We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Piece of History” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
Astoria Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bolshaya Morskaya St., 39, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 276 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Walnut Creek, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Piece of History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Although older, the Hotel Astoria has maintained itself very well, with rooms and facilities beautifully kept, and modern amenities such as wireless internet seamlessly integrated into this piece of history. I loved the small gold placards placed around the two central elevators in the lobby, noting VIPS and notable guests who'd stayed at the Hotel. The breakfast, despite that it was a buffet, was very elegantly set up; efficient and kind servers as well. Reception staff also very polite, well-trained and always greeted me with a smile, even when just walking by-- just a delight.
Location was also very nice, located next to a beautiful church and square, but within walking distance of the river/canal's restaurants and sites.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Astoria_GM, General Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel, especially for noticing how we have tried to preserve the hotel’s history while still providing modern facilities. Thank you also for your comments about our courteous staff; this is something we take pride in so I look forward to sharing your comments with my team, where I am sure they will be very much appreciated!

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit St. Petersburg.

Kindest regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    131
    42
    18
    7
See reviews for
80
208
38
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Had a most enjoyable time. All of the staff were excellent and very helpful and the restaurant very good.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Astoria_GM, General Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

I am very glad to read that you had a pleasant stay here at the Hotel Astoria, that you enjoyed our food and especially that you found our staff helpful - as this is something we strive for! I look forward to sharing your review with my team, and we hope to welcome you back should you visit St. Petersburg in the future.

Kindest regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel,from the moment we checked in the staff at the front desk were very polite and welcoming.Our room was a good size and everything we needed was in there.There was no member of staff who was not polite and they always spoke to us.The breakfasts are absolutely lovely,plenty to choose from and in a lovely setting.I feel the people who attend to therooms do an excptional job and it always looked nice when we returned,changing towels twice a day was lovely.This hotel is in a fantastic spot opposite St.Issacs and within walking distance of all the main sights.If you want the best stay here,it was a pleasure.

Room Tip: get breakfast included
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Astoria_GM, General Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the positive feedback about our hotel. It gives me great pleasure to learn that all elements of your stay were excellent and that you had an enjoyable time, and I’m sure my team will be delighted when I share your comments with them. We look forward to seeing you in St. Petersburg again soon!

Kindest regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Location by Fontanka gr8. One km walk to the center of town (Nevsky) the Hermitage, The Marajensky Theatre ..... Noisy( traffic and boozers) but windows not double glazed and needed to be open as air con didn't work...we were moved after insisting for third night) . Junior Apartment suite spacious, clean and comfortable. Room serviced well daily. Bed comfortable bathroom spacious, although spa bath did not work for nights 3-6. We didn't ask for a reduced tarrrif and no offer was made. Wi fi worked sporadically. No English channel on tv.
Desk staff couldn't have been more helpful and were always smiling. Breakfast substantial with a European/ Russian mix. A good supermarket on the corner with water, beer....ATM machines nearby

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Astoria_GM, General Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read that some elements of your stay were not up to standards. Wi-fi should have been consistent, and we are looking to upgrade our television service in the future to feature more English channels. For the air conditioning and spa issues I will pass your comments on to maintenance but can only apologize that they were not functioning properly during your stay. However I am glad to read that you found our location convenient, our staff helpful and breakfast enjoyable. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Kindest regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Midwest
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We just stayed 2 nights at this hotel and booked two joining rooms and took the family package promotion. I was traveling with my wife and 2 children ages 7 and 4. My wife was born and raised in St. Petersburg and this was my 4th trip to Petersburg in 10 years and the first time we stayed here. This hotel fit our needs and the service was good. Make sure when traveling to Petersburg that your room has "in room" air conditioning in it no matter where you stay because most hotels do not. The Russian standard is that most rooms do not have room controlled AC. Some have central AC which means you have no control over the AC but most hotels have no AC at all. This hotel in one of a few in Petersburg that has in room AC and heat that you control. The rooms were small and they put 2 beds together to make a queen bed and this is also the Russian standard in most hotels. Our room included buffet breakfast each morning which was pretty good but not much selection for some. If featured no eggs or breakfast meats on the buffet but you could get them cooked to order. The breakfast was not huge but big enough anyone could find something they like. They have free wifi in public areas of the lobby which was nice. The view from our room was nice facing St Issac's Sqaure and Cathederal. They did send us a fruit tray and champain which was a nice touch and appreciated but may have been part of the family package. Most everyone spoke english which was also good.

Now for the location. The location is good but its only good depending on what you like to do. The hotel is located right in St. Issac's square and St. Issac's Cathederal is right across the street. Its about a 20 minute walk to the Neva river shore and a 20 minute walk to the Hermitage Museum. If you dont like to walk or have any difficult in walking this hotel could be challenging for you.

However we like to spend most of our time on the main street in Petersburg which is called Nevsky Prospect. This street is where all the tours and action are as well as the canal tours. Its a long walk from this hotel to Nevsky. It will take you about 30 minutes if you walk to Nevsky making this hotel out of the way if this is where you choose to spend your time. Also note taxi's are very expensive in Petersburg so walking or the bus is the best option. The closet bus stop is located behind the hotel which is nice. If you want to spend a lot of time on Nevsky you may want to choose a hotel located on Nevsky. I think you will be very happy at this hotel but just make sure it fits yours needs and is in the location you want to be in. I dont know why but this hotel strikes me as more of a businessmans hotel rather than a family hotel because its very elegant but it worked well and fit our needs well. It did have a sauna and small pool which was good and a small business center.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Astoria_GM, General Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We understand that location may be an issue to some, but this is a very historic building and we believe that while its position may not be the most convenient depending on your needs, its character and charm more than make up for it!
Nevertheless we are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again at the hotel soon.

Kindest regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Great location for sightseeing in St Petersburg, better than Hotel Europa, I think. The front desk and Concierge desk was well connected and hooked us up with tickets that would otherwise be impossible to get on our own at the last minute. They went above and beyond the call of duty. The only irritation was paying 8 dollars and hour for WI FI.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Astoria_GM, General Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and recognizing that our staff goes the extra mile to ensure that you have a memorable and enjoyable stay. We are sorry that the internet rates caused you an annoyance; please be aware that we are looking into resolving this issue in the near future. We hope to welcome you again in St. Petersburg should you decide to visit!

Kindest regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

The Astoria is located in a relatively quiet yet convenient area of town. We were upgraded to a suite with a spectacular view of St. Isaacs Cathedral. The staff was extremely friendly and always willing to accommodate. Everyone spoke English well enough to communicate more than just the basics.

Breakfast (1650 rubles per person, but included in our package) consisted of a buffet with a complete array of cold products – sliced meat, turkey, salmon, cheeses, cereals, breads, rolls (sweet and non-sweet), yogurts, fresh fruit, stewed fruits, etc. etc. You could also get cooked-to-order eggs, omelettes, and pancakes. A variety of juices and coffees were also available. The service was extremely attentive and personalized.

There are restaurants and stores within 2 or 3 blocks of the hotel, and the Nevsky Prospekt subway station is about a 10 minute walk.

The only disadvantage to the hotel is the internet availabilty. The charges are high, but that’s only part of the problem. In-room internet is not wi-fi, it’s an ethernet connection and the cost is 800 rubles a day. Since we travel with a computer that doesn’t have an ethernet port, we had to use a wi-fi connection that’s only available on the lobby level of the hotel. It costs 300 rubles/hour or 600 rubles a day.

But here’s a TIP – the internet provider for the hotel is iBahn and they cooperate with roaming partners including Boingo, Fiberlink, iPass, AT&T, BT Mobile Xpress, BT Openzone, boingomb, boingosec, Nintendo East, Nintendo West, and Nintendo Test. If you’re in the lobby with your internet device you can load the iBahn connection and then select an iBahn partner if you have a subscription with the partner (you need a password). We couldn’t use a roaming partner, but had we known in advance I’m sure we could have signed up with one of them at a fraction of the hotel’s price. The internet issue is important to us because we must keep in touch with the US via email and Skype. We also find the web useful in selecting restaurants, getting specific travel information, creating maps, etc.

Aside from the internet issue, we highly recommend the Astoria. It’s expensive, but hotels in Petersburg are all expensive. And to get a package that includes breakfast, check www.luxurylink.com.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Address: Bolshaya Morskaya St., 39, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#8 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#8 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Astoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of Russia in the comfort and elegance of Rocco Forte’s luxurious Hotel Astoria. Situated next to the magnificent St Isaac’s Cathedral in the heart of St Petersburg, Hotel Astoria has played host to many distinguished guests from past to present. 169 rooms and suites at Hotel Astoria are carefully furnished with comfort and tranquility in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel St Petersburg
Astoria St Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.