We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location - location - location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angleterre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Angleterre Hotel to your Saves list
Angleterre Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Malaya Morskaya St., 24 | Isaakiyevskaya Square, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia (Admiralty Building)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 269 Hotels in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 475 Reviews
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Location - location - location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Location is for sure the most important factor when doing a city vacation in my believe - and Angleterre Hotel at St Isaac's Sq. delivers exactly that, beside from being a very nice hotel with high standards. As for the bed in the standard room I have tried better, also the green approach about just having one shampoo/body soap on the wall takes a little of the luxury feeling that one would like - paying premium prices. But all in all the hotel comes recommend - mostly due to its location.

Room Tip: Consider if you want the view to the cathedral or the court yard.. both have their advantages
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    199
    69
    17
    1
See reviews for
55
170
26
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The hotel is a little tired in parts, rooms are small.. Wifi only available in the lobby. The food was excellent. Nothing too much trouble. Fresh gluten free bread for breakfast was a real treat, quite the best I have eaten for a long time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Friends we were traveling with booked rooms directly with the hotel for five nights and we paid dearly for a view of St. Isaac's which was barely visible with a hard look to the left from our window. Not what we expected! Room was spacious but on several nights we heard booming base music until at least 3:00 am. Never could figure out where it came from. Lobby is spare with all seating lined up against one wall, smell of smoke and noise reverberating in the hard-surfaced space. Since free Wi-Fi was only available in the lobby this made an unpleasant place to sit. On the plus side the location was central to many of our activities and the staff at the front desk helpful. All in all it was a decent three star hotel but we were expecting more for the price, even in expensive St. Petersburg. Our stay at the Savoy Hotel in Moscow was far superior in every way and cost less per night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Nice hotel, well located! Across the road from cathedral. Walking distance to major attractions like Hermitage Museum, St Izaacs Cathedral, Markets, Canals and more. Friendly staff, good breakfast. Clean room, overall very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The only thing going for this hotel is its location. We were so disappointed when we were shown our room, quite small and uninspiring and things didn't get better. The bathroom was lacking amenities - no toothbrush, toothpaste, moisturizer, conditioner, shower cap, or anything else- just a generic all in one body wash/soap/shampoo, one attached to the wall in the shower and one by the sink. We only had one flannel, despite the fact we were booked in a twin room.

We asked the front desk for a kettle as the room lacked any tea or coffee making facilities, were told to call room service ourselves. Called room service who told us to call house keeping. House keeping we're very helpful. Still we supplied our own tea bags as we were only given the kettle and cups (as we caught the train to Russia we still had our tea/coffee stuff thankfully).

There is no free wifi in the rooms and the charge is ridiculously expensive 4,000 rubles for a week, thats AU$132!!! Thankfully there is free wifi in the restaurant so we were able to plan the next steps of the holiday over breakfast. A long breakfast!

We had a much better hotel room in Moscow for a lot less cost. I will never stay at the Angelterre again.

Room Tip: Avoid the twin share rooms on the inside of the hotel, looking into the central courtyard. Our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Angleterre for 5 nights. The location is very convenient, with many attractions a short walk away. Check-in and check-out were quick and the staff was friendly with plenty of English-speakers. To our surprise, we found ourselves upgraded without even asking from a standard double room to a corner suite. Our room was clean and the bed comfortable. The nicely appointed bathroom had a grab bar in the tub; soap - in tiny bars - was provided and there was a 110/220 volt plug in the bathroom. The housekeeping staff was responsive to a request for more towels. Free wi-fi was available in the lobby and restaurant. One small inconvenience, probably a peculiarity with our room, was that there were no drawers, so we had to stack clothing on tables. Overall, staying here was a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Good location in the center of SPb right in front of Isaakii/

Rooms are nice, comfy beds, bathrooms need some renovation, surprisingly no free wi-fi in the room (~7$ / hour or 30$ / day).

Generally is OK

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Angleterre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angleterre Hotel

Address: Malaya Morskaya St., 24 | Isaakiyevskaya Square, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralty Building
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#24 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#32 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#37 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#40 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Angleterre Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Angleterre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angleterre Hotel St Petersburg
Angleterre St Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angleterre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.