We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Helvetia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Helvetia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Helvetia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marata St., 11, St. Petersburg 191025, Russia (Vladimir)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
RUB6,080 (RUB)
Ranked #16 of 262 hotels in St. Petersburg
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Everything about it is good, but best of all is the attitude of the super-helpful and friendly staff. You can't hang around reception for five minutes without being offered something to drink! Twenty minutes walk or so from the historic centre of St. P, three minutes from the metro on Nevsky Prospekt. What more could you ask?

Room Tip: Not sure how you would ask, but don't leave it to default if you don't want a room with no v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    91
    17
    3
    4
See reviews for
35
99
21
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I recently stayed at the Helvetia Hotel for 3 nights with my boyfriend when visiting St. Petersburg for the first time. We were thoroughly impressed with the hotel and their amazing staff. The building its housed in has a long standing history which adds to it's charm and authenticity.

Our room on the 1st floor was very comfortable, clean and spacious.

We had the opportunity to visit both restaurants which I would also recommend if you have time, though there are several restaurants located walking distance from this hotel, as it is so centrally located. Our room rate included breakfast at the Marius Restaurant, which I would highly recommend as it offered a wide variety of options (hot and cold) and I felt it was a very cost effective option. We also had the opportunity to have drinks and dinner at the Clairet Restaurant one evening, which was delicious. The staff at this restaurant in particular were very inviting.

The location of this hotel cannot be beat. It is close to the metro and around the corner from a main street which has several restaurant and shop options. It is also walking distance to the historical part of St. Petersburg so if you did not want to take the metro, walking is definitely an option if you are not in a rush.

Lastly, I feel as though I must highlight the staff's professionalism and hospitality which they showed us for the entire duration of our stay. Their efforts to make us feel welcome and offer advice did not go unnoticed. Hands down, this has to be one of the most genuinely hospitable and personable hotels in the city and beats any of the high end 5 star hotels. The entire staff - door men, cleaning staff and front desk - all truly made our our first visit to St. Petersburg so memorable that we plan to visit again and will without a doubt be staying at the Helvetia Hotel again. Many thanks!

Room Tip: Book rate through hotel which includes breakfast. Rooms facing the courtyard are very quiet and hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel is located close to all main St Petersburg tourist attractions. Plenty of restaurants and bars in walking distance. The hotel is also a 5 minute walk from the train station, which was ideal as I was dragging some heavy cases.

The hotel was good. Friendly welcome from bell boy and receptionist on arrival. They also offered a welcome drink, which was good as I was rather parched. Only took a couple of minutes to check in. The room was clean and quite spacious. No noise could be heard from the street.

I would stay here again if visiting St Pete’s

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

A charming smallish hotel housed in one of St Petersburg's many former homes of the aristocracy. The location at the far end of Nevsky Prospect is a bit far from the main attractions, but even in minus 7 we walked to the Russian Museum, Winter Palace etc. It look us about 40 minutes and we discovered many wonderful cafes along the Nevsky Prospekt where we enjoyed coffee and cakes which we then walked off! Try Cafe Singer in a glorious Art deco building. It appears to be a book shop but take the stairs to the first floor and you will find a lovely cafe which also serves light lunch. Or pop into Vasileev's, the famous delicatessen where the aristocracy before the revolution and the Commissars after it used to get their fine foods. The guide books will tell you its closed and empty. In fact it has been completely restored to its former Art Nouveau glory and if you cannot afford the caviar you can run to a cup of coffee and you really should try one of their cakes. They are some of the best you will ever eat!

There are no taxi ranks in St Petersburg so you need to plan where you are going and decide if its walkable or not. Do not try to flag a taxi - they are not allowed to pick you up and if one should, they are likely to fleece you, as we discovered! But the hotel is very good at arranging taxis at an agreed and sensible price. Their receptionists are very well trained, charming, helpful and speak pretty good english, enough to sort out taxis, visits, directions etc.

There is a bankomat in the lobby which charges no fee for you to extract money and is fast and efficient. The rooms vary . We had a superior one which was not particularly large but well equipped and spotlessly clean. Modern bathroom with all latest, quality fitments. Good hairdryer, magnifying mirror, proper shower with plenty of hot water. A pillow menu, which normally one finds in more expensive hotels, and tea making facilities as well as the mini bar.
Despite being in a major tourist area, at no point did we feel ripped off. Everything was very good value, including the meals. They have two restaurants both of which serve Russian and continental dishes and the Russian food was the real thing, not a tourist- adapted apology. The wine list was surprisingly extensive and not too expensive - though I recommend the Russian draft beer which is very good.

Breakfast was very acceptable, a choice of buffet style cold meats, fruits, cheeses etc or porridge, scrambled eggs and usually sausage or something else hot . The pancakes and blinis are very good with the wonderful jams which are also served to sweeten your tea! and, of course, sour cream which is served with everything except tea! One restaurant stays open all night, the other serves til 11pm which is very helpful if you are going to the ballet or the theatre.
All the staff are very well trained and there are plenty of them. It is a bit disconcerting at first to find your plate , cup or glass whisked away the second you have emptied it but this is clearly how they are trained, they are not simply trying to hurry you up.

On our last day our flight was in the evening . The hotel checked us in and printed our boarding cards; they stored our luggage and then produced it in the tiny little tea lounge for us to take off and pack away boots etc over a cup of tea while waiting for our car. There
were no extra charges and everyone could not have been more welcoming and helpful.

One word of warning. Some of the rooms must look out onto the main street as opposed to into the courtyard. Fortunately we had been warned and had a room over looking the courtyard. St Petersburg never seems to go to sleep and the traffic noise if one was on the outside of the hotel may be pretty annoying. Overlooking the courtyard we enjoyed good untroubled sleep.

We have no hesitation recommending this hotel which is excellent value for money and would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the courtyard. Stay away from rooms on the outside of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Everything was perfect from the beginning to the end.
The staff is very friendly and caring about their customers. (I had ordered the shuttle between the airport and the hotel. My flight has changed because of weather conditions. The driver could not find me. The hotel took all actions to find me.. which was nice.. In fact my flight mlanded in a different airport!).
When you get in, eveybody is smilling. They offer you a drink (juice, sparling wine,or whatever).. There is a sparkling wine complementary bottle in the room.
The bed is perfect (I suffer from the back and hotels room are sometimes nightmare for me. This one was perfect).
I had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and it was very good. A lot of choice.
Wifi is complementary and there are a lot of foreign channels on television (french channel which is not the case everywhere).
And last, but not least, checking in and oout were very quick.

Thank you to all at hotel Helvetia.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Helvetia is a really nice hotel in an old, early 19th century mansion in the city. The location is very good, just 100m away from Newski Prospect and the next underground station. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. Rooms are in very good shape and extremly clean. A special thing ( Ihave never seen in a hotel) is the pillow menu, you can chose out of a variety of different pillows! As the rooms are facing the inner court it is very silent. The breakfast is good, typical Russian with some heavy salty stuff as well as normal continental breakfast items. Only the scrambled eggs are really bad. We tested the restaurant Marius which is about average. If you want to go out for diner close to the hotel I can highly recommend the Orient Express which is about 100m down the road (away from Newski). All in all we had a very good and relaxing time there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Very lovely hotel, good breakfast with a lot to chose, very good location and friendly staff who give you a warm welcome and a holiday feeling. They arranged a ballet show in the Hermitage theatre, which I can recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Helvetia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helvetia Hotel

Address: Marata St., 11, St. Petersburg 191025, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vladimir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#10 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#13 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#20 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Helvetia Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within a leisurely stroll from Nevsky Prospect is the historic building of the TOP Helvetia Hotel, with origins dating back to the early 19th century. The hotel’s interiors successfully combine St. Petersburg’s harmonious style with the elegance of European design.Native Russian cordiality, coupled with Swiss traditions of cosiness and hospitality, individual attention to every guest and international service standards, are the distinguishing features of the TOP Helvetia Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Helvetia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel St Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helvetia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.