We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even think about staying in the annexe” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oktiabrskaya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Oktiabrskaya to your Saves list
Hotel Oktiabrskaya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ligovskiy Ave., 10, St. Petersburg 191036, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 269 Hotels in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 194 Reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't even think about staying in the annexe”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

This hotel overlooks possibly the busiest road junction in St. Petersburg so traffic noise is an obvious problem, especially during the white nights season. Despite the fact that the group had requested rooms at the back of the hotel away from the main street, 18 people checked in and I think 17 requested another room the next day because of the traffic noise, The 18th was the only person to have such a room. Lucky her.

The bathroom had been refurbished and was of a good standard but the windows in my room did not fit and had to be wedged shut with paper, the paintwork hadn't seen a damp cloth for a very long time and the wet patch by the window was the result of a leaking radiator.

The default response to any request seemed to be 'no'. Even though we knew they had a hair dryer and a large safe, we were told they did not. When a request was made to see the manager, we were initially told there was none, then that the manager would only be in the main building on Tuesday, two days after we had left.

There is no social space in which to sit and wait for a group to gather and there is no restaurant at the annexe but, having experienced the quality of the breakfast, that may well be an advantage as you have to eat elsewhere. We had had a very good hotel in Moscow where perhaps we were spoilt but any hotel which cannot rustle up a decent slice of bread in the morning is pretty poor and this really was pretty poor.

We were not an awfully demanding group of people and we were aware that our expectations of customer service needed to be adapted for Russia but the staff here were either deeply personally troubled or had had no customer training. Whatever the circumstances, this is not an hotel anyone would recommend to a friend unless they were deaf, could live on porridge and were immune to a level of surliness fortunately not typical of all we met in St Petersburg. Stay elsewhere and enjoy a wonderful city.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oktiabrskaya, Manager at Hotel Oktiabrskaya, responded to this review, December 14, 2010
Thank you for your comments about your stay in the annex of our hotel.
We do apologize about an unsuitable level of service that you had experienced.
Unfortunately, this building has few rooms overlooking the yard and because of the extremely hot summer they were the most uncomfortably hot.
We are sorry about the poor service held at that very moment, but sometimes it happens in the high season. Nevertheless, our stuff is always trying to do their best.
We will try to do all the possible to escape such situations in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    73
    69
    19
    14
See reviews for
19
30
29
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porvoo
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

The oldest hotel in St Petersburg. The building looks good, just renovated but when you get inside to the lobby you find yourself in the Soviet Union of the 70's. A big hotel with long and dark corridors. The knowledge of English among the staff not very good. There is a cafeteria on the 4th floor. The waitress didn't speak any English. You couldn't pay with the credit card, you couldn't have the meal in you room bill, they accepted just cash. Luckily there is an ATM in the lobby.

I had a spacious suite for business meetings during my stay. It was clean ja newly decorated. Nothing luxorius, but it worked.

To be honest, I don't know if I wanted to go there for the second time.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oktiabrskaya, Manager at Hotel Oktiabrskaya, responded to this review, December 3, 2010
Thank you for comments about your stay in our Hotel.
As you noted,we are one of the oldest hotels in Saint-Petersburg, but it was built before the revolution in 1851.During the reconstruction was decided to leave lobby and halls in unusual “soviet” style. It is one of the zest of the hotel.
We do apologize about inconveniences with credit card payments. Now we develop this service.
We are sorry about any misunderstanding with stuff and hope that you will take it as Russian adventure.
We will be happy to see you in our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyoto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

If you don't use the repellent which is installed in every room, you can't sleep because of perpetual attack by mosquitoes. I had to stay 6 nights, but often they did not change sheets, but just made up with same sheets.
You have to use dial-up access for the Internet (in 2009).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

I stayed at the Oktiabrskaya during a business trip to Saint Petersburg. The hotel is one of the cheapest acceptable hotels in the centre of Saint-Petersburg, and that is the only reason why I would stay there again.
The hotel is huge. In certain ways, it is still a very basic soviet style hotel. It has a grand reception, tiny old elevators, the rooms are not small but the furniture is very basic. The breakfast is disgusting, it is impossible to understand why certain guests still manage to smile at breakfast. Btw, they could not be inspired by the staff, because most staff seems allergic to smiling. However, there have also been improvements. At one side of the building, a new (tacky) elevator has been installed and the windows (at least in my room) where new and could be opened all night, thanks to a mosquito net. Also, the hotel has cheap wifi (RUB 100 for 24hours) in certain areas.
A problem is the prostitutes waiting at the reception area on each floor. Although they do not solicit their services, they make a lot of noise when providing their services next door. That kept me out of sleep one night and I wish I had brought ear plugs with me.
The hotel is located at the end of Nevsky Prospect. The distance to the Hermitage at the other end of Nevsky is about 5 km. It is a pleasant walk though, with lots of restaurants, shops and beautiful monuments. Next to the hotel is also a metro stop.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2008

I stayed 5 nights in the new part. The service is just acceptable, but rooms are clean. The breakfast is not good. Location is good, but to reach the city center you need the subway.

  • Liked — good price/quality ratio
  • Disliked — staff isn't too friendly
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

I stayed three nights at this hotel with my family as part of a tour. Previous reviews had me wary, but I was unprepared for the level of squalor of this hotel. The hotel is huge (our rooms were the equivalent of 2 city blocks from the elevators). There is no bell service, so be prepared to carry your own bags - including in and out of the difficult hotel entry). The paint was peeling from the window frames in large sheets - not just chips. The windows were opened using a rope on a hinge system at the top and would not stay closed. The beds are old, creaky and uncomfortable. The linens are fit only for burning. A previous traveler mentions mosquitoes – there are no screens on the windows – but there is a plastic sign in the room telling you to use the “pfumigator” provided if you have mosquitoes (the “pfumigator” looks like a plug in air freshener). There were not one but two space heaters in the room – which we used on one night. The neighborhood is bad, and looks like trouble. The “good” part of town is a somewhat lengthy walk (20-30 minutes at a brisk pace). There are numerous prostitutes all evening on the street. The street noise is unbelievable. I have travelled to many countries, and know standards are different around the world, but this hotel is completely unacceptable by any standard. There is no reason I would recommend this hotel to any one at any time.

  • Liked — When it was time to leave
  • Disliked — Everything up until it was time to leave
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2008

i frequently stay there when sent to saint petersburg for 'business purposes'.

the main building has good location and is overall satisfactory.

but in 'ligovsky branch' of the hotel, just on the opposite side of nevsky / ligovsky prospekts, - not a single time there was that they didn't offer me a prostitute, well, straight through the hotel phone. i think it's kind of like unfriendly.

anyway i think you can find better hotel for lower price (well, actually most of the small hotels avoid issuing official invoices, - and still the inhabitants of the city dare to call it the second capital).

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — offers of prostitutes
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Oktiabrskaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oktiabrskaya

Address: Ligovskiy Ave., 10, St. Petersburg 191036, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oktiabrskaya 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms at the hotel are equipped with telephone, refrigerator, satellite TV and Internet access. Guests are offered accommodation in single, double or triple rooms, for an extra fee an additional sleeping place can be placed in a room of each category.The hotel provides a wide variety of services for holding business events, exhibitions and congresses. There are 8 conference halls with capacity from 25 to 100 places and 5 meeting rooms with capacity up to 25 seats. The hotel provides all the necessary equipment.Every morning for hotel guests the restaurant serves a Breakfast buffet. There are two halls in the restaurant: for 70 and 200 guests, and a VIP-hall for small banquets (16 people max.).In the evening of Thursday and Friday there is live music in "Assembly", musicians perform jazz, blues and classical compositions.Major shopping centers are located here, famous sights of Saint-Petersburg, such as Hermitage, Kazan Cathedral, Church of the Savior on Spilled Blood in a short walk from the hotel. It takes around half an hour to get to the airport “Pulkovo” by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Oktiabrskaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oktiabrskaya St Petersburg
Oktiabrskaya Hotel St Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oktiabrskaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.