We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Russian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Levin - CLOSED

Levin
Malaya Morskaya St., House 21, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
7-812-6121966
Improve this listing
4.5 of 5 stars 236 Reviews
Cuisines: Russian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Conveniently located not far from Nevsky on Malaya Morskaya, Levin is a small restaurant with a homey atmosphere. Their menu has a selection of moderately-priced homemade Russian dishes and even the pickiest of eaters will be able to find something familiar and satisfying. They are very accomdating to foreign guests, and have a bilingual menu. The service is among the fastest you'll find in St. Petersburg - you're not going to waste fifteen minutes waiting for someone to bring you a menu. It's not usually very busy or loud, so it's a good place to relax and have a nice meal in a homey setting.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Russian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Levin had good Russian food, at reasonable prices, in a nice place. It was very quiet when we went. The waitress was very, very nice. We had a salmon pate-like dish with pelmeni, which was quite good. If I remember correctly, we also had the chicken Kiev which was fine. I would say the food was good, not amazing, but good. I can't say we had many better Russian meals, but honestly we found the Russian food in general not quite as tasty as the food from neighboring countries (Azerbaijan, Georgia, etc.). So I think this is a good choice for Russian food. The location was also good. It's a half step above totally casual cafe dining.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    87
    19
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“If you are near this place and want to it - come in!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Levin is a place where you can always eat very tasty dishes. I was there about half year ago and they had changed interior since that time. Now the interior is not "family" like but more like a "place for every occasion". If you are in the downtown and looking for eat, this is a best place. If you are looking where you can celebrate something, you can look at this place very strong. Prices are not low on some strings in menu, but this is a downtown and realy good cooking.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A lovely evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

At the end of a busy day our evening meal at Levin was a perfect way to unwind, relax, reflect on the day's activities and anticipate the next day's adventures. The waiters were friendly, efficient and yet not intrusive. They were enthusiastic about their restaurant and anxious to practise their english. Julie, our waitress, was bubbly, eager to talk to us about the UK and recommended tasty,well prepared and excellently presented dishes, all with a bright, genuinely friendly smile. There was no pressure on out table an we felt we could have stayed all evening. We have no reservations about recommending a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a relaxed setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner. Main course and dessert. I had the pelmeni, which were fabulous. Must attempt to find some or make some when back home. My wife had the stroganoff, very good also. Reasonably priced bottle of decent Rioja. The apple pie was really excellent and was large enough to share. Very friendly service in English. The setting is quite relaxed and comfortable. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wish we had a chance to go again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The food was excellent (Pelmini, Stroganoff, Chicken Kiev, etc). But the service was even better! Tatyana was our server and was a delight. She speaks great English and was very helpful with the menu and keeping our drinks filled. The combination of excellent food and service makes this restaurant a gem.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Levin also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Levin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.