We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, not fancy but good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oktyabrskaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Oktyabrskaya to your Saves list
Hotel Oktyabrskaya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ligovskiy Ave., 10, St. Petersburg 191036, Russia (Smolninskaya)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 276 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Convenient location, not fancy but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Traveled with a youth group to beautiful St. Petersburg. Highly recommend visiting this city and spending some time there! We stayed a little over a week and still had more to see. Would stay here again.

Large hotel was very convenient, right on main drag, Nevsky Prospekt, so easy to walk most places, subway station right across the street, bus stops also nearby. Big mall across the street with even a grocery store, shops and eateries. (Can buy bottled water, don't drink tap!) Careful of pickpockets while walking, on buses, etc.

Rooms were clean, quiet, mostly ok. Some rooms have been refurbed, others not. Our room had a thermostat but AC did not work (we were there in June with 80 degree weather). No screens on the windows so when we opened them at night, got eaten by mosquitos. Lucky, some others in our group wanted to switch rooms so we got one that had AC that worked and had nice sitting area. I heard rooms on street side may be noisy. During summer, SPb is a city that never sleeps!

Breakfast in hotel is usually included--nice big buffet with plenty to eat. Nice bar, lobby area for relaxing. ATMs in lobby to get rubles. Our trip was preplanned so don't know how helpful staff is for activities.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for one on other side from street. Ask for screens on windows if summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    82
    74
    24
    13
See reviews for
21
34
30
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney,
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Having just returned from Russia this month staying for 5 nights at the Hotel Oktiabrskaya. It's in a good position for walking the city ( which is a feat in itself) the hotel is from the Soviet period with a huge presence on Ligovskiy Prospect.
It's plain simple and clean......a no frills Russian approach to 4 star accommodation. We booked a comfort twin which was up from the standard rooms......the.comfort twin room to me is of a normal standard room conditon.
The bathrooms are 1980's clean with shower of the bath. Breakfast was basic with shocking coffee......little choice of cereals...eggs bolied only choice.
If you want a good locale but don;t mind a little Soviet lack of style sticking in the 1980's it's not a bad deal. But for creature comforts....don;t book the Oktiabrskaya.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

I had to re-book my hotel in SPB at last minute, so just choosed one, this one, on internet. For a very convenient price I statyed 4 nights. The place is really easy to find, a few steps from metro station. When you enter the place looks like nothing special, and also the room is basic, but it has all you might need, including a very large bathtub to soak in, with great pressure of hot water coming. I was positively surprised about the quality of sleep I had here. Very silent place, they hav mosquito net at the windows, so you can leave them open if you need more air. I made great sleep!
They offer many services downstairs and the people at the lobby are nice and professional. The last surprise was, as I had to departure, that the hotel is located less then 5 minutes away from the station of trains going to Moscow! I didn't know and it was really really convenient. So my suggestion is to book here without esitation, because of its great location and the great convenience in term of quality/price

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Small room but clean, cheap, great staff. Missed meals at restaurant but seemed nice. Room was very clean. Small but well kept. Would call this a great launching point. Close to local bars and restaurants. Secure with door man 24/7. Large hotel so good availibility. Luggage check room very handy and secure.

Room Tip: Under renovation on NW side, avoid the construction area. Wasn't an issue for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Terrible, terrible place! They were unfriendly, they changed my bedsheets only once in 7 days, the paint was peeling off the walls (see my photos), breakfast was at their main building so one had to cross the roundabout at the train station through rain and dust and car fumes, bathroom sink was clogged so I had to brush my teeth in the bath tub and I had to ask them repeatedly to send a repairman and to bring a second blanket as I was freezing and no independent heater was given.
Mosquitos everywhere, I hardly slept because I killed about one per hour.
Just trust me on this: DO NOT GO THERE. Try to get a room at the Nevsky Central Hotel or the Happy Pushkin, they are much cheaper and MUCH MUCH nicer!
P.s. Internet costs an extra 100 roubles per day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vashon, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

I see from the latest reviews that would should have made sure we did NOT stay in the annex, which I guess we did. Our room was above a VERY NOISY street, and we could not close the window because it was so hot, with no air conditioning. We also found out later that we did have complimentary breakfasts with our room, about which the hotel staff did not inform us. Needless to say, the weather was hot and humid during our stay, so it did not help that we came back to a hot, noisy room. Only advantages, as in other reviews, was that it was close to the railway station. The room itself was OK. Clean and high ceilings.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Rooms were clean. Service in general, well... good have been better... e.g. when we arrived (group of 19 persons) there were one smaller group before us and only one recptionist. In hotel's restaurant...despite of reservation we had to wait about 1,5 hours for our maindish. Lucky us, service in bar worked... somehow... I didn't expect much, but I hoped some positive surprises.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Oktyabrskaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oktyabrskaya

Address: Ligovskiy Ave., 10, St. Petersburg 191036, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Smolninskaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oktyabrskaya 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms at the hotel are equipped with telephone, refrigerator, satellite TV and Internet access. Guests are offered accommodation in single, double or triple rooms, for an extra fee an additional sleeping place can be placed in a room of each category.The hotel provides a wide variety of services for holding business events, exhibitions and congresses. There are 8 conference halls with capacity from 25 to 100 places and 5 meeting rooms with capacity up to 25 seats. The hotel provides all the necessary equipment.Every morning for hotel guests the restaurant serves a Breakfast buffet. There are two halls in the restaurant: for 70 and 200 guests, and a VIP-hall for small banquets (16 people max.).In the evening of Thursday and Friday there is live music in "Assembly", musicians perform jazz, blues and classical compositions.Major shopping centers are located here, famous sights of Saint-Petersburg, such as Hermitage, Kazan Cathedral, Church of the Savior on Spilled Blood in a short walk from the hotel. It takes around half an hour to get to the airport “Pulkovo” by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Oktyabrskaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oktiabrskaya St Petersburg
Oktiabrskaya Hotel St Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oktyabrskaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.