We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay In St. Petersburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Helvetia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Helvetia Hotel to your Saves list
Helvetia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marata St., 11, St. Petersburg 191025, Russia (Vladimir)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 269 Hotels in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 329 Reviews
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice stay In St. Petersburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed two weeks here it is a very nice historic hotel, the restaurants and pubs were excellent. The staff spoke very good English and was always a pleasure to deal with.

Room Tip: Try to get a room over the courtyard, it is quiet even if you need to open a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    97
    17
    3
    5
See reviews for
44
114
29
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Japan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We booked a transfer from the hotel to the airport (5:45am). They gave us a hotel car, Mercedes. But the driver wasn't wearing a suit or a business shirt/pants. He was in some casual slacks and a summer jacket.

Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
151 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

This hotel was booked through a tour we took of St. Petersburg. The check-in went well and you can charge the Russian visa registration fee to your room. Our room was facing the main street, so it had a lot of light in the room. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Being on the main street< Marata St, we did not heard any noise. We slept well. Even though we were on a 3 day tour (Travel Bound Tours) of St. Petersburg, we were only on the tour a few hours each morning, which left the afternoon to explore ourselves. From the hotel we walked 2 blocks to Nevsky Prospekt Street and walked to various famous sights. If you don't mind walking you can see sights from a 15 minute walk to a 30 minute walk from the hotel. You can walk to the main canal to pick up a sight seeing canal boat ride. The staff was friendly and helped with restaurant recommendations. The staff's English was excellent. The room included breakfast, which was not that good. Thank goodness for energy bars. We ate at the hotel restaurant one time and the food was okay and a little pricey. The Helvetia Hotel is not inexpensive, but when you compare the price to other hotels in St. Petersburg it is pretty reasonable. You will definitely feel comfortable staying at the Helvetia. Just don't except too much in regards to the food.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

No complaints at all about this hotel. Excellent location in walking distance of centre of town, and very close to useful tube station. We booked a superior room (105) which was a good size, spotlessly clean, tasteful furnishings and a huge bed. It overlooked the courtyard and was quiet and good quality curtains kept out the almost 24 hour light. Air conditioning worked well and was quiet. Everything in the bathroom was fine too. Breakfasts were excellent - good selection of everything, a less extensive cooked selection than you would expect in the UK, but there were nice cold meats, cheese, various breads, porridge, fruit and salad. Even some sparkling wine was provided - a nice thing to have on holiday! As it was the light summer nights we stayed out very late on some nights but, even when we didn't go out until 3pm on one day, our room was still perfectly serviced when we returned - all very flexible. Staff at reception spoke excellent English and were very friendly - helped us out very efficiently with taxi bookings and provided free use of their computer to print our boarding passes. Good selection of stuff in the mini bar and actually not crazy prices. Supermarket next door handy if you wanted to buy water etc a bit more cheaply. All in all highly recommended and worth the price even in high season.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddinge, Sweden
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Dont´t go there in summer because there are very few rooms with a AC! We were promised a suite with AC, but when we got there they put us in a flat down the street It ws a totally diffrent standard, though the AC was better than in the main biulding! The bed was smal and hard, the toilet so small yoy couldn´t close the door when you sat down.
But then there was other things making upp for it as the charming courtyard were we had breakfast and even dinner sometimes.
Most of the staff were friendl some less! Very conveniant with an ATM mashine in the lobby! The location was perfekt close to the main street and many restaurants in the area!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelvetiaHotelSPB, GDS Manager at Helvetia Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Dear Alebir,
Thank you very much for your comments regarding Helvetia Hotel. It is a pity to hear that you found your stay at Helvetia in July 2010 not up to your expectations. We are glad to inform you that there was a lot of improvement here since your last visit. In late 2010 Helvetia Hotel went through the major reconstruction which touched not only interior, but also room equipment. As a result of the renovation the hotel’s traditional elegancy has been harmonically extended with modern technical solutions. All the rooms and passageways have been redone and upgraded to please the Helvetia’s sophisticated guests. The water and heating systems have been modernized; super-efficient Daikin air conditioning, individually controlled and completely noiseless, has been installed in all rooms. Talking about quiet surroundings, the Helvetia pays special attention to preventing unnecessary noise in the guestrooms, most of which overlook the hotel’s tranquil, Swiss-village courtyard. Despite the proximity to the city’s main boulevard, peace and quiet reign supreme.
We also thank you for the positive parts of your review. We are pleased to know you liked our cosy courtyard. As usual, with the coming of warm weather the Helvetia’s summer terrace reopen in the courtyard, complete with bubbling fountain.
Remodelled, the Helvetia Hotel is willing to offer brand new level of comfort and service. We do hope that you give us the chance to welcome you once again and show you our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

Excellent location - off Nevsky Prospekt, but very close to the metro and the main street. Excellent service, restaurants with very tasty menus open 24 hours a day. We traveled for the first time to Russia with our 8 yo son, and this hotel was recommended by our travel agent in Zürich. It is owned by Swiss, therefore we could enjoy extremely comfortable beds and pillows (they even offer you the choice of pillows for your comfort!) and our favourite Mövenpick ice-cream! The staff is very helpful, managed to organize for us opera tickets to Mariinsky (the last day of the season!), taxis to and from the theatre, we felt we were cared for and pampered. As we unfortunately managed to hit the worst heat in Russian history in July, it was very convenient that we could enjoy our night sightseeing trips and use the restaurants round the clock. The hotel is air-conditioned, very comfortable rooms, the only drawback - the lack of lifts as it is located in an old building. But the hotel porters dealt with our luggage so we did not have to carry anything ourselves. Staff is very friendly and helpful, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Stayed here 3 nights from 11-13 Feb inclusive. The hotel car met us at the airport and we had a glass of Champagne (or soft drink) offered to us while checking in. We were upgraded to a deluxe room, having booked a standard. The hotel were also very efficient before we arrived arranging to sort out all the necessary forms so that we could get our Russian visas issued in London (although we flew into Russia from Helsinki). The hotel has 2 restaurants and we used them both. Breakfast (buffet) was fine. The room we had was very comfortable and warm (it was minus 20 outside) and it was quiet (although there is some renovation work going on in the hotel). We used the hotel car and driver to take us to the ballet and to the airport when we left, although we did use the Metro which has an entrance at the end of the road the hotel is on. Great location, just off Nevsky Prospekt and we cannot fault either the hotel or its staff - all of whom were very efficient, friendly and responsive. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelvetiaHotelSPB, GDS/IDS Manager at Helvetia Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
Dear Kartouche,
Thank you for choosing Helvetia Hotel and submitting hotel review. It is nice to hear that you found your stay at Helvetia pleasant and comfortable. We also highly appreciate your warm words concerning hotel personnel and the hotel location.
A couple of words should be said about renovation work mentioned in your review. In 2010 Helvetia Hotel did go through the major modernization. Since the Helvetia is housed in a nineteenth-century mansion protected as a national landmark, the reconstruction accurately preserved all the building’s historic architectural features. As a result of the renovation the hotel’s traditional elegancy has been harmonically extended with modern technical solutions.
In May we open five spacious individually designed rooms in the Junior Suite category. The area of each room is in average 30 square meters, the ceiling is 3,5 meters. All rooms have the parquet floor. Large bathrooms decorated with natural stone and having a big oval bathtub well combine the functionality and aesthetic appeal.
Elegant classic style dominates these rooms’ design with accents to the high quality textile and the stuccowork. The atmosphere of old St. Petersburg has been recreated here but a sharp-eyed observer will see some smart European features.
Reconstruction was done in both rooms and corridors and as a result 80% of the room inventory is rebuilt and upgraded in accordance with the demands of the most sophisticated guests. The water and heating systems have been changed; the modern noiseless conditioning system Daikin with individual control was installed in all the rooms.
Remodelled, remarkably comfortable and in keeping with the spirit of Old Petersburg, the Helvetia Hotel is ready to greet the guests of 2011 on a brand new level of comfort and service.
We will be happy to have an opportunity to show the renewed Helvetia Hotel during your next visit to St. Petersburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Helvetia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helvetia Hotel

Address: Marata St., 11, St. Petersburg 191025, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vladimir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#8 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#10 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Helvetia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within a leisurely stroll from Nevsky Prospect is the historic building of the TOP Helvetia Hotel, with origins dating back to the early 19th century. The hotel’s interiors successfully combine St. Petersburg’s harmonious style with the elegance of European design.Native Russian cordiality, coupled with Swiss traditions of cosiness and hospitality, individual attention to every guest and international service standards, are the distinguishing features of the TOP Helvetia Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Helvetia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel St Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helvetia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.