We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typically Russian with turrets and cupellas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Church of the Savior on Blood

Church of the Savior on Blood
Griboyedov Canal Embankment, 2A, St. Petersburg 191011, Russia
812-315-1636
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Church of the Savior on Blood like an insider
Top Rated
$32*
and up
Grand Tour of St Petersburg
Ranked #1 of 1,163 things to do in St. Petersburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Built to memorialize Alexander II following his assassination in 1881, this magnificent church with Italian pink marble floors and numerous mosaics was modeled after 16th and 17th century churches, contrasting sharply with the prevailing architectural styles.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Typically Russian with turrets and cupellas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Such a pretty church having witnessed such a sad event that gives it's name. It is worth paying the 250 rubles to go inside as the splendor continues. It is right on the canal and worth a walk away to get a photograph of the whole building. There are some little stalls selling typical tourist items that are well worth a miss but all in all a delight

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,802
    823
    115
    16
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carson City, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't pass up chance to visit inside.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Our second time visit but the first time inside. Overwhelmed by the continuous coverage of frescos, so typical of orthodox churches, but so well done and preserved here: painted, mosaic, and some gilded. Beautiful iconostases and side altars. Beautiful marble columns and paneling. It is not gaudy at all. Photograph to your heart's content. Do not pass up the opportunity to see the inside.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Enough Already”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The church or should I say memorial is small but over run with so much art that if it were a piece of jewelry you would call it gaudy. I know that was the time period but I found it over powering. They do allow photos without an additional fee and the audio tours work well if the small space is not over run by tour groups.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The most wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

You have to go inside. I was not intending to at first, and it was my guide who urged me. I am so happy she did! The mosaics inside are indescribable. I have never seen such stone carvings. And there is also a tragic story behind it about the murder of a Russian Tsar...You MUST go and see!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, England
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Make sure you visit this stunning church. It is beautiful inside. The outside looks stunning during the day and at night.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church of the Savior on Blood also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
Peterhof, Petrodvortsovy District
 
Pushkin, Pushkinsky District
 

Been to Church of the Savior on Blood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church of the Savior on Blood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.