We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here Unless There's a Really Good Reason” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Park Inn by Radisson Pribaltiyskaya St Petersburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Park Inn by Radisson Pribaltiyskaya St Petersburg to your Saves list
Park Inn by Radisson Pribaltiyskaya St Petersburg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Korablestroitelei St., V.O., 14, St. Petersburg 199226, Russia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #167 of 269 Hotels in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 677 Reviews
Mountain View, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Don't Stay Here Unless There's a Really Good Reason”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

I stayed four nights in the Park Inn Pribaltiyskaya on the west end of Vasilyevskiy Island. Unless you have some reason to be out in the sticks, I cannot recommend this hotel. I stayed there because the conference arranged it and then generously covered my entire stay. I was happy to accept a poorly located hotel for this tradeoff.

The hotel ranks itself “four stars” by Russian standards, but this would be more like a 2.5 star business hotel in the US. The accommodations were clean enough, but the furnishings were dated. There was no free wi-fi, and the breakfast was average for vegetarians (in fairness, there were several hot entrees, just none I would touch). The hotel doesn’t provide shampoo conditioner or soap bars, and with just one soap dispenser by the sink, taking a shower involves lots of stepping out to get soap. The room size was large by European standards.

However, my real gripes were two-fold. First, I was on the entrance side of the hotel, so my room was very noisy from people talking loudly to each other while smoking outside the entrance door and buses idling in the motorway. Melatonin and noise-canceling headphones ameliorated the problem substantially.

Second, and more seriously, getting to the “cool” stuff in the city center took time (and, depending on how you go, money). The nearest metro station was a 20+ minute walk, so even a trip to Nevsky Prospeckt (2 metro stops away) took 40+ minutes. Depending on where I had to walk from there, it could easily take close to an hour to get to my destination via the metro. Driving might be quicker, but that depended on sometimes-gnarly traffic and, of course, dealing with the taxis looking to fleece American tourists. Furthermore, there were virtually no other support services, such as restaurants or other retail stores, adjacent to the hotel. Finally, the hotel basically doubled its price during the conference I attended, making it a grossly overpriced option during that time.

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    205
    224
    99
    56
See reviews for
54
117
35
294
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

The hotel location is good with many rooms overlooking the sea (Gulf of Finland ?). It is just a couple of kilometres from the Exhibition grounds and so convenient for people coming for Trade Shows.
Rooms were adequate but with no air conditioning. It was terribly warm the 3 nights I was there and even opening the window did not help much. Rooms have no tea kettle (you can borrow one from the reception after paying a security deposit, but get your own tea bags)
No amenities in the bathroom at all. No refrigerator, no complimentary bottle of drinking water, The room had TV but a very limited selection of channels.
The hotel attracts hordes of tourists in groups but only a few seats in the vast lobby.
On check-in we were told there was no booking for us - we had booked 8 rooms for our team. No sir, no bookings, nyet. It took over 45 minutes of arguments to get them to check their records and of course our booking was found. So please ensure you carry a confirmed reservation voucher if you go to this hotel. After checking into my room, I came down to the reception to ask for the room numbers of some of my colleagues. I was unceremoniously told by the receptionist, " Go away! I do not have time!" Almost all the members of our team reported very rude behaviour by one or other hotel staff member.
Another tip: while their grill room has superb food, do avoid the buffet meals as they are recycled many times over for days on end, the menu is unvaried and the staff positively rude, unhelpful and grumpy.
I would overall rate this hotel as a 2 star at best on international standards.

Room Tip: Insist on sea facing upper floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Beautiful location and old style Russian Hotel,,,,, moderately priced and heavily crowded with residents,,,,
Staff is good and amenities are also good ,,,, but staff will appear to be struggling to catch up with your demands,,,
Not withstanding,,,, any negative remarks,,,,
an excellent Hotel worth its money ,,,,,one must stay here to enjoy true Russia

Room Tip: an excellent Hotel worth its money ,,,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mostar, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

I'm not sure where to start. Didn't like it at all.
The city is marvelous but hotel is complete disaster for this type and price range.

First of all, the reception staff is awful. Had so many problems with them, not to mention that if you need anything from reception, you will need to wait at least half an hour (if you are lucky) as they are really slow.
Gentleman named Konstantin or Edward /in two different occasions he had two different name-tags which was weird/ was extremely impolite, rude and not ready to help. One of our colleagues had huge problem with check-in although we have paid all in advance /3 months in advance, to be accurate/. As the situation was problem caused by the hotel, not the guest, he had to be on guest service but he was acting like a real weirdo asking to charge his credit card.
Second thing, I had two late night /or better to say early morning/ non-ordered wake-up calls. Yep, third night in the hotel they called me and woke me up at 3.38 am. I have reported that on the reception, they sort of apologize and said it won't happen again and then next night same thing happened - only it was 4.46 am...not happy Jan!

Third thing, there is no exchange office in the hotel, only exchange machines and couple of ATMs which are fine when they work. Most of the time they do not. And I have to mention that exchange rate at Nevsky Prospekt /in any bank there!/ is far more better than the one in the hotel machines.

Details:
- Hotel is 40 minutes bus ride from the main attractions. Bus is cheap and rather frequent. Numbers 7 and 11 will drive you from outside the hotel to the center for 21 rubles (approx. 0.5 EUR).
- If you are buying souvenirs or postcards in the hotel, avoid the souvenir shop near the stairs as they may charge you double /happen to me with stamps/. Instead use souvenir shop that stands outside in the bar area. Ladies are polite and it is not expensive.
- Hotel is clean and huge. But once you remember how many doors you have to pass to your room,it won't be problem. Breakfast is basic but ok, espresso machine is great thing but out of 5 mornings it was out of order 2 mornings.
- Taxi to hotel from airport is about 20 EUR- 800 rubles /use taxi stand at the arrivals hall, not taxis outside/.
- There is no in-room safe. Do not leave your valuables inside your room. They might get stolen.
- There was hair dryer in my room. No iron.
- Internet is expensive.
- And CURIOSITY - shower operates in the way that you have to pull it down at the faucet /see photo/.
All in all, sorry, but not recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

The most massive hotel i have ever stayed at. I travelled with my partner who joined me on my business trip and since the company booked a single occupancy room only, I told the receptionist to add an extra person to my room. They charged me 55 dollars a night for the extra person. I found that expensive.
The lobby bar staff were brilliant. Very quick with the orders and some of them speak brilliant English.
The breakfast was normal, make sure you come down for it as early as possible as the restaurant gets busier and busier as the morning goes.
Do try out the chinese restaurant which is located around 50 meters away from the hotel (on your left handside if you are facing the monument). Tasty food and cost very little, to my suprise

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
583 helpful votes 583 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

My wife and I, along with our one year old daughter spent 3 nights at this hotel. We had a gulf view room looking out over the Gulf of Finland.

The hotel is flanked by massive Eastern bloc style high rise flats. This however, gave a certain charm to the location, and is what you would imagine 'real Russia' to be like. Rated as a 4 star hotel, we feel it would be more suited to a 3 star rating. You should bare this in mind when booking at this hotel. It is slightly dated, and our room was slightly on the small side with the 3 of us, and lacking the facilities you would expect of a 4 star hotel (i.e. no fridge, no cable TV, no kettle, no air con, window that refused to close (even with force!).

The room service menu was of good value for a room service menu, but a rather poor selection.

The public areas were big, open and clean, but were unfortunately tarnished by smoker’s damage (cigarette burns on the carpets, etc). All areas of the hotel were smoking areas (except non-smoking rooms), but that is part of the Russian culture, so that is to be expected. Even people checking in were puffing away in reception. The public area could benefit from a lick of paint; however renovations were taking place on the restaurant whilst we were there.

These renovations may be an explanation for the poor breakfast buffet and room service menu. Breakfast was supposed to be served until 11am, however when we got there at 1030am one morning, they were packing up already (even though people were still arriving), and the food was cold and not particularly great. The fruit (which was mostly tinned!) was only edible on one day, the other days it was brown and looked as though it had been there for a few days.

We were worried that the hotel was a bit far outside of St. Petersburg; however the free hotel shuttle service dropped you off to a central location and picked up from there too!

There was no pool at the hotel, however there was an indoor heated water park (a little pricey to use every day) that was attached to the hotel and opened to the public. There was also a spa next to the water park which was free to hotel guests (and open to paying members of the public), although this is not much good for those with young children as they are not allowed in!

The general area seemed to be safe enough, and we had no reservations of going out to watch the sun set over the Gulf of Finland, where it seemed the local boy racers meet.

Room Tip: Free bus transport into the centre of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Very convenient for bus and trolley, with metro only a mile away. Hotel big but rooms not too far a walk away. Huge reception area which was often full of children on holiday as it was school holidays. Attached was a spa, leisure pool etc.

Only one restaurant was open but it catered for our veggy needs. Breakfast OK but poorer selection on day two.

No in-room safe nor tea making facilities. No public internet access apart from very expensive Business Centre.

Many of our party took meals at the Irish Bar over the road.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Inn by Radisson Pribaltiyskaya St Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson Pribaltiyskaya St Petersburg

Address: Korablestroitelei St., V.O., 14, St. Petersburg 199226, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#56 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Inn by Radisson Pribaltiyskaya St Petersburg 4*
Number of rooms: 1200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High-rise Hotel set on northwestern part of Vasilyevsky Island in the Gulf of Finland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Rezidor, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson Pribaltiyskaya St Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn Pribaltiyskaya St Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Park Inn St Petersburg
Pribaltiyskaya Park Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Inn by Radisson Pribaltiyskaya St Petersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.