We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khochu Kharcho

Khochu Kharcho
Sadovaya St., 39/41, St. Petersburg 190031, Russia
7-812-3103236
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 7,948 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Cuisines: European, International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Very nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Me and my girl visited that place in december last year. It is absolutely a very nice restaurant. Its nice to see the chefs working with the food, and it was an friendly environment.

The only setback was that we misread the menu. Though with a casserole, you should give away some alternatives for what to have to that dish. Thats what they should focus on.

We are coming back to that place in september. And no i am not russian, and yes its quite worthy of a visit for a tourist. If you enjoy Georgian food. Or if you are curious.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    78
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had high hopes for this restaurant, which was about a 20- minute walk from our hotel. The service was the slowest we had anywhere in Russia and the most haphazard. We had to seek out our server more than once, and actually wondered if she had forgotten our order!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Good georgian restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is quite good, I liked the atmosphere inside. The food was good and the waiters kind, but we waited a little too much between every dish.
A place to go anyway!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Naantali, Finland
Top Contributor
467 reviews 467 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“Amazing visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

When 6 experienced travellers(men and women from 32yo to 43yo) all praised that this was one of the best meals, there must be something special. Open kitchen, charcoal grill, nice interior and stylish restrooms. Lots of personnel, and their service and english were good in Russian standards. Big plus was their sommelier, because wine culture usually isn't that good in that part of Russia. We took different kinds of starters and main courses, because menu was longer than me :) They serve mainly Georgian cuisine, but you can find some other options too. I took beef shaslik, which they made in that open charcoal grill and they served it from the sword and it was absolutely delicious!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Thank God for menus with pictures!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We chose this restaurant because of its high rating and proximity to our hotel (Ambassador). The cuisine is Georgian, something we had never tasted. Our hostesses were charming and showed us upstairs to a very comfortable open area. We could even see into the kitchen and out the windows to the bustling street. Thank God for photos on the menu. Without them, we'd have been lost. Our waitress knew no English but summoned a young man who helped us order our dinners--far too much food as it turned out. We shared a tomato and cubed cheese salad. Great seasoning and the tomatoes were sweet. The cheese was bland. We then had our hot appetizer, a cheese pie for lack of a better word. It looked like a cheese pizza. It was good but again mild in flavor. Then came our two entrees--a pork and veggie stew with great seasoning and a turkey shashlik with "dewberry" sauce. Tasty and unusual. Stiffed to the gills, we paid our $68 bill and headed back to the hotel.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khochu Kharcho also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Khochu Kharcho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khochu Kharcho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.