RUB commission so only use if emergency). Can walk to Nevsky Prospect (main street), where all the main tourist sties are located. Buses go along Nevsky Prospect frequently.

Room: The room was very hot. We tried using the air conditioning in the room, but it did not work. There was no difference if we left the air con at 20 or 16 degrees (this is the lowest it can go). The mattress on the bed had no support. I ended up sleeping on the edge of the bed to get some back support. The hotel did change the mattress for us, so after the first night, I could at least sleep properly in the bed.
We stayed for four nights, and was given free wi-fi for 2 days in the hotel. We tried using the internet but found the connection to be of poor quality. The bakery next door, as part of the supermarket had better wi-fi.

Breakfast: The hotel is crowded with tour groups. They lack sufficient space to seat everyone. You have to share tables, and wait for people to leave. The popular food items will run out and the staff are unable to restock in a timely manner. I noticed that hard to get coffee, milk, pancakes, hot food (i.e. eggs, sausages) etc. Be prepared to eat what is available. Also, the breakfast room was also very hot, and cold dishes (i.e. yoghurt) were not kept in any cooling container. I would be cautious of eating anything that had to remain at a certain temperature.

Service: My experience is that the staff can help with basic items. The front desk were helpful in providing us directions - i.e. to restaurants / post office etc. One night, we had no more tissues, and called reception to ask for more. The staff could not understand what tissues are. He asked us to call house keeping. We called house keeping, who did not speak any English. So call reception again and asked him to contact house keeping to get us tissues. We never got our tissues. It appears to be a lucky dip if you get staff who can understand what you want.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the air conditioning works
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dostoyevskiy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dostoyevskiy Hotel

Address: Vladimirskiy Ave., 19, St. Petersburg 191002, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dostoyevskiy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Dostoevsky is situated in the unique historical and architectural area of Saint-Petersburg. It takes five minutes walking through magnificent architectural monuments, from the Hotel to the Nevsky prospect, the very heart and the gala view of Saint-Petersburg.The Hotel building constructed in 1783 is located in the Vladimirskaya square. The modern-styled building front faces the Cathedral of Our Lady of Vladimir.The Hotel offers 218 rooms of various categories. Guests are welcomed to use high-speedy Internet access, satellite television, international dialing, minibar, round-the-clock room service and other facilities.Dostoevsky combines the charm of the old history and the high level of the modern comfort and service. That is why the Hotel is so popular among Russian and foreign tourists, businessmen and artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dostoyevskiy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dostoevsky St Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dostoyevskiy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.